We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Tasteful Historic Mendocino Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Reviewed 31 July 2007

The Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites was more than wonderful in every respect. I would like to give some concrete examples. The rooms were more than ample and comfortable; tastefully placed historic furniture/art pieces made one's room stay more than pleasureful. Service was gracious, attentive without ever being overbearing. The food was classy and fresh fish was perfectly prepared. The wine list was similarly well chosen and reasonably priced. Finally, one walks out the door and long peaceful walks along the unspoiled Mendocino coastline await. What more could one ask from a hotel stay!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank norby55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
There are newer reviews for Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Mendocino Hotel for our anniversary. We were on a limited budget, but we love Mendocino and had tickets for the music festival that week. We'd seen the Mendocino Hotel on previous stays, and loved the antique feel of the lobby with the big fireplace. We were pleased to find that it was as lovely to stay there as it looked. We booked a European style room, and for under $100 we had a beautiful bed, and french doors to a common balcony where we could sip wine, eat fine cheeses, and look over the beautiful ocean. The weather was perfect, it was quiet and decorated nicely. We will surely be back many times! Reading books by the fireplace was a dream.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank Kazibon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2007

My husband and I spent a magical 2 days in this dream spot. We stayed in one of the garden suites - a spacious living room, comfortable bedroom and enormous marble bathroom - in a historic building (with a landmark water tower outside the entrance). It was a short stroll through the luxuriant gardens (Mendocino gardens are incredible, and this one is exuberant) to the main hotel building which housed the lobby, restaurant, cafe and bar. In this building we realized that the Mendocino Hotel is not only a haven for travelers, but also seems to be at the center of community life in Mendocino. Visitors and locals alike enjoy the elegant yet very friendly hospitality of this hotel. The innkeeper, Tom, was an active presence, welcoming people and moving through the lobby making sure that everyone was well taken care of. We ate all our meals at the hotel, as the atmosphere was so convivial and the food extraordinarily delicious. Even simple things were made with great flair - for example, I enjoyed the 8-grain porridge at breakfast, served with fresh fruit and cream. It was a delight to eat lunch up on the deck looking out over the coastal headlands. The hotel is right on the coast - one can walk out from the gracious and very civilized lobby and cross the street to a wild stretch of rock and water that must be one of the most beautiful spots on earth. I had never been to Mendocino before, but after this serendipitous experience, I hope to return often!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sandi_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2007

We have stayed at the Mendocino Hotel several times, most recently during the Mendocino Music Festival. If you like historic, Victorian hotels, you will love this one. The main hotel has original rooms, from European style bathroom-down-the-hall to exquitsite suites. Their newer garden rooms are appointed in the Victorian style, but updated and slightly larger overall. We've stayed in all of them and love this place. Off-season has quite reasonable rates, and high season isn't bad. The main building overlooks the ocean, the bar/bistro serves excellent food and has a pretty extensive wineby-the-glass menu, and John, the bartender is great. The Dining Room is upscale, very good, and a bit spendy. There is local wi-fi available. The grounds are gorgeous. Bathrooms could be larger, but, hey, it's original. we'll keep coming back whenever we need to get away from hot Sacramento.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank steenychu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2007

We had been to this hotel 27 years ago and had a wonderful experience, and are happy to report that it is still great. The restaurant is amazing, and see if you can get Theresa to be your server, she's awesome!

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank FWFinOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2007

I have been a full-time and part-time resident of Mendocino for 25 years, and one of my favorite places to go for a romantic meal or a gathering of friends is the Mendocino Hotel's beautiful lobby and Bistro bar. There are many sweet tables for two or more, and the bar food is super and very reasonable. My husband and I love to order a glass of wine and perhaps the Bistro menu's special of the day, then settle back into a comfy chair and watch the sun go down over the ocean. During the winter you can sit by the large fireplace with your meal and enjoy the beautiful antiques and wall decor. The fencing Victorian ladies picture always brings a smile! All in all, great food, great atmosphere, great place!

4  Thank Kayaker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2007

Just returned from a wonderful (4th of July week) stay at the Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites. What a great experience! The hotel and restaurant staff could not have been more helpful and gracious. The room was perfect, with tub, shower, very comfortable bed and an incredible ocean view. Mendocino is truly a treasure and the Mendocino Hotel is definitely the best vantage point from which to enjoy the area. We've already booked our stay for the same week next year. Great hotel, restaurant and staff.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1moreglassofwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#18 of 25 in Mendocino
420 reviews
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,165 reviews
4.5 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
648 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites

Address: 45080 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range: £70 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1878 and restored in 1975, The Mendocino Hotel Ocean & Garden Suites offers deluxe accommodations: luxurious, romantic, garden suites and cottages situated on two acres of botanical gardens with fireplaces, Italian marble vanities, private balconies and spectacular ocean or garden views. Enjoy antiques, fine art, down comforters, stained glass and Oriental carpets, 24/7 front desk concierge and two award-winning restaurants. ZAGATSURVEY reports “Victorian delights abound at this charming, period Mendocino Hotel restaurant with a California menu that’s right on the mark and sets the scene for locals as the "in place" and well worth the price." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendocino Hotel And Garden Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing