We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mendocino Seaside Cottage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mendocino Seaside Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mendocino Seaside Cottage
Vacaville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mendocino Seaside Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We had a Great three days in the Tropical cottage. The owner Mel is a very nice Inn Keeper.
He called to check if everything was satisfactory upon our arrival..and after our departure.
I would recommend this unit to anyone seeking a private stand alone cottage with full kitchen and
Private deck with play area for their pet.
Easy walk to town and cliffs by the Sea.. I would not hesitate to stay again when our travels lead us to Mendocino.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kfox96003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

The Tropical Cottage was the perfect choice for our weekend getaway to the beautiful Mendocino coast. In that it was pet friendly it was the ideal cottage to stay at for our first trip with our 5 month old German Shepherd. The pet ammenties were very pleasing to our pup, he thoroughly enjoyed the biscuits and the towel for his wet paws after a romp on the glorious beach. The Tropical Cottage was beautifully decorated in a jungle like motif, it made us feel like we were in a totally different world which was the exact experience we were looking for. The cottage kitchen was superbly equipped and it was a pleasure cooking our meals and being able to gaze out onto the breath taking ocean views. The patio was very enjoyable to sit on while we barbequed and watched the sun dip into the ocean. After a walk on the beach it was great to come home and fill the huge jacuzzi tub and sink into the hot water and let the jets take me to a very surreal place. The cottages are located so that it's very conveinent to enjoy many of the fascinating places that are the northern coast. The Tropical Cottage was very secluded and private but we did meet some of the other wonderful guests in our walks around the cottages. We will be returning to the Tropical Cottage but have decided to extend our next stay to more than a weekend. Mel, the innkeeper, was extrememly professional, helpful, thoughful and a great person to work with.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Great views of headlands state ocean shore park. Very nice spacious room with spa tub. located on the north side of town but an easy walk to downtown. An even shorter walk to the awesome Pacific ocean rugged shore line. A great place to stay, relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnb32898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

The Mendocino Seaside Cottage exceeded our expectations. Just steps away from the Headlands State Park, the location is awesome. You can park the car and not use it at all during your stay. The village of Mendocino is a short walking distance away. The views are lovely from the cottage grounds, so you don't even have to leave the cottage to enjoy the area. The cottage room itself was clean and cozy, and Mel, the innkeeper, couldn't have been more accommodating. It's also noteworthy that a place this nice allows dogs. More places should. This place is well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kit86326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stopped here for a couple days on our way back home to the Bay Area. Mel was very friendly and helpful. He called before we arrived to let me know to call him should we need anything. We were in the "Special Occasion" room.

The high pollen during this time of year was awful for my husband's allergies and unfortunately it limited our outside activity. Nice shops in the Village, Old Gold Jewelers is where my husband and I bought our wedding rings and it was nice to see they are still doing great. An excellent dinner at the Albion River Inn.

Pros: Pet Friendly. Right on the coast, ocean view, nice property, walking distance to the Village though we drove. Nice walks in neighborhood, quiet, gas fireplace, Pet water bowls and a milk bone was a nice touch as was the Pet sheet and towel for the dogs. Mel was great

Cons: Walkway to one of the other rooms passes right in front of our ocean view windows. No screens on the windows so the evening bugs attracted to the light would get into the room. TV channels are limited. Did not meet my "white glove" cleaning test, but I'm OCD about cleanliness so gave the place a dusting and a quick disinfecting.

Would definately stay here again, but maybe in a more private room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We love the seclusion, yet walking distance to town. Breathtaking views. Right on the headlands, our favorite place to hike. Dog friendly. While you do not meet the owners, they a delightful to work with. We have been to many places in town, this is the only place we have returned to, and will again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paskyfouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Mel, the innkeeper, was so awesome from the moment I booked this hotel that I really wanted to like this place. However, it fell short of expectations. First of all, I do not recommend coming in at night as your actual room is a bit difficult to find. I did appreciate the homey touches in the room (bathroom cups, silverware, etc.) the room itself was in need of refurbishment. The room also smelled a bit musky, likely because they allow pets. The views, however, were amazing.

The cottages are very quaint, but I felt that they were overpriced for the somewhat lack of upkeep and service level.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.4 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
7.2 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Joshua Grindle Inn
Joshua Grindle Inn
#7 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendocino Seaside Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Seaside Cottage

Property: Mendocino Seaside Cottage
Address: 10940 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small private getaway in the Village of Mendocino. One of the very best locations in the Village, away from the business district & traffic yet only a short stroll to the shops & restaurants. Two minutes from the bluff overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Ocean views, lighthouse views, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs for two, free internet, private decks, & wetbars. An alternative to the Bed & Breakfast choices in the Village. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing