We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer our go-to choice in Mendo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MacCallum House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My wife, our dog , and I have been going to the MacCallum House for years and just recently spent a couple of days there which we wish we would have spent elsewhere. The MacCallum House has been offering rooms on Groupon and other sites like it during the last few years. As a result, it is often sold out now during low season, however management has not increased staff levels from what would normally be on duty during low season. This has produced a situation in which the staff is overworked, stressed, rude, and unable to offer the relaxed personal service we used to associate with the MacCallum House.

Regarding our room, it was disgraceful. We stayed at the suites property up the hill in room #33 the "spa suite." This room used to rent for $399.00 per night, but has recently been reduced to $249.00 per night. That is still too much. When we arrived we found a room that at first glance appeared to have been cleaned, but upon further inspection we noticed that housekeeping had not done a thorough cleaning in a very long time. Now my wife and I are not germaphobes by any means, but of course after seeing the amount of filth we began to think of our room as a pigsty. Besides the filth, the furnishings in the room we in desperate need of repair or replacement (see photo). The condition of the furnishings would have been acceptable in a roadside motel, but not in a hotel that bills itself as a luxury inn.

Many of the rooms are pet friendly which is great for us because we like to take our big dog with us up to Mendo. In the past, having our dog with us at the MacCallum House has been great, however this time it was different. The first morning we went to eat the breakfast that was included with our rate and assumed that we would be able to eat on the porch with our dog as we had done on several occasions in the past. However on that day the dining room supervisor, Stephanie, informed me that they would not be able to serve us on the porch, that the porch was closed, and that she did not have enough staff on duty to accommodate us. After I told her that we have had breakfast on the porch on at least 10 different mornings in the past during low season and that I had informed the manager (Sara) of our need when we made our reservation. Stephanie replied that the hotel has never served breakfast on the porch during low season and that she could not help me. Essentially, she suggested that I was lying. Eventually, she said that she would accommodate us "this one time," but we chose to breakfast elsewhere as we did not want to be in a place where we did not feel welcome.

Anyway, long story short. I doubt that we will return the MacCallum House although we will return to Mendo several more times this year and in the years to come.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MrClean69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at MacCallum House and it just gets better every time.

The drive to MacCallum is beautiful. Winding road through the wineries and a breathtaking view of the Pacific Ocean.

MacCallum's location is great. A block off Main Street where shops ranging from arts and crafts to toys and bookstore.

The Inn is a throwback to the past. Sit on their porch with one of the house's very own drink concoction, and you can almost hear and smell the history of this great old house.

The garden boasts of colourful flowers and great places to just sit and relax.

Food at the MacCallum is an experience not to be missed. They offer fresh organic dishes that is true to the Chef's passion in food.

A definite must experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We enjoyed a two night stay in the suites property of the MacCallum house. We stayed in Room 26 and enjoyed the private patio with hot tub. We had plenty of space, including a fab king bed which made us want to be lazy and stay in bed all day. Nice sitting couch plus a table to do a little work at, if needed. as well. The bathroom had a large soaking tub as well, which also had the shower. Just a word of warning on room 26, if someone has any kind of mobility issue, getting into and out of the shower/tub combo could be a challenge.

We had breakfast in the morning down in the main inn. It's a quick four block walk down hill and we walked down both mornings. Breakfast with coffee or tea is included in your stay, but any extras (like juice or sides) are extra. Gratuity at 18% is automatically added to your bill. I guess they don't really bill themselves as a B&B, so I won't complain too much about the potential add on costs for breakfast.

We appreciated that the property was pet friendly (with additional fee), found all the staff to be pleasant both on the phone and in person. The grounds well maintained. Next time we would probably stay in the actual house or adjacent cabins just so we are more in the heart of downtown.

All around, the MacCallum house is a great choice for a Mendocino getaway and you will be treated very well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CailTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We booked a room at the last minute when the inn was nearly full. Our only two choices were rooms that had bathrooms separate from the room itself (they were still private, though). Since one was an outside walk and we knew we'd need to use the facilities at night, we went with Room #5. This room is in the main house and on the top (3rd floor) with the bathroom on the 2nd floor. The room has 2 queen size beds. There is some separation between the beds because the stairwell runs up the middle of the room and so there's this structural part of the room that actually divides the two areas. There is a sink in the room. Good linens and excellent bath towels. Nice and fluffy. The staircase is pretty tight so don't plan on carrying heavy bags up there unless you've been working out. Nice flat screen TV. It's somewhat plain but clean. Didn't try the internet access but it was available. Because you are essentially in the attic, the ceilings are sloped, so just watch your head. Overall a nice room. The bathroom is also plain, but nice and clean. The shower is somewhat thrilling because anytime someone turns on the hot water somewhere else, you know it quickly! So just make sure you pay attention. The staff is very nice and attentive. The breakfast is excellent. As a guest of the inn, you are offered coffee or tea and can choose from any entree for breakfast. My husband had eggs benedict which was great. I had scrambled eggs with delicious bacon and sourdough toast, made fresh daily. Great coffee. We are eating dinner there tonight and I'm really looking forward to it.

We peaked into room #6 on our way out and it is beautiful. Great view of the ocean. Jetted tub. Two bedrooms and there are two sitting areas. I would definitely come back but would prefer to stay in a room with a bathroom. Will look forward to that in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an attached private bathroom and an ocean view, you'll be set!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Two nights at the suites up the hill. The nice part is that they don't force you to interact with the proprietors...you have near complete privacy. For us, that was paramount. The breakfasts were delicious and the wait staff attentive. The room was spacious and well appointed, we stayed in the Spa Suite as many other reviewers here have.

The walk down the hill each morning for breakfast was very enjoyable and easy. We are returning next month.

Room Tip: The Spa Suite has a large patio with table, chairs, and hot tub. It is semi-private with a separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WurldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

A very charming inn in the heart of town surrounded by quite lovely gardens and a prime outlook over the Bay. Very good in-house restaurant and a delightful, sunny front Breakfast Room.

The Annex lodgings are new, well-furbished and extremely commodious, with huge bathrooms/tubs and quality toiletries.

Staff are warm and quite hospitable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We spent two nights at the Suites and took breakfast at the Inn. Our suite was great, equipped with a jetted tub, seating area with fireplace, a dining alcove, and other luxuries. The bed was very comfortable. We had a back yard with a table and seating and our own 6' by 6' hot tub, which we used while enjoying the wine compliments of the Inn. The full breakfasts were great. One would have to be very picky to find something to complain about. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Stay at the Suites. The hotel is from the last century. It was quaint and a great place to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
8.5 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
632 reviews
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,181 reviews
4.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacCallum House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacCallum House Inn

Address: 45020 Albion St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range: £148 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MacCallum House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a classic Victorian boutique hotel located in the heart of Mendocino. Situated on 2 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds the MacCallum House has a full service fine dining restaurant, casual cafe, and bar on site. We offer wedding and group services as well. Our accommodations feature a number of standard amenities including concierge services, 24 hour desk help. Our rooms have many luxury touches such as Shikai bath products,mini bars,gourmet in room coffee, robes, fireplaces, hot tubs, DVD players, Ipod docking stations, phones, and ocean views. We also provide free Wifi property wide so you can stay in touch with the rest of the world. As part of our collection of rooms we also have two vacation homes that are fully equipped and great for families. In addition our Suites property has large rooms complete with ocean views, jetted tubs, gas fireplaces, and large plasma televisions. Come discover why the MacCallum House is the most comfortable place to stay in Mendocino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MacCallum House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maccallum House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing