We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
Ranked #11 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Charles the innkeeper was working in the garden when I arrived in Mendocino from a long leg of a beautiful journey down the remote "lost coast" of northern California. A very pleasant young woman greeted me as I approached the front door and checked me in. The room itself was tastefully decorated, bright and cozy. Immediately I felt comfortable and knew I'd selected the right place online for a restful overnight stay.
Charles & Mary were both friendly and very interesting to talk to. They were clearly following their own dreams and made sure the house was well maintained and kept up in such a way as to allow my own dreams to unfold in their relaxed environment.
Homemade breakfast the next morning was delicious and far exceeded my expectations.
To my surprise I got to meet 10 or so other guests at breakfast who were also staying at the house. Folks were traveling from all over the world and I had no idea they were there till the next morning since the place was so quiet overnight. Pretty cool! I would absolutely recommend this place to my friends and I hope to return again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aljayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Glad you enjoyed! This place does have a great vibe and Mendocino is Great.

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed three days at this place, enjoying delicious organic breakfasts, helpful staff and a great location. Our room was tiny, but the price was right. We got a great price for the 3 day stay which made it possible to visit this wonderful location. We walked all around the area, had great weather for early June. We were there on a Friday, but did not get to have the abolone dinner sometimes provided. The owner goes diving himself for the abolone. The historic house is well cared for and the owners are invested in making your stay memorable. The succeeded.

Room Tip: Ask for updated room with fireplace; they are larger.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thanks for staying with us, you guys were great! We try and keep our prices affordable and our place enjoyable. Sorry you missed the Abalone, maybe next time you stay.....

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This accommodation has just turned my absolute favourite hotel. Nice rooms, quiet, gorgeous breakfast, nice people, family atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairness67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

I Luv hearing that!!!

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My wife and I are packing for our 3rd visit to Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn. 1st visit for 5 days at "Alice's Restaurant Thanksgiving-2011". The Inn Keepers Charles and Mary have lived here 15 years and offer the only "Full On" Mendocino experience. Secluded gardens surround the 132 year old, immaculately restored Inn-the only property in town operated continuously as a boarding house/inn. Charles' amazing gourmet breakfasts are a gastronomical treat to start each day. Didjeridoo is such a special place that I am writing my 1st ever online review.

Room Tip: Room selection caters to all tastes. Ocean view rooms, lush garden rooms, quiet meditative rooms, up...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldinjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thanks! That was a great Thanksgiving! It's always nice having you two stay, love you both!

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ didjeridoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We were so excited to stay, we saw the pictures and thought it look nice, i was traveling with my mother-in-law ( who has a very bad back) when we got there we were sent to a room up in the "water tower" the stairs are old and the bed was so old it looked so dirty, we were so disgusted with the whole room. We were told the breakfast was so good, we were so dissapointed with breakfast too!! The cook was very very rude, I will never recommend this place to nobody ever! Please stay away, there is so many other B&B in mendocino!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariselaochoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

I'm so sorry to read this. I explained to you that the room you booked was the only room left or of course we would have changed your room. When we booked the room with you we did describe it and the stairs. I would not suggest people who can't climb stairs to rent a room with stairs. As far as the rest of your review I think it's made up just because we couldn't switch you. Sorry.

Loving-Kindness

Charles
at Didjeridoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Not really sure how I felt about the Inn. Room 66 had interesting Arts and Crafts style furniture, but too much of it. The room was light and airy with 2 large windows and a sea view.The tv remote did not work with the tv in that room and the shower/ toilet room was the smallest I,ve ever been in. The intermittent water pipe noise, was very disturbing at night. Unfortunately no one I could speak to before we left.. A room to avoid. Until it is fixed. Breakfast, which was not served until 9.15, was okay but not spectacular. The guests were all in a rush to get on with their day,so it was rather chaotic.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank xiabuxiabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Hi!
Eclectic is Who We Are! Sorry if you didn't like some of 66, lot's of people love that room. The art is done by Byron Randall who was the artist of the year or something in 1938, his wife was Emy Lou Packard (Diego Rivera's assistant at the 1940 Worlds Fair in S.F. and an incredible artist). They owned the house from 1960 till 1972 and it was filled with Bohemians, Hippies and artist. Lots of art and energy of artist in this house. We have tried to hear the pipe noise you wrote about but it's gone, maybe it was a fluke?? And yes the bathroom is kinda small but we have bigger ones in our bigger rooms with tubs and stuff. I don't know what i made the day you were here but if you just like dinner for breakfast type breakfast you wont get that here. I cook what I call Decadent Wholesome.....

Loving-Kindness to you
and sorry bout that darn TV remote, it needed Batteries!

Charles
@ Didjeridoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had a great time staying at this wonderful inn. The abalone dinner on Sunday was fantastic as well as the 2 great breakfasts. Have never had bacon like that before. Yummy! Charles and Mary, the owners, were so friendly and nice and our room (#65) was great. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again next time we are going that way.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marge884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Awwwwww!!! Thank you!

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.2 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#18 of 25 in Mendocino
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Mendocino
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn

Address: 44860 Main Street, Mendocino, CA 95460 (Formerly Mendocino Village Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: £83 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Food, Art, Music and Vibes await you at Didjeridoo. Set just across the road from the ocean bluffs and the oldest Presbyterian church in California our spot in the village is cool. Walk to great eateries and all the local shops or relax and meditate in our beautiful gardens and historic lobby. See local art displayed in our relaxed lobby, break bread with us at our open pot-lucks & drink wine with us :) If you play bring your instruments, music happens here. Didjeridoo is perfect for weddings, reunions, small private parties and any other happenings that need to be in a place of love and beauty. Our rooms are great too! They range from quaint to fancy, some Victorian some simple and zen, all beautiful. We are Mendo people and want your visit to our village to be special and cherished. Peace Please note Didjeridoo is not a place that uptight conservative people will enjoy, in fact they will write bad reviews and hate it like they hate many things in life. Didjeridoo is most enjoyed by cool people looking for a nice stay in a beautiful place in an extremely friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn And Meditation Center
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn & Meditation Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing