We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mendocino Seaside Cottage
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“We loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, and enjoyed it so much, we stayed an extra night. The view is great. My wife loved the jacuzzi bathtub and fireplace and I loved the king-sized bed. We drank wine on the private deck, listened to some Motown and starred at the stars all night. It was a great relaxing trip and absolutely recommend it.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShutterMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
santa rosa, california
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I spent two nights here (part business, part fun) and stayed in the Vista View Room. And it is literally a vista view room! Wall to wall windows look out over a private deck to the beautiful Mendocino headlands. The room was comfortable, the bathroom a little small, but amenities were nice and having the mini frig, microwave and dishes was a nice touch. Chocolates were left in a heart shaped box on our bed upon arrival. The owner, Mel, was very accommodating and helpful in booking the room and left a nice message for us when we checked in. Walking right out the door to the headlands for a gorgeous morning hike was awesome and we did that both mornings.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvkihei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

My daughter and I turned up on a whim and were charmed from the moment we lifted the phone in a box to explore if there were rooms. We were lucky enough to stay in two glorious rooms and peep at a third, so can say that everywhere is amazing! Lots of lovely additional touches, eg telescopes, DVDs and CDs, but the warmth of the hosts and the glorious location are the biggest stars.

Room Tip: While the penthouse is spectacular, we almost preferred the downstairs room with ocean view and pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

This is such a lovely cottage with individual rooms, each with their own entrance. Be sure to look at each room on their website. Each one is unique. Our room, Vista View, faced the ocean and once the fog lifted we had an incredible view of the ocean.
Being an avid gardener, I appreciated the beautiful landscaping of flowers and shrubs that attracted hummingbirds and butterflies. For our walk to town, we took the short cut through the local school grounds. Our host, Mel, gave us the directions and was most gracious in answering all our questions and concerns.
The location of this cottage is amazing. Just sit on the front porch, gaze over the wildflowers to the Mendocino coastline and feel yourself relax. This is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Our room, Vista View was probably smaller than the rest, but suited our needs just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA2wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We visited the Mendocino Seaside Cottage on a whim - and we were taken away by the place. A walk away from the ocean, sweeping views, quiet, cozy, and excellent customer service. Mel was very honest when booking us - we were going to go with a more expensive smaller room, and he talked us into a larger less expensive room, as we had a kid with us. We also loved the character of the place. The overall customer service from when we booked, to when we left was a 5 star plus experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the view ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaLisa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Mendocino Seaside Cottage is absolutely THE BEST. We travel regularly and have seen much of the world, yet return with anticipation to Mendocino and the Seaside Cottage each and every year. It it the ideal place to unwind, rest, and relax.

We've been visiting the Mendocino area for the past 14 years. The first several years were spent hopping from one accommodation to the next, in search of the ideal place. We also poked our heads into a number of the area's accommodations, but none seemed to fit the bill. When we found Mel and Lindalee's beautiful Victorian getaway, we knew that our search for the perfect vacation spot was finally a success.

Mendocino Seaside Cottage has THE BEST VIEWS in all of Mendocino -- from the cliffs, crashing waves, and lighthouse to the north -- to the unobstructed views of the Headlands to the west (fantastic sunset photo opportunities). The cottage is in a quiet part of town; away from the noise of road and pedestrian traffic. Hence nothing competes with the sound of singing birds and crashing waves. The walk into town via the back road through the high school campus is quick (5 to 10 minutes) and much more pleasant than the walk down Lansing.

Adding to these wonderful features are the cottage rooms themselves, each of which is unique and ideal for romance. All of the rooms are clean, pleasant, and apportioned with delightful amenities. Our favorite, the upstairs suite, has lots of windows to enjoy the views, a seriously comfortable bed, cozy fireplace, turret-style dining area with a romantic ambiance, flat screen TV, DVD player, excellent stereo equipment, jacuzzi tub, shower for two, microwave, small refrigerator, a variety of coffee equipment, and much, much more.

The owners are one of the best things about the cottage. Mel and Lindalee take great care to insure that guests have an enchanting experience. They provide a bountiful basket of breakfast and snack treats, as well as gourmet coffee, and for special occasions a little something extra. We have always felt pampered when we stay at the cottage.

Each year, the moment we leave, we start counting the days until our next visit to Mendocino Seaside Cottage (one year the wait was too much, so we visited twice).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

Beautiful views of the ocean and the headlands. The house is quiet and well placed on the land. The day we checked out, we heard from our host, Mel, that the dogs below us had been barking because of a racoon outside. We didn't hear that at all. We just enjoyed the sound of the ocean.

Room Tip: Order early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fralden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.4 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendocino Seaside Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Seaside Cottage

Property: Mendocino Seaside Cottage
Address: 10940 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small private getaway in the Village of Mendocino. One of the very best locations in the Village, away from the business district & traffic yet only a short stroll to the shops & restaurants. Two minutes from the bluff overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Ocean views, lighthouse views, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs for two, free internet, private decks, & wetbars. An alternative to the Bed & Breakfast choices in the Village. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing