We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hopefully this is my new birthday tradition!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mendocino Seaside Cottage
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hopefully this is my new birthday tradition!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Been meaning to write this review for awhile!

Hubby and I stayed here April 2013 for my 50th birthday w/ our 2 Golden Retrievers, Will & Jayda. It was wonderful! We stayed in the Tropical Cottage which was perfect for us, private, spacious, big side yard with patio & bbq grill and HUGE Jacuzzi tub! The place is fully equipped with pots/pans, dishware, utensils, towels, sheets, etc. Mel kindly left us a basket of snacks and a bottle of champagne and dog treats and dog bowls! We discovered The Harvest Market on Lansing Street (full service grocery store w/ great local & and organic food, impressive selection of meats, cheeses, wines, breakfast items). The place is a short walk to town. We enjoy walking there, shopping, getting coffee, and stopping to talk to all the wonderful folks walking around. It's a very dog-friendly place!

We loved it so much we returned April 2014, again for my birthday! We stayed in the same cottage and loved it even more this time, knowing that it has everything we need w/ a great market nearby, so we're able to pack way less stuff!. Mel is super nice (although we've never personally met him!). He asked if we were bringing our 2 goldens again and we let him know Jayda had recently passed away, so we just had 1 dog with us this trip. He was sincere and compassionate about our loss. Turns out, the day we left, we stopped at a farm in Manchester and adopted a 12 week old Great Pyrenees puppy we named Grace (it was Easter day and we thought it a fitting name). She is now 7 months old and a true blessing!

If I play my cards right, we'll be back in April 2015 for my next birthday with Will & Grace!

Room Tip: The Tropical Cottage is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoandLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Fantastic view on the ocean from your bed when you get awake with the song of the birds and the wind, quiet location, good standard of comfort, open fire, nice village of mendocino at walking distance with good supermarket and restaurants: what do you need more? thanks for the beautifull abalone shell that i use as soap holder and which remind me day by day the very special atmosphere of North California and the Pacific Coast. The best place we found to stay during our trip in the States. Greetings from Belgium, Bruges.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccc1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were celebrating a long needed vacation away from work and the hectic hussles of the city and it being our anniversary we thought Mendocino was a great option. It also had special meaning to us as being our final mini vacation before our first child. Our overall visit could have not been better. We stayed in their penthouse, AMAZING views and a large 2 person tub. They have a great location, as it was a short 5 min walk to town. We enjoyed many walks to the park (across the street) and around town. We will make a point to come back for sure. The innkeeper, Mel, was great in setting up out stay. Thanks for the wonderful memories. Until next time, cheers!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWolfhair .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

In a bind, we stumbled onto this wonderful place last minute. Mel was very kind and rented us a very nice ground floor room with view of the Mendocino headlands. The Room was warm ( lots of Fog outside) clean and the perfect location to walk into town through the State Park.
I loved our stay here and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants tranquility and immersion in the beauty of the view. The room is comfy with a couch and eating area. Coffee and snacks. The bathroom is clean and although it is small, it is large enough to provide for your need. ( This is Mendocino, not Vegas!)

I loved this place.

Mark,
Napa, CA

Room Tip: Ground floor, back room has the best view, but no tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 645Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We couldn't have had a more accommodating innkeeper than Mel who really kept us informed and made certain that our stay would be top-notch. Perfect room with jacuzzi, view, sounds of the surf, fireplace, could not have been better.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ScottSiddall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at Mendocino Seaside Cottage for just one night, on October 5th. You cannot beat the setting of this cottage, it's uniquely positioned overlooking the Headlands, and a wonderful vista of the ocean and coast. We stayed in the Vista View room on the first floor, a spacious, well-appointed room with a lovely deck and chairs to enjoy the view and especially the sunset. The grounds are charmingly kept, with quaint brick walkways and stone statues, and although there are others staying on the property, the impression is that you've got the place to yourself. The furnishings aren't the most up-to-date, but everything is extremely clean and comfortable. The innkeeper, Mel, is not on site but is available at any time, so when we needed a fan for our room, one was delivered immediately. Mel is also a wealth of information about the most enjoyable way to drive to Mendocino from San Francisco (101 to 128, NOT Route 1), and also had good tips for walking into town (very easy, not along the busier roadway but through a back way that took all of 7 minutes) and the perfect place to watch the sunset so you feel that you're surrounded by the water on every side. I wish we'd had more time to spend here, it was really lovely and I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The Vista View room on the first floor has a stunning overlook of the coast and headlands. Do be aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eg413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We loved the vista view room. While not "designer luxurious", it had everything we needed, a small fridge, coffee maker, etc., a lovely gas fireplace for a bit of warmth and ambience in the evening, and a panoramic view of the ocean with total privacy. It has a lovely little deck with chairs overlooking the ocean vista. It's a short walk into town for breakfast at the Goodlife Café and a short drive to the Ledford House Restaurant in Albion, where we enjoyed dinner on both evenings of our visit. Yes, we would recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.4 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendocino Seaside Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Seaside Cottage

Property: Mendocino Seaside Cottage
Address: 10940 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small private getaway in the Village of Mendocino. One of the very best locations in the Village, away from the business district & traffic yet only a short stroll to the shops & restaurants. Two minutes from the bluff overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Ocean views, lighthouse views, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs for two, free internet, private decks, & wetbars. An alternative to the Bed & Breakfast choices in the Village. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing