We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mac House is the darling of Mendocino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MacCallum House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mac House is the darling of Mendocino”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

While visiting Mendocino, I highly recommend staying at the MacCallum House. We were in the area visiting family and it was such a relaxing, beautiful place to call home at the end of our fun filled, busy days. We chose to stay in the water tower room, which was so unique, and such a treat to wake up to views of the Pacific. Our amenities were modern, yet charming. We loved the huge whirlpool tub and sauna, and the beds were so plush and comfortable. The food was delicious, very fresh and local, really topnotch. This B & B is a such a gem in this amazingly picturesque town. We can't wait to return to the west coast, to unwind and indulge with the Mac House.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carissa Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    150
    51
    51
    35
See reviews for
73
344
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We loved our stay at the MacCallum House last week! Mendocino is such an unexpected little gem of a town. You're driving through the winding mountain roads and then POOF there you are in this micro-city on the coast! We SO thoroughly enjoyed our (too short) time there.

Our guest house was PERFECT for our needs and was just lovely. Very modern and even had coffee and cream for the mornings. Our dinner experience at the Mac House restaurant was nothing short of exceptional. Everything we chose was delicious and the short ribs in particular were velvety and amazing. Breakfast in the restaurant was delish. (Big portions too)

We are so sorry we didn't plan to stay longer -- the setting is so gorgeous there on the coast. We always enjoy coming to California and our trip to Mendocino and the MacCallum House was a really wonderful addition to our vacation!

Room Tip: Rent one of the guest houses. It seems more private and you get your own bathroom! :o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

When I have read about or visited Bed & Breakfast Inns, one of the most noticeable differences from a regular hotel has always been the welcoming atmosphere and how the owners took pride in what they had to offer and personally made sure your stay was comfortable. Not the case at the MacCallum House Inn. I do not think we ever saw the owners - the place seemed to be run by a bunch of otherwise out of work 20-somethings. From the first encounter with the person at the desk at the main entrance, you know this is a BUSINESS. She barely looked up when I asked her about checking-in. She motioned that I needed to go upstairs. The rest of our experience was similar. There seemed to be LOTS of rules for those staying at this Inn - don't do this, don't do that (or you will be charged). Even at the breakfast, as we were seated, we were told by the hostess "You can have an entree, but any sides or beverages are extra and we are automatically adding 18% gratuity to your bill". So much for the "breakfast" part of "Bed & Breakfast" - never encountered that before! I know why they do this - they are probably afraid that since the service is terrible throughout, they would not get tips if they were not added automatically! The food at breakfast was mediocre, at best. Our room experience echos that of many other reviews on this site, although I notice that no one had the same room as we did (#3) so that says a lot about the entire place. Our room was certainly "pet-friendly" - you could smell it as soon as you entered the room. We should have asked for another room, but I had already heard another tenant complaining and they were told that there were no other rooms available. We were tired after a long drive, so we just opened the window and hoped we could sleep through the smell. The room not only smelled, but was very dusty, musty and had a very uncomfortable feeling to it. The bed was comfortable and we both slept well. In the morning, we realized that we did not have any hot water in our sink or shower - something mentioned in other reviews, so it must be a common problem. Nothing like a cold shower on a cold morning! We couldn't wait for the water to warm up because if we left the room late, we would be charged by the hour! I would NOT recommend this place to anyone. You'd be better off camping! I know I should have said something to someone about all of this while we were there and had I run into and owner or manager, or someone who even seemed to care, I would have. But, it was clear from the inhospitable manner of everyone we encountered during our stay, that our concerns would have fallen on deaf ears.
NOTE: If you have read any of my other reviews on this site, you will notice that I am usually very generous and positive about my experiences. I only took the time to write this one because it was extremely disappointing!

Room Tip: Forget Room #3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jgentner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendoFan1, General Manager at MacCallum House Inn, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for leaving a review of your experience with us. I want to apologize that this guests stay was not to their liking. I am unsure of about the comment 'otherwise out of work 20-somethings' means, but I find the the age of my staff varies and would say that my staff takes their job very seriously, and they are all trained to be as accommodating as possible to our visitors. Our commercial grade hot water heater was having some intermittent problems and was recently fixed by a professional service technician. I am sorry it was not functioning properly during this guests stay. The Main House where these guests stayed is entirely pet free, so I do not think any odor would have come from that source. The house is 136 years old and made entirely of wood and it is cleaned daily to limit any smells as much as possible. We take all comments from our guests to heart and continue to work on maintaining our rooms and improving our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Worst B & B experience ever. Noise and fish smell(bed) from downstairs restaurant keep me awake until mid nite after long drive from Oregon. Breakfast is not what you expect from good B & B. It was restaurant meal big enough for dinner(not romantic at all). And they charge service charge of 18%( 18% of what?). Service charge for breakfast at the B & B ? Also about 20% of extra tax,charge on top of expensive room bill. What is Mandocino Preservation Fee? Try to keep traveler away from Mandocino?.By the way only gas station in Mandocino charges $ 6.30 per gallon for regular gasoline. No wander why they did not put sign board outside at the gas station. They are waiting for a innocent victim!

Room Tip: Stay away from main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Parkering2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

The inn is set in picture-perfect Mendocino, which is known as the location for 'Murder she wrote', in lovely gardens with resident hummingbirds; its food is excellent without being expensive, service is very good, our favourite place in a 3 week tour
Our room in the main house was excellent and very comfortable (rooms are also available in annexes)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevepharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

No hot water both mornings of our stay. Attic suite: rooms dirty: old pretzel in corner, previous guest's dirty undergarment under one bed, huge dust bunnies under both beds, corners filthy. Furniture looks like it came from Salvation Army and Goodwill, no charm. TVs old, DVD plays black & white only, no color. Restaurant service at 2 breakfasts and 2 dinners slow, indifferent, with orders incomplete. Front desk service indifferent. Coffee and cream not refilled for 2nd morning. Given a key that did not work, had to replace it 3 times. No apologies for all the problems, but we did get a discount on the room rates at check out after listing them, but again no apology and it took some time. Extremely poorly run but expensive inn with charming exterior; F- to the management; staff seems unhappy and completely lacking any interest in the guests' experience. (Positives: plenty of towels, robes. But what good are towels when the water is cold?)

Room Tip: Do not recommend Attic Suite (#6).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenperegrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendoFan1, General Manager at MacCallum House Inn, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
I want to apologize that this guest did not enjoy their stay. The hot water heater was having some intermittent problems in the Main House and was recently fixed by a technician. I am sorry it was not functioning properly for these guests. We clean and inspect our rooms daily, and one of our housekeeping managers always inspects each room before it made available for check in.
Our management team takes all comments about difficulties with a stay in one of our rooms, or our restaurant, very seriously. We do our best to resolve any issues when alerted by our guests as quickly as possible. Guests may always contact us as well via email or phone call if they do not feel comfortable giving feedback at the time of their visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 5.30 pm having ore booked and paid a deposit for 2 nights. We went to our room and it was next to the hotels air conditioning unit. It was so loud we were unable to hear ourselves speak. We complained to the receptionist who said no one had previously complained . We asked for another room but we were told there were none available at the price we wanted. We could have a twin bedded room with a bathroom downstairs there were better rooms but we would have to pay. We asked to speak to the manager not available eventually she phoned the manager and we were upgraded to a suite. The service at breakfast and dinner was a bit too over bearing. In the end we had a good stay I think they rely in their reputation

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suedixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
4.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacCallum House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacCallum House Inn

Property: MacCallum House Inn
Address: 45020 Albion St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MacCallum House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a classic Victorian boutique hotel located in the heart of Mendocino. Situated on 2 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds the MacCallum House has a full service fine dining restaurant, casual cafe, and bar on site. We offer wedding and group services as well. Our accommodations feature a number of standard amenities including concierge services, 24 hour desk help. Our rooms have many luxury touches such as Shikai bath products,mini bars,gourmet in room coffee, robes, fireplaces, hot tubs, DVD players, Ipod docking stations, phones, and ocean views. We also provide free Wifi property wide so you can stay in touch with the rest of the world. As part of our collection of rooms we also have two vacation homes that are fully equipped and great for families. In addition our Suites property has large rooms complete with ocean views, jetted tubs, gas fireplaces, and large plasma televisions. Come discover why the MacCallum House is the most comfortable place to stay in Mendocino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your MacCallum House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maccallum House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing