We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique hotel in great location....will be back!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unique hotel in great location....will be back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

First, let me say it was difficult to find a (decent) hotel in the area that woudl allow a one-night stay. Mendocino hotel was one of them, and my girlfriend and I could not have been happier with our choice. It is located right on the main strip in Mendocino with a great view of the ocean.

We stayed in of the more moderately priced "European" rooms that did not include a bathroom inside our room (just an adorable sink, mirror, and hairdryer). I thought I might hate leaving the room to go to the bathroom or shower but it was not bad. Plenty of bathrooms within the hall that were cutely decorated, clean, and private.

Staying on the top floor, our room had access to the wrap around deck that had tables, chairs, and great views of the ocean. Was great at night with a bottle of wine. Even better was the breakfast we had in the garden restaurant in the morning. YUM! Only knock was our waiter seemed to forget we were seated outside for about 20 minutes. Regardless, I will be back for a stay and a meal for sure.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidtownSac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    138
    94
    68
    39
See reviews for
54
319
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

The accomodations were charming. The staff was attentive, friendly and helpful. The food was superb and the wine selection complemented the food.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IFNCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

I just wanted to add my experience to this list of reviews. My husband and I went to Mendocino in 2008 and had a few drinks at the hotel, which were wonderful and decided we would give the rooms a try another time. So we stayed at the hotel after Christmas in 2009, it was a great deal. We were a bit dissapointed that our room was not in the main building but the room was lovely in a cute victorian house. The bed was huge and super comfy, and the room cozy. It might not be the most incredible hotel I have stayed at but they were kind enough to mail back a baby sweater I was working on that I left in the room. I cannot express how thankful I am, there was no obligation for them to do such a thing and they did. Staff was always nice and polite, food delicious and the lobby is a great place to hang out when it is cold outside. I just wish it had been summer so we could've hung out in our balcony. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cataatria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

Based on reviews here, I was a bit wary -- but the price was hard to refuse (they were forthcoming about giving us a deal due to tourism drop). What a beautiful place -- Sure it's old but that it has not been luxe-washed means it has genuine charm (remember that anyone?). Very clean; unbeatable heritage; super interesting architecture and furniture; a front deck that is heavenly (day and night); best location; RELAXED atmosphere; staff very friendly with excellent attitude and helpfulness; food excellent (eggs benedict, steak frittes, awesome chocolate cake). We stayed 4 nights. If you want something a bit stiff and self conscious, I recommend the McClellan House (sp?). We will return for sure.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T_From_N_Calif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

My wife and I have been coming to this hotel for many years, but this last trip (Thanksgiving 2009) will be our last. For the 3 nights we spent in the main "Victorian" building, we had very sub-par service, reception staff confused by our gift certificates, we had to call the reception at 10:30PM to get the noisy kitchen fan below our room turned off, and were generally treated as nuisances the whole time. This was far from the relaxing and cozy experience we had sought after driving all the way here. We suggest waiting for new management before coming here.

And then there was the hotel's restaurant. We got suckered into Thanksgiving dinner here ($65/person before taxes and tips). In short, what a downer! I had a small portion of salty salmon, followed by bottom-of-the-barrel apple/berry pie that seemed to come from Safeway, and was certainly not home-made. Nearly $190 for the two of us, AND we brought our own wine. What a rip-off!

The hotel has a great location, but is no longer value for money.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mendocino hotels

California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

Maybe my expectations were too high after reading some of the great reviews from other posters but I found our experience there not worth the price. First off, when we booked the garden suites/rooms, we were not advised that it wasn't in the main inn but across the street from the back of the hotel. As an FYI, only the European-Style and Victorian rooms are in the main building with all else behind the main building across the street. While I was waiting to check in, there was an elderly gentleman in front of me that had some questions and may have repeated a question once or twice for clarification purposes and noticed the annoyance on the face of the employee. When it was my turn, she proceeded to complain about this gentleman in Spanish to her coworker in front of me while she was checking me in which I find very unprofessional and really turned me off. The rooms itself are on the small side even the garden rooms that were suppose to be larger and again not really worth the price you have to pay. Finally, when we went to the Sunday brunch, we were never even offered the complimentary mimosas that came with the brunch which normally probably wouldn't bother me but I saw it as just another flaw in the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LuckyLotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

What’s the best kept secret at the Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites? Shhhhhh! I’ve never told you but… the garden suites are a true hidden gem! Located directly behind the historic inn in a beautifully maintained garden, these large, well appointed suites offer the space and serenity discerning travelers crave. Our suite, #321 in the Denslow House, featured a sunny window seat, large private balcony, marble fireplace, and a walk in closet! It you fear the historic Victorian rooms might be too small to meet your needs, do take an airy suite in the gardens where sun beams, bird song, and scents of herbs and roses will soon soothe away your every care!

After an idyllic day of walking the headlands and exploring the shops, my husband and I attended the Navarro Wine Dinner. The highlight of the meal was the spectacular butter poached lobster, smoked risotto, bouillabaisse paired with Chardonnay Premier, Reserve, Navarro, 2007. How relaxing it was to stroll back through the garden to our suite after a perfect meal, light the fire, and linger on the balcony for a bit listening to the sounds of the surf! We highly recommend a weekend at the Mendocino Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mbisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
7.7 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
8.6 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
4.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites

Property: Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Address: 45080 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1878 and restored in 1975, The Mendocino Hotel Ocean & Garden Suites offers deluxe accommodations: luxurious, romantic, garden suites and cottages situated on two acres of botanical gardens with fireplaces, Italian marble vanities, private balconies and spectacular ocean or garden views. Enjoy antiques, fine art, down comforters, stained glass and Oriental carpets, 24/7 front desk concierge and two award-winning restaurants. ZAGATSURVEY reports “Victorian delights abound at this charming, period Mendocino Hotel restaurant with a California menu that’s right on the mark and sets the scene for locals as the "in place" and well worth the price." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendocino Hotel And Garden Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing