We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your classic overrated tourist trap.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MacCallum House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Reviewed 7 November 2006

Definitely not the place for a romantic getaway.

My fiancee wanted to surprise me with a last-minutre trip to beautiful Mendocino before flying back home from SFO.

She googled various upscale B&B's in Mendocino and of course MacCallum House is broadly advertised.

We happened to arrive a tad late on Monday evening (7:20pm) and were told that we need to hurry for dinner (reservations for 7:30pm) because they stop taking orders at 8pm!! Ok, it was Monday, but 8pm ?? And why aren't we told at the time of booking ?

We still wanted to freshen up first after a long drive up from San Jose. So we asked for the room and were pointed up the stairs to a seperate area for check-in. Why 2 desks for restaurant & hotel ?

After we received the keys for Room #7 (the tiny tiny cottage) we attempted to figure out how to turn on the light (it was pretty dark). Where you expect a light switch, there was only a switch to turn on the fridge. The only lights are the bedside lamps. You'll have to stumble passed the narrow space around the Queen bed to get to it in the dark. That's if you're not put off by the musty smells (probably from mold in the ancient carpet) and the fact that the bathroom is around the back in a seperate even tinier building (think small garden shed), along a path in immediate view of the dining guests in the main house.

So we switched rooms, to #10. A bit bigger (and way more $$$) and it has a hot tub. Same musty smell, clammy sheets with stains, dust & sticky surfaces everywhere, but the patio next to the hottub was the biggest put off. An empty bottle of beer next to a pack of cigarettes, matches and other rubbish! Does anybody clean here at all ? The hottub was full of leaves and had an overly strong chemical smell. Probably to kill off bacteria that the guests from a recent review on here contracted hives from.

Overall, a very UNCLEAN experience. Stained old wash basin, warped toilet seat (wood not clean plastic), various flies & a few spiders in the room rounded off a very unwelcoming experience.

We were too tired to find another room that night, especially since we had to hurry to dinner first. The food was alright, but not the 3-star claims they would have you believe.

The staff is very young and obviously not experienced. Never did we see the Inn Keepers, or they didn't identify themselves.
The best experience was the fact that they acknowledged our dissatisfaction and returned our money for the 1 night stay (originally we had booked it for 2 nights).
Maybe the renovated rooms the other reviewers on here are referring to are better, but we never waited to find out. The 2 rooms we tried wouldn't be worth $50 a night, let alone the $245 that #10 lists at.

Those thinking of just dining there, do note that the Menu lists $6 for a serving of olive oil & bread. Free in most places I know. The gouging doesn't stop there. The cheaper ($7) Pinot Noir was out, but the $11 Pinot Noir was terrible and probably even cheaper in brand. The Halibut is ok, but more homestyle than fine dining. Therefore, the $29 price tag isn't justified in my view.

If you're looking for a carefree, pampered romantic experience... stay away. There are other places in town. Best to try some of the lesser advertised places a little bit outside the main downtown area.

From previous stays I can recommend Brewery Gulch Inn and Sea Rock Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2006

We stayed in the Redwood Cabin for the last few days of October. We enjoyed the privacy of the cabin/garden/spa. The little room was cosy and had everything we could need. The gardeners were working constantly while we were there and the grounds were immaculate and full of flowers. We had dinner on Sunday and it was excellent. The menu had good range and the wine list was pleasantly local and inexpensive. As we were on a package, the dinner was included. Breakfast was also included and was a full menu breakfast that featured local ingredients. The pancakes with ginger marscapone were my favorite.
The spa was a great feature of this room. We did have to walk around from the front door to the garden door, about five paces, but that wasn't a big deal, and robes were provided. The room had limited storage space, so our luggage was in the way, but we managed. The room maid went out of her way to make sure we had enough coffee and tea.
The hotel is in the center of Mendocino, so very convenient for shopping etc.
We enjoyed the hospitality of extras like the wine and cheese in the evenings and the high-speed internet. We borrowed the bikes, which were pretty decent and did two rides. One up Russian Gulch, which was nice, and the next day up the Big River - an exceptional ride! A good, gentle semi-paved path takes you way out along the side of the river. The Big River ride is easier to get to - less Highway 1 riding.
Fall is a beautiful time on the N. California coast and having stayed at several other places on other visits to Mendocino, we found the MacCallum House to be a great choice.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank JohannmSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2006

Just to let you know that this is not some quaint little B&B tucked into the corner of Mendocino. This is a huge operation and these guys own rooms all over town. That shouldn't deter you from trying it out, but sometimes I like to support the little guy. As another reviewer noted, just be sure you know where your room is, because it might be a few blocks away from the main house. We had one problem on our visit. They were remodeling the room next to ours, so when we returned at the end of the day we were overcome with paint fumes in our room. We expressed our concern and another room was found for us immediately. It was a little inconvenient, but they were very willing to help us out. We absolutely loved the breakfast, especially Lupe's burrito. Internet access in the room was a hassle to access, but they did have a computer set up in the main house. Their website was the best one I could find to get information about the area. The rooms were wonderful and the gardens were beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mrjanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2006

This is our fifth time back to the MacCullum House over many years and we are never disappointed. This time we stayed at the quaint and adorable Marigold Cottage. The Inn's staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are always clean and includes many extra "touches". The breakfast that is included is superb. We always wish we could stay longer...

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DayTrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2006

The MacCallum house is superior in lodging and food. We found it a true delight and will return next year for a longer stay!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank preacherman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2006

I am a very frequent business traveler, and often stay in 4+ star hotels. However, on vacation, I like to seek out unique boutique hotels & inns that really know how to provide GREAT customer service.

The MacCallum House does not disappoint! It was a great, great, amazing stay.

First, the room was newly renovated (the Upper Barn Suite) and was gorgeous. The furnishings were nice, the small touches thoughtful, and the sauna/bathroom absolutely excellent!

Second, the breakfast was to die for - a great made to order menu with tons of variety & seasonal/local ingredients. And included for free!

Third, the gardens are absolutely gorgeous and a pleasure to walk through each day.

The service was excellent, Mendocino is great, and we had a ball. Go stay there, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sweetdaisy233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2006

Just returned from 3 wonderful days in the Mac House Luxury Suites.

First the BAD (sorry, but it has to be said) - Cleanliness did not appear to be a high priority. The previous guests checked out just hours on the same day we arrived, but I still feel housekeeping could have done a better cleaning job. We stayed in the Master Suite, which was quite lovely, but when we moved the sofa & table to make way for the massage tables (for our in-room couples massage - to DIE for!), we were shocked at the amount of dust bunnies & mouse droppings that we found.

A few other cleanliness / maintenance issues that should have been addressed (hey, this room rents for $395 per night - we're not talking about a Motel 6 here):

1) There was no screen on the balthroom window. And it was large enough & low enough that someone could have easily crawled in.

2) The 2 white bathroom rugs were soiled when we arrived & were not changed during our stay.

3) The cover was missing from an electrical outlet in the main room & 1/3 of the bulbs were burned out in the lamps.

4) There was a small coffepot, and several packages of coffee condiments, but NO COFFEE!

5) The high speed internet hookup is not very functional. There's a long cord attached to the phone on the nightstand, but there's no desk or chair nearby. I had to sit on the bed to check my email - it was that or the dirty floor!

6) The shower setup is really funky. Due to the glass partition that extends across half the length of the jetted tub & shower enclosure, you can't turn the shower on until you are actually standing under it. This makes for a few VERY uncomfortable minutes until the water warms up. After that, it's all good.

7) Don't you think it would be fair to tell people the truth about the location of the Luxury Suites??? They're really not "a short walk..." to the main house where the food is served, or "3 blocks away" as we were told upon check-in. They're CLEAR across a busy road, more like SIX blocks away, and right next door to an OLD CEMETARY!!! And room #33, the Master Suite, is within 10-15 feet of that cemetary. I must admit that I got a little nervous at first when I realized how close we were. But, except for the homeless people who partied in the cemetary one night, it WAS pretty quiet.


Now that I've gottent THAT off my chest...the rest of our stay was exceptional. And we will definitely be back.

It was the perfect spot for a relaxing, romantic weekend. The bed is so comfortable that it's hard to get out of it in the morning. The linens and towels are super soft & luxurious and the bath toiletries are very nice. We didn't try out the 2-person jetted tub, but the sauna & hot tub were WONDERFUL! We had brought some DVDs with us and spent the evenings relaxing on the super soft sofa and drinking Mendocino wine in front of our fireplace.

Dinner at the MacCallum House was exceptional. Junk food junkies that we are, we tend to shy away from "organically grown" healthy type fare, but we both admitted that dinner was DELICIOUS! Hubby had the halibut and I had the filet - it was so tender it almost melted in my mouth. (Skip the olive oil tasting, though, unless you're really particular - we could tell the difference, but decided we didn't care). Service was wonderful and desserts were to die for! Yummy!

We had breakfast both days - Eggs MacBenedict and Lupe's Breakfast Burrito. Don't know who Lupe is, but after tasting the burrito, I wanted to find her & give her a HUGE HUG! One of the most original, yet nonpretentious breakfast dishes I've ever had. Presentation was lovely, with fresh fruit & decadent breakfast potatoes with carmelized onions. I'm sure I ganed a few unwanted pounds from that. If they could have just made the FLIES disappear - it would have been perfect!

A word of caution, though, if you're prone to being carsick. The last 25 miles or so on Hwy 128 is loaded with hairpin turns. I wasn't expecting that and was a little quesy upon arrival. Bonine next day did the trick.

Mendocino is a wonderful artsy community and we can hardly wait to go back. And the Mac House iswhere we'll stay!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank bought2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
8.5 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
631 reviews
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,181 reviews
4.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacCallum House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacCallum House Inn

Address: 45020 Albion St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range: £148 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MacCallum House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a classic Victorian boutique hotel located in the heart of Mendocino. Situated on 2 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds the MacCallum House has a full service fine dining restaurant, casual cafe, and bar on site. We offer wedding and group services as well. Our accommodations feature a number of standard amenities including concierge services, 24 hour desk help. Our rooms have many luxury touches such as Shikai bath products,mini bars,gourmet in room coffee, robes, fireplaces, hot tubs, DVD players, Ipod docking stations, phones, and ocean views. We also provide free Wifi property wide so you can stay in touch with the rest of the world. As part of our collection of rooms we also have two vacation homes that are fully equipped and great for families. In addition our Suites property has large rooms complete with ocean views, jetted tubs, gas fireplaces, and large plasma televisions. Come discover why the MacCallum House is the most comfortable place to stay in Mendocino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MacCallum House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maccallum House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing