We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a gem!”
Review of Blue Heron Inn

Blue Heron Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Heron Inn
Ranked #24 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2007

This place is a bit unusual.... It's really just a restaurant with three rooms upstairs (two of which share a bathroom!). But it's ideally located, comfortably furnished, and the people are nice as can be. If you stay there, try the restaurant for dinner. They will spoil you silly, and the food is divine. We'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicoleamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2007

We have stayed at the Blue Heron inn twice and have had great experiences both times. We stayed in the room with a private bathroom the first night and we and another couple we brought there stayed in the rooms with the shared bathroom. The rooms are clean and comfortable with views of the water. The location is great, you can walk all around the the town of mendocino and to the water.
Our favorite part is the Moose cafe. We have eaten lunch and dinner there (breakfast is included in the price of the stay) and the food is always FANTASTIC. Sitting out on the patio in the sun at lunchtime is also great, you can see the water from the deck.
I think for the price you pay, you can't beat the Blue Heron Inn while in Mendocino. It's a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank premstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2006

We recently stayed at the Blue Heron Inn above the Moose Cafe in the village of Mendocino; we had stayed there a couple of years ago, and did not realize the ownership has changed. The three rooms above the restaurant are really now an afterthought. We were told the second day when asking about refreshing the room that we were supposed to ask for that service. We did and got towels and bed made, but again the 3rd day ....nothing. They had specials in the past including a meal at the restaurant, but we got blank stares from the unfriendly staff when we asked on phone and once we got there....
Would not recommend any longer.

6  Thank Detobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2005

We stayed at the Blue Heron Inn in december 2005 and it was no problem to get the "Sunset Room" for just one night, even from Friday to Saturday. The Sunset Room is really nice, and you have two windows from which you can see the cliff and the ocean. 115US$ in off-season for a room with a shared bathroom may seem much but I guess that's Mendocino, but I'm sure compared to other B&Bs in that little city, you will stay on the cheaper side in the Blue Heron Inn. The bathroom of the Sunset Room is shared only with one other room, so it wasn't a problem to use the bathroom anytime you wanted. The Lonely Planet says the rooms would be spartan. That's true in the sense that they aren't as over furnished (Victorian Style) as many other B&Bs in Mendo, but as posted before, lovers of the european style will really like it here, and the linen are fantastic. The only thing is that there is a restaurant below the guest rooms and you will here the sounds of people talking and eating till 10pm in the evening. So if you like to go to bed early, that may be a problem. Otherwise I think that the Blue Heron Inn is a great choice and, for Mendocino, surely is a best buy! I would certainly come back!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lars N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Mill Valley, CA
211
Reviewed 27 July 2004

Maybe it was the little red rocking chair in the yellow room that did it, but I felt I could have been in Europe when I walked into the dormer bedroom at the Blue Heron. There were luxurious French linens on the bed and simple furnishings, perfect for the small quarters right in the middle of Mendocino. Under new management who couldn't be more accomodating (as of May, 2004) the inn is blessed to be connected to a restaurant -- The Moosse Cafe -- that's a destination in itself, with fabulous food. This is a warm and friendly hostelry, and a great value.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Belmont, CA
110
Reviewed 16 July 2003

After being told by E-mail that a room was available, I was given the run-around for 48 hours until being told - three days before travel - that rather than have me stay there one night, they're going to refuse the reservation and leave it vacant in hopes that someone will reserve the room for two consecutive nights.

When asked why I can't stay Sunday night, she seemed very unwilling to understand that some people have to *work* on Mondays.

So, at the cost of having to have to cancel my trip to Mendocino for lack of finding other accomodations (other than the highway motel), they'd rather take the risk not letting the room at all for the sake of greed.

Oh, yeah. Then I was asked to 'try them again some time,' half-heartedly. Not likely.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.1 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
1.1 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#18 of 25 in Mendocino
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
634 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn

Address: 390 Kasten Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: £67 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing