We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best b&b in mendocino!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MacCallum House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
A TripAdvisor Member
“best b&b in mendocino!”
Reviewed 1 June 2006

MacCallum House is wonderful..staff, sevice and food are all great!!!...ohhh the food is mouthwatering, the most amazing organic and fresh food in California!

I HIGHLY recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    152
    51
    51
    35
See reviews for
75
346
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 May 2006

We had a wonderful time at the maccallum house in mendocino. The rooms are lovely and the staff welcoming. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit mendocino looking for a relaxing top notch get away. The food was superb as well.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, AZ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2006

Our stay was excellent. We had the Abbey blair cottage. The hot tub was refreshing. We enjoyed the Fireplace in the room which kept it quite cozy. We were celebrating our anniversary. It fit all requirements for romantic ambience. Our dinner at the Grey Whale was excellent. Food was exquisite and service top notch. We would plan another anniversary here. Everything is within walking distance. The views are terrific. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uspsshewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 May 2006

It could have been that they were gutting the entire place (which we weren't warned about), but this was only okay consideration the price. Had to go next door to another b&b for breakfast, wine evening was postponed and generally things were in disarray.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2006

.This was our second stay at the MacCallum house. Room 19 makes for a wonderful stay. Beautiful view of the bay and a huge fireplace. Great hiking and biking in the vicinity. Food at the Inn is very good and you are within walking distance of several other very good restaurants. We'll be back.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank orthopod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2006

We stayed in one of the rooms out of the main house area which was quiet and private, just what we wanted. We did come to the main house for wine hour and breakfast. I would agree with other posters that for the price the place needs to be spiffed up a bit. Our room was fair in terms of cleanliness and design. There was a serious ant problem in the kitchenette and apparently the rooms not in the main house are low priority for cleaning. We were out all day, returning at 3pm and our room still had not been freshened. The cleaning staff showed up just as we decided to relax - not ok. Even with all that I would stay there again - they allow dogs!! - except for the rude condescending staff. I am not a wine drinker and they were snotty when I asked for an alternative at the wine and CHEESE hour. Service was painfully slow at breakfast, which was tasty, but apparently you only get one cup of coffee with your breakfast included in the price. At least I was never offered more. The staff made me feel like unwelcome riff-raff. We head up to the Mendocino area 3 to 4 times a year for mini-vacations and we will be staying elsewhere next time, which is sad as we had had such high hopes for the Mac House...

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CFordstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 April 2006

We visited the Mendoncino during a rainy weekend. We still had a great time. Our dinners and breakfasts at the MacCallum House were delicious and the atmosphere was relaxing. The wine hours were a great starter to the evenings. Guests get two tokens each to present at the bar. You get drinks of your choice along with appetizers. The staff was helpful and pleasant. We rented bikes and they allowed us to go over our time limit.
Only complaint: the bed in the loft was uncomfortable. No box spring and by the second night, our backs were sore. Otherwise, a wonderful time!

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
691 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
4.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#15 of 25 in Mendocino
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacCallum House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacCallum House Inn

Property: MacCallum House Inn
Address: 45020 Albion St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MacCallum House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a classic Victorian boutique hotel located in the heart of Mendocino. Situated on 2 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds the MacCallum House has a full service fine dining restaurant, casual cafe, and bar on site. We offer wedding and group services as well. Our accommodations feature a number of standard amenities including concierge services, 24 hour desk help. Our rooms have many luxury touches such as Shikai bath products,mini bars,gourmet in room coffee, robes, fireplaces, hot tubs, DVD players, Ipod docking stations, phones, and ocean views. We also provide free Wifi property wide so you can stay in touch with the rest of the world. As part of our collection of rooms we also have two vacation homes that are fully equipped and great for families. In addition our Suites property has large rooms complete with ocean views, jetted tubs, gas fireplaces, and large plasma televisions. Come discover why the MacCallum House is the most comfortable place to stay in Mendocino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your MacCallum House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maccallum House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing