We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 14”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MacCallum House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Very nice room! Clean and friendly stay. Great food, drinks and atmosphere!
Nice to have a pet friendly room that was luxurious also.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paleofinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Four of us enjoyed our time at Maccallum house. Room 18 did not have any place to store clothes, but the view of the ocean from that second flooor was spectacular.
Room 16 had no view but lots more space.
The $14 credit at night was great but there was no place to sit and enjoy what we received for the credit - drinks some nights and desserts on others. Staff was very welcoming and pleasant.
The town is disappointing but the Botanical Gardens and nearby Lighthouse are well worth a look.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berkeleybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

My fiance and I have stayed at MacCallum House twice now and we will definitely stay again! MacCallum staff makes sure your stay is everything you want it to be, and more. We called ahead and asked them to organize a wine tour for us and to make dinner reservations at their restaurant (amazing food!). Both times we've stayed in the MacCallum suites property, just up the hill from the main house/restaurant. These are incredibly luxurious accommodations ... complete with top-notch bedding and towels, giant bathrooms with walk-in showers, cozy fireplaces, and even a bottle of sparkling brut waiting for you when you arrive. If not for the amazing setting and area attractions, you could easily not leave the rooms and be happy. Our first stay was in suite 33 on the ground level. This is the creme de la creme — the bathroom is enormous, with a jacuzzi tub, giant open shower and sauna. The bedroom has a large, incredible king bed and huge living area. Sliding doors open on to a private deck, enclosed by a fence, with seating and a hot tub. Our most recent stay was in suite 30 on the second floor. This room also boasted the huge comfortable king and amazing leather lounge chairs. Sliding doors open onto a covered balcony with seating and incredible views. The bathroom is open and has a jacuzzi tub, flat panel TV, vanity, huge shower and separate toilet room. Both rooms are amazing, completely updated and unlike any place we've stayed.

The restaurant offers amazing seasonal menus. Breakfast is not to be missed (my fiance said the best breakfast burrito he has ever had, polishing off two during our weekend stay), and their dinner menu is hard to narrow down. On mild evenings (which seems like every night), completing the day with a drink on their wrap around porch is ideal, especially since the stars seem to fill the sky.

The wine tour MacCallum arranged for us was wonderful. We were guided by Doug with Mendo Wine Tours, who was very knowledgeable on the wineries (best pinot, tasting rooms, price points, etc ...) and offered suggestions on how to hit all the spots we wanted to that day. We tried a couple new spots, as well as our favorites from our last trip. Both times, we agreed that Esterlina is our favorite winery, offering the best variety and hands-down the best views around! They are appointment only, very accommodating and incredibly nice people. We made Esterlina our last stop so we could spend the most time there, it's like heaven on Earth.

Before you go wine tasting and if you plan to purchase bottles, check the Harvest Market at the bottom of the hill for their wine prices ... we purchased wines at Esterlina and Claudia Springs and found the same bottles in the super market for almost $10 cheaper! May have been a fluke, but worth pricing before you go.

We can't wait to go back! Mendocino is an amazing place and MacCallum House is not to missed!

Room Tip: Suite 33 is ground level, enormous, romantic, sauna, private hot tub Suite 30 is second floor, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Decided to take a friend who needed a weekend away. Decided on the MacCallum House Inn in Mendocino. From check in to dining it was first rate!! Everyone was very service oriented and all of our meals were absolutely delicious. So glad MacCallum was our choice!

Room Tip: We were in the hilltop suites, but I have also stayed in the "house" portion of the proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelaide F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Beautiful building nice but old fashioned rooms lots of character nice shower

Great bar with a 14 dollar credit on your room a nice gesture

Mendocino is a special place try pattersons bar for a good happy hour food is also great definately recommend a stay here !!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaffsTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We spent a weekend at the MacCallum House in September as part of a destination wedding. Everything about the wedding was very well planned and carried out by the staff. And as a guest, the room was very nice and what I think of as typical of a B&B--that is, very individual, with non-standard furniture. The amenities were all nice and the place was well-maintained. The breakfast--included with the room--was spectacularly good. Everyone who worked there went out of their way to be pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was large, but I've heard that some are very small, so ask. Some have an ocean view, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mack_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My mother and I decided to visit Mendocino a few years ago, and stayed at the MacCallum House. I apologize that this review is not based on a recent stay. However, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were checked into the room I had booked, which was a room with two double beds on the first floor. It was a lovely room and we were happy with it.

Then we received a call from the front desk, asking if we would be willing to switch rooms, because someone in a wheelchair had just arrived, and needed a room on the first floor. We were given a suite upstairs in exchange. It was a full two-bedroom suite with a jacuzzi tub. Of course, we said yes.

I would definitely recommend this inn to anyone traveling to Mendocino. I look forward to having the opportunity to visit them again sometime.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisyJane_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
8.5 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
632 reviews
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,181 reviews
4.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacCallum House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacCallum House Inn

Address: 45020 Albion St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range: £148 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MacCallum House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a classic Victorian boutique hotel located in the heart of Mendocino. Situated on 2 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds the MacCallum House has a full service fine dining restaurant, casual cafe, and bar on site. We offer wedding and group services as well. Our accommodations feature a number of standard amenities including concierge services, 24 hour desk help. Our rooms have many luxury touches such as Shikai bath products,mini bars,gourmet in room coffee, robes, fireplaces, hot tubs, DVD players, Ipod docking stations, phones, and ocean views. We also provide free Wifi property wide so you can stay in touch with the rest of the world. As part of our collection of rooms we also have two vacation homes that are fully equipped and great for families. In addition our Suites property has large rooms complete with ocean views, jetted tubs, gas fireplaces, and large plasma televisions. Come discover why the MacCallum House is the most comfortable place to stay in Mendocino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your MacCallum House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maccallum House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing