We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is our first choice when staying in Mendocino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MacCallum House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Sonoma, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is our first choice when staying in Mendocino”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Our room was excellent, it felt like home. Some of the small details/polish lacking. Things like doors that stick or didn't shut, etc. Good location. A little odd checking in at a separate location, we did arrive at our spot first only to discover that we would have to go somewhere else to check in. Their restaurant was our favorite for food and service that we experienced while up there, but the wine list fell short of their competition. Helped some other travelers with their bags up the steep steps of the main building while the (restaurant?) host simply looked on, hence the knock for service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    153
    51
    51
    35
See reviews for
76
347
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We love staying in Mendocino over Christmas, staying the 24th and 25th for a full romantic visit. We've stayed at the MacCallum House many times over the years, mostly staying in one of the cottages. As we've gotten older and less mobile, they were too small for comfort so tried the MacCallum Suites up on a hill away from the main house. I cannot handle stairs and have poor balance so ground floor units are our choice. I selected a "Premiere" unit on the ground floor, the Spa Suite Rm 33. Imagine my dismay when entering the suite to find the bath and coffee bar were on the ground level, but the bedroom was down two steps! It meant up and down steps all night. We tried to find another unit but everything was booked. My husband never undressed for the night as he was afraid I'd fall on the stairs. I didn't, but it was the worst Christmas Eve ever! And we didn't even use the gorgeous spa tub, outdoor hot tub, or the sauna. As a note, there is no desk or table for writing unless you use the one outside on the deck -- but there is room for one in a corner by the windows.

I have to say that the always charming Herman Seidell, General Manager, was very accommodating and sympathized with our dilemma, and released us from an obligatory second night there.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Latchicoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I spent New Years Eve at MacCallum house and could not have been happier with our experience. We stayed in one of the on property cottages with our own hot tub. The only downside to the tirp was that the hot tub did not work, but otherwise we loved it here. The staff was very friendly and attentive, and everyone was very helpful. Our room was spacious and clean with comfortable beds. The Inn was pet friendly as well. The real highlight of our stay here though was the food. The breakfast is amazing, and our dinner there on NYE was to die for! We would highly recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

My Family and I recently returned to the MacCallum house suites and had an amazing relaxing weekend getaway with our extended family.
My son said that the beds were like sleeping on clouds and I agree. I got two great nights of sleep on the fluffy white comfortable beds. The rooms are always super clean and each time we return I notice new furniture and art work and updated amenities. The fireplace heater kept us super toasty and the flat screen tv Is a nice modern touch. The wifi was excellent we had better Internet speed there then we get where we live. The great thing about visiting Mendocino is that it is beautiful every time of year. The Mac suites and main hotel are right in town nestled amidst all of the shops and cafe's and there is a delicious restaraunt with sustainable local fair right in the main Mac house hotel. I can't wait to return soon for another visit.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovethecalcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful two nights at the Mac, as it is affectionately called, in a lovely room called the Barn Studio. The food was fantastic in the Inn's restaurant and the staff was very personable. Combine this with the Mendocino coast and you can't get a more enjoyable get away!

Room Tip: Visit their web site to see pictures of all of their beautiful accommodations and I'm sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingletown, California, Usa
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here over a year ago on a Travel Zoo internet special and enjoyed it so much that we returned and paid the regular price. This time, I wanted to stay in the main house. I think the main house has more charm and history than the other buildings, but it probably depends on what amenities and comfort level you are looking for - the newer accommodations are more luxurious. The walls are a bit thin in the house - if you have noisy neighbors, you are going to know it, but we didn't have any problem sleeping. We were on the second floor.The room and bathroom were clean and the bed and linens very comfortable. Bath robes are provided for guest use. There was a quiet baseboard heater, but we didn't use it much as the house seemed to stay warm enough for us. We enjoyed the quality liquid soap, lotion, shampoo, and conditioner that are dispensed from large containers instead of the typical tiny packets. The room door would stick occasionally and needed an extra tug to open it, but it is to be expected in such an old house, and one morning we lost water, however, we notified the desk staff on our way down to breakfast, and the problem had been fixed by the time we returned after breakfast. The rest of the time, there was plenty of hot water. Our room included a welcoming complimentary bottle of local wine, along with the complimentary breakfast and the discount vouchers for the bar or dinner. Best breakfast in town, in our opinion, and the bar was lively and the bartenders personable. There was a nice flat screen TV and DVD player in our room, but we didn't use it. We don't come to Mendocino to watch TV. :) The room also included a small quiet refrigerator, coffee-maker, and the always expensive mini bar drinks and snacks. We bought ours at the local market. There is a very good sandwich place on the street behind the main house if you are looking for reasonable lunches in a very pricey town. Shops and restaurants are close by, and there are nice trails around the headlands and stairs down to the beach and river. There is a computer and printer for guest use in the main house second floor lounge overlooking the headlands - a peaceful place to sit and read, too. The house and grounds are beautiful, the restaurant is elegant, and the bar/cafe is charming. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful, and it was another very pleasant and relaxing Mendocino experience at the MacCallum House Inn. We will be back. :)

Room Tip: Second floor rooms appear to be quieter and have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkateSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We arrived in the early evening and the welcome was cold and not at all friendly. We could not get a restaurant meal and would have had to wait over 30 mins in the bar for anything to eat as room service is not provided. The room was dark, dusty and inadequately cleaned judging by rubbish left from previous guests. There was no plug in the washbasin. The breakfast was very elaborate as simple food does not seem to be within their vocabulary. I saw the Duty Manager prior to departure to explain that we did not wish to stay for our second night. She listened to our comments and promised action but we would not stay there again or recommend it to anyone unless future reviews indicate a substantial change in the attitude of the staff and a greater attention to delivering real hospitality.

Room Tip: If you cannot climb stairs or carry your own luggage you are likely to have problems if you stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lewisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
701 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacCallum House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacCallum House Inn

Property: MacCallum House Inn
Address: 45020 Albion St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MacCallum House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a classic Victorian boutique hotel located in the heart of Mendocino. Situated on 2 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds the MacCallum House has a full service fine dining restaurant, casual cafe, and bar on site. We offer wedding and group services as well. Our accommodations feature a number of standard amenities including concierge services, 24 hour desk help. Our rooms have many luxury touches such as Shikai bath products,mini bars,gourmet in room coffee, robes, fireplaces, hot tubs, DVD players, Ipod docking stations, phones, and ocean views. We also provide free Wifi property wide so you can stay in touch with the rest of the world. As part of our collection of rooms we also have two vacation homes that are fully equipped and great for families. In addition our Suites property has large rooms complete with ocean views, jetted tubs, gas fireplaces, and large plasma televisions. Come discover why the MacCallum House is the most comfortable place to stay in Mendocino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your MacCallum House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maccallum House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing