We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MacCallum House Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$96
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little River Inn(Little River)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage House Resort(Little River)(Great Value!)
US$203
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast Inn & Spa(Fort Bragg)
US$111
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shoreline Cottages(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Motel and Gardens(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Dolphin Inn & Mini Golf(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Lodge Motel(Fort Bragg)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Harbor Lite Lodge(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveller rating
346
156
51
52
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
156
51
52
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main househot tubthe barnattic suitebreakfast burritoprivate patiocomplimentary breakfastwater towereggs benedictspa tubmendocino villageromantic getawayvisit mendocinolarge bathroomwe've stayedorange juicewedding anniversary
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
348 - 353 of 643 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We live in the Bay Area and travel often to Mendocino. After trying several other B&B's, the MacCallum House has become our favorite. We have stayed in several different rooms - from the smaller, quainter rooms in the big house, to the rustic rooms in the Barn, and the very well appointed suites a few blocks from the main property.
You can choose whatever kind of accommodation for whatever price you want to pay. The online photos give a good sense of each room. Some are quirky and old-fashioned; some are fabulous and elegant.
Whatever room you choose, a full, hot, wonderful breakfast is included. And the restaurant is superb. Chef Alan Kantor is as talented and imaginative as any chef in the Bay Area where we eat in restaurants all the time. He runs a great kitchen with excellent front of the house staff. And each room includes $14 to be used toward drinks in the bar or food in the restaurant.
Our experience has been consistently good - all times of year and all weather. We've stayed here at least 8 times and will be headed there again soon.

Room Tip: Look at the descriptions and photos online.
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaDreamers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Our stay at the MacCallum house exceeded all of our expectations! Thanks to Evan- the worlds best inn-keeper- we had an incredible, romantic time. We had booked one of the Suites up the hill for two nights. Though lovely, my husband & I prefer a room with a little more rustic charm. Evan understood exactly what we were looking for and moved us to the Barn- Charm City! When we think of customer service, we think of Evan.

The MacCallum house is full of special touches and perks! We had cocktails each night of our stay- Frenchie Smurf was the best. And whatever you can imagine about the breakfast each morning- it will be even better. We are so looking forward to returning for another special stay- look no further- this is the perfect place for your Mendocino getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hrtgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Did a quick one night stay with my wife. Ocean view, wood burning fireplace, dry sauna, netted tub, feather top on bed, easy walk to dinning and ocean walk. Excellent food and service.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YourDriverInNapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The rooms vary in quality and size. Some are very light, others very dark and quirky (bathroom sink in bedroom). Study the room photos when booking!!! The inn is well located in the village of Mendocino with limited rooms with ocean view. Adequate bathrooms with nice amenities.

Big bonus is the independent bakery next door---Garden Bakery run by Christina, a master baker. We bought fresh breads and scones and muffins and took them to breakfast, dinner, and to wine tastings. Not to be missed!!!

The staff in the dining room is very courteous and the housekeeping keeps everything neat. The dining room serves very fine food and breakfasts are more than adequate to take you through lunch. We had an issue with the management in an attempt to change rooms and found out that the message was not communicated to management after three requests, so we gave up. This is more than an annoyance; it seemed no one cared.

Room Tip: Look at room photos very carefully.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeopleVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We lucked out... we took advantage of an email promotion in November and booked 3 nights in the Upper Barn #19 for about $200 off the regular price! So, our review will reflect this great value. This room is gorgeous. We travel alot and we rate this room one of the top ten! It is a large suite with a beautiful view of the waves crashing on the beach, a full sized wood burning fireplace (which the staff set up every day), a huge, comfy bed, a jacuzzi tub and a sauna! Also a full sized deck. The hotel gives each guest $7 off the bar or dinner menu and free breakfast. Put that savings with coupons we got from Standish Winery (25% off a bottle of wine) and we were in heaven. The food is delicious and the service is good. Now, the question is... would we rent this room for $350+? Maybe!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan-RPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews