We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!”
Review of Garden Bakery

Garden Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Mendocino
Restaurant details
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is a cute place that had a zillion great-looking snacks, and everything else, it seemed. We got pastries and other sweets, and loved them all. the 'counter girl' was very sweet and nice, and even let us try a sample of things we had questions about. A very homey place. Have a look!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch after a tour with the Kelley House”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

When we were in Mendocino at Christmas we did the walking tour with the Kelley House Museum for about 2 hours. When we were done we came out of the Kelley House and looked to the left and there was a "bakery" sign. We followed the trail down to the bakery and had some lunch. I had a turkey turnover, and my husband had a chili relleno turnover. I had a coffee and he had a coke. The girls were very friendly, and we sat outside at a wooden table with bushes, trees and a patio fence which made it very cozy. We enjoyed our lunch and it gave us the fortitude we needed to go out to walk around the Headlands State Park. If our turnovers hadn't filled us up we would have tried something for dessert because their baked goods looked scrumptious. But we were satisfied and went on our way. Great job Garden Bakery!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tamales”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Their tamales were our "little bite to eat" before our big Christmas dinner. Home made, hand made, chicken and vegetarian. There was also an excellent frittata and many, many beautiful pastries. Not to mention the terrific outside garden seating.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jubilodos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, MT
Level Contributor
966 reviews
614 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We were wandering around the village just looking. And behind other things, totally hidden and out f the way was this little gem. I worked at a retirement job at an artisanal bakery at home and love to try them out. We got some sweets and a couple of loaves of bread to munch on at our B&B. Nice little find. What a great town, three artisanal bakeries!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vintagetrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
170 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Great Danish and cookies. The hot chocolate is delicious and made the traditional way...by hand on the stove!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garden Bakery also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Garden Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing