We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Classiest place to stay in Mendocino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Oakland, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Classiest place to stay in Mendocino”
Reviewed 23 June 2007

This hotel created a sense of serenity and well being from the time I walked in the door. Upon arrival, the beautiful Victorian setting took me back to a kinder, gentler time. They pipe in classical music that is always playing, soothing the senses. This place is exquisite!
I toured a few bed and breakfasts in town, and this place has them all beat. It was clean, and everyone who helped me was extremely friendly and helpful. This is a place that will take your breath away! The Eggs Florentine in the Garden Room for breakfast are a delecately prepared and delicious!

Helpful?
1 Thank figure8er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    151
    103
    73
    43
See reviews for
64
342
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2007

I have been visiting the Mendocino Hotel from San Francisco yearly for at least a decade. I always look forward to my visits (with friends) and I love the atmosphere of the place.
It has old world charm with old rugs and pictures on the walls (check out the one next to the fireplace on the main floor!) and the 2 seat nooks are ideal for a romantic interlude with a view onto the ocean.
There are two small bars, again cozy and inviting to chat with other people. The breakfast area is cheery with a view at the ocean.
The Bar menu and Restaurant menu are excellent.
I have always stayed in the Garden suites connected to the Hotel via fabulous gardens. After a beautiful drive up Anderson valley, tasting wines and a light dinner, the rooms with fireplaces and some with huge bathtubs are inviting while drinking some more wines.
Its an adventure.
Cheers

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sco3pio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2007

We were in Mendocino last week, for the first time in 9 years. If we could, we'd go back several times a year -- or better yet, move there!

We had dinner at the Mendocino Hotel twice -- our first night in town, and our last. The service was wonderful, very friendly and personal. The waitress our last night, Theresa, was wonderful. Very warm and friendly.

The restaurant apparently has a new chef and new menu, and it was all good! We went back a second time, there seemed to be so much on the menu we wanted to try. Their French Onion soup is the best ever! We also had very good Prime Rib and Rack of lamb. The desserts are also quite good -- in fact, my husband had the Ollalieberry cobbler both nights!

If you've never been to the Mendocino Hotel, check it out, even if only to stop by their Garden Cafe for lunch or a drink. It's a beautiful old hotel, beautifully restored. Eating in the restaurant or staying in one of their European style rooms is like going back in time.

Anne Whitehead & Dan Webb
Berkeley, California

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank awhithe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento,ca
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2007

We stayed the weekend of 6/2,3/07. First, I am impressed that this very classy hotel offers a wide variety of prices. We got the last available room [c/o 2 weddings plus another group had reserved earlier]. It was small and european style [shared bathroom down the hall] but the price was an amazing $90 or so. Of course they also have the much more commodious garden suites for a commensurately much higher price. Nothing better than hanging out on the balcony at sunset. The staff is teriffic and has a real how-can -we-make- you- happy approach to service. We ate in the lobby/bar as the people watching on the street is a lot of fun. That menu is more limited, but included their absolute "must have" olalaberry cobbler". Excellent breakfast either via room service or in their garden room. Haven't tried the more formal resturant, but heard good reports from other guests.

  • Liked — fantastic value inat a historical classic hotel with great food and balcony views
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hobbitc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2007

What a treat ! We found this just browsing the internet at last minute. They were able to book a room for us on Memorial Day weekend on the day we were to stay. The room was clean and nicely decorated with a working fire place. Dinner and breakfast were excellant. Great wine selection as well !
The scenery and location was both charming and romantic. This is a must if you are in the area.
We can't wait to go back !!

  • Liked — The room with a working fire place !
  • Disliked — Breakfast was excellant but a little pricey.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2007

Mendocino was our first stop on a road trip from San Francisco to Seattle and what a spectacular place to stop - you emerge from the trees to see this picturesque little town on top of the headland. The hotel is on Main street, and looks just like an old fashioned saloon/hotel from a western. The bar and lounge look out over the headland and garden suites (where we stayed) are nestled in pretty gardens behind the main building. The hotel is full of antiquities and its dark Victorian entrance was warm and inviting as the rain clouds moved in! The staff were friendly and helpful at check in, and we received vouchers for a wine tasting in the Fetzer winery outlet next door (not used). Our room was a fantastic antiques and chintz fest. The enormous bed (needed a ladder to climb onto it!) was the main feature of the room, that and the real fireplace - very cozy. The bathroom was enormous, with tub, shower, separate wc and all the usual paraphenalia required. We had views out across the houses and to the headland. I recommend going next door to "Dicks" for a beer - its a real locals place, with good brews and a jukebox, and ladies drinking hard liquer at 4pm. There are lots of dining options in the hotel and in the town itself, but as it was raining we opted to eat in the bar. French onion soup was perfect for watching the storm roll in off the sea.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka,CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2007

This hotel must have the best view in town of the bay. It also has fantastic food in the dining room Try the butternut squash ravioli if it's on the menu. It was the best vegetarian entree in a restaurant I've had in over 30 years of dining out. My husband raved about the meatloaf in the Bistro but did not rave about the prime rib.

We were in the area staying at a Bed and Breakfast in Elk and decided to drive up to Mendocino for dinner. We chose the Bistro here and my spinach salad was excellent. The waiter graciously handled my special request and produced the salad with the addition of shrimp at a modest price increase. Service was perfect. The atmosphere in the Bistro is cozy and comfy and a window seat offers excellent bay views or you can sit in wing back chairs by the real wood fire in the lounge fireplace.

We liked it so much, we drove up again the next night and ate in the diningroom. Very good service again.

After checking out of our other B & B the next morning, we stopped in Mendocino on our way home. There were many signs for a film festival so we inquired at the Mendocino Hotel. The front desk explained the festival was actually starting that day and we were promply offered a program for the event by the hotel staff. We were so intrigued by the film festival, we asked if they had a room for that night. Kari (what a great front desk manager!) offered us a terrific rate on a garden suite, but when we saw the incredible 2nd story veranda with tables and chairs right on the bay front available to guests in the main hotel, I was sold! She volunteered an incredible rate so we decided to stay. We had so much fun, we then decided the next day to stay another night and they accomodated us, though we had to change rooms.

This is an historic hotel from the late 1800's that is original in many ways. Translate: the rooms are tiny. However, they have made them as nice as they could possible be given the size. From the decorator wall paper and bed coverings, french style phone, comfortable queen size bed and flower painted pedestal in-room sink, it was quite lovely. The room had a shared bath but we never saw another person use it.

The staff really went out of their way to try to put us in a quiet room. (Unfortunately they forgot that that night only a special event had been scheduled directly below us, in conjunction with the film festival, that involved lively piano playing until 11pm. )

We ate dinner there for an unprecedented third night in a row. The attentive owner came by and checked on us and chatted.

You can spend a lot of money on a room here if you want to, but when I return, I will again get a "European plan" (shared bath) room, get a room service lunch or a take out lunch from the Bakery in town, head up to the 2nd story flower scaped veranda and settle in at a table with the sweeping, glistening bay before me. A nice bottle of wine, an icy wine bucket and glasses from the bar will just round out the experience to perfection.

  • Liked — quality, friendliness, service, views. price
  • Disliked — tiny room, queen, not king bed
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
623 reviews
7.7 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#15 of 25 in Mendocino
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
707 reviews
4.5 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
632 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites

Property: Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Address: 45080 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1878 and restored in 1975, The Mendocino Hotel Ocean & Garden Suites offers deluxe accommodations: luxurious, romantic, garden suites and cottages situated on two acres of botanical gardens with fireplaces, Italian marble vanities, private balconies and spectacular ocean or garden views. Enjoy antiques, fine art, down comforters, stained glass and Oriental carpets, 24/7 front desk concierge and two award-winning restaurants. ZAGATSURVEY reports “Victorian delights abound at this charming, period Mendocino Hotel restaurant with a California menu that’s right on the mark and sets the scene for locals as the "in place" and well worth the price." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendocino Hotel And Garden Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing