We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
Ranked #13 of 24 Mendocino B&B and Inns
1 review
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

What a neat place! My boyfriend and I stayed there got a getaway and loved it! The room was great, Marisa was awesome, and it was so comfortable! It was relaxing, mellow and had a great vibe. Within walking distance to the beach which was amazing. Also quick walk to town. Breakfast was good, but the overall feeling of the place was the best. Will gladly go back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivee1269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Hi!

We are so glad you enjoyed the Didj-Inn. Marisa is great and I really want to thank Marisa and Paula for running the place while I was on a vacation in Utah. Great Job Girls!!!!

Loving-Kindness
Relaxed
Charles
@ Didjeridoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    60
    22
    24
    32
See reviews for
41
168
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. Friendly welcome. Tea and coffee available in communal area which was a good start. Disappointment began when we found our room. Felt insulted by the grubbiness of it ... Used to staying in cheaper places but have never yet experienced anything quite like it so yes it was unique but just not how I had imagined. Very laid back ambiance. Breakfast due to be served at 9.00 . It arrived at 9.20. Generally people loved the breakfast. However it did not really do much for mine and my partners palette. This is not a criticism but if you prefer something more continental and not bacon caked in brown sugar etc , it is hard to stomach and I ended up buying breakfast in town. The longer we stayed the more we appreciated it takes a certain type of person to appreciate staying here. Sadly it was not us. Still our visit will give us plenty to talk about when we get home.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geishagirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Google Translation
Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camano Island, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

The carpeting looked like a hundred dogs had slept there the night before. The door moldings on the inside of the room door and the bathroom door probably hadn't been cleaned in ten years. Also, breakfast is provided on a large round table. You serve yourself and hopefully find a place to sit down while holding your plate in your lap and putting your coffee cup on the floor. The breakfast was mediocre at best. I chose not to have the breakfast the second and last morning of my two night stay.

I've been to Mendocino some 20-25 times over the past 45 years and like to try different places to stay. The vast majority of the B&Bs were very good to excellent. A few were just "Good". This one is "Horrific" !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjmbp1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Oh My Gosh, You really had to eat with plates on your lap... Whatever will you tell your friends at the polo club?

Our rooms are clean and our breakfast is great! I do want to say that every review I've gotten on Trip Advisor I have answered back and I have remembered every guest I've answered, the good and the bad.... Who the heck were you?

One more thing, If you would had read our reviews and our website you would have knowen to expect a communal style breakfast in a mellow laid back place that trys to be a people and pet friendly environment. You would have also seen that I am very open about not being a fancy white glove inn and you would have picked another place (for much more money). Being that you did not you should not have given me an untrue bad review.

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastopol, ca
Level Contributor
400 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

We really loved this place. Let's start with breakfast, which was outstanding and plentiful. Plenty of protein and each item had a little special twist which the cook (owner?) seemed quite proud of.

They are super pet-friendly. First of all, they are just easy going about pets. This is a wonderful thing-- and makes for a great vacation with the doggie. No extra charge tacked on. No special do's and don'ts about the garden and such. Just an expectation of happy, responsible pet ownership.

Our room was #62, which was really big. Plenty of room for a king bed, couch, fireplace and huge tub all in the living area. It has its own side entrance, which made us feel like we were staying in a private cottage. Bed was really comfy. Tub and jets were amazing... with plenty of water for 2 super-hot baths in a row. If you think you may be cold, this is the room for you.... the fireplace is gas and really heats up the room. After enjoying the fire for the evening, we had to open the windows while we slept because the room was had become warm!

Yes, the owner is quirky, in a very very Mendocino way. Enjoy it and don't worry about the details like bringing your own glasses to the room or whether every item of furniture is brand new. You're in Mendocino-- and right in the heart of it. Walk 5 minutes to the ocean cliff and breathe deeply. 2 nights here felt like a week-- and we loved this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
We love dogs and I really think people have a more relaxed vacation when there not worying or feeling guilty about leaving the best friend at home. Thanks for enjoying your stay here and come back soon!

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Peaceful place to get away from the city life- the decor is vintage - and rustic- the place has character and a chill vibe. We loved the private aspect- no one bothered us- which was cool- meditation and reflection time. The bathroom was very clean and the room was cute and had a nice view. I like that art is a part if the place- I was able to kick back and paint- and my husband played his guitar- never felt stressed- the garden in front is nice and I felt safe sitting outside. Charles is a sweetheart- he's not about tension- so if you're uptight check into your room and release your cares - toss them into the sea- which is conveniently located within walking distance - relax and recharge - your friends and family will thank you-:)peace.....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianariowena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Hi!

You really have great energy. Thank you for being my guest :)

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

The Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn is located on Main Street in Mendocino. Close to businesses, restaurants, and hiking trails. We had a great room (#60) just inside the front door. The front window had a table where we had wine and dinner the first night. We had a fireplace and Charles has a supply of wood and kindling to get you started. Breakfast is cooked by Charles, who serves up a wonderful meal each morning. The Inn is dog friendly so if Fido needs a little R&R, take him along!

Room Tip: Room 60 has a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Yay! Another Good one!!!!!

Thank's!!

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Didjeridoo? Dijeridon't!

I was given two nights stay here from a living social deal by a friend and brought my sister who owns a B&B in France. I appreciated the gift, but this place is not for the faint of heart. The other reviews have it nailed. the Innkeeper is quite rude and the place is "funky" (read not clean) we actually did not have any soap in our bathroom at all save a little bottle of herbal essence shampoo.

Our room #68 was quite small and the windows had mildew all around the inside. The bedspread smelled like mildew or dog, musty or something to the point my sis couldn't stand to have it pulled up, so we more or less froze all night. The mattress had a large dip in the middle, difficult to deal with when you are sleeping with someone you are not cuddling with!

In the morning, after not so good a night's sleep we went to get some coffee, which was more like warm water. I had to actually go to the local coffee shop to get a brew that was more suited to my palate.ALL THIS ASIDE, I was ok until I needed a toilet plunger. Seems to me in an old house, that should be standard in each room. (well soap should be too, but what do I know) I saw the Inn keeper out in the front of the house with his two dogs. I told him I was in need of a plunger. He said "have you asked Marissa?" Mind you, I had never heard of Marissa, no one had mentioned a Marissa. I said, "um, no, who is Marrissa?" He said "she's in the kitchen." Hmm. I though, you mean behind the door that says EMPLOYEES ONLY???? I said, "so I should parade through the dining room where all the guest are waiting for breakfast with a toilet plunger?" He said, in a rather unpleasant tone, "I'm not working, I'm walking my dogs, go ask Marrissa". Marrissa, who is cooking breakfast for the 12-15 guests. Sigh. I told her my plight. She apologized for the host's behavior, and said someone would bring one up. He did bring one up, and was nice about it, however it was a decorative one,like from Bed, Bath and Beyond, not an actual plumber's one that worked, so he had to go snake it, and ended up carrying a snake through the dining room in a bag during breakfast. lovely. quite embarrassing all the way around for me.

We then came to breakfast. Everyone else here is raving about the food. Frankly, we couldn't eat it. I had called ahead and told him that my sister was gluten free, and asked for oatmeal. He said he would make her some. None was to be found. Since we had been told "NO!" to every single question that we had asked before, we didn't bother asking for the oatmeal. (Can we get breakfast early the morning we are leaving? no. IS there a tub I can use? no. etc.)
Breakfast was Hazelnut pancakes with butterscotch chips. shudder. way too sweet for me. I have diabetes! Then the bacon was coated in brown sugar and pecans and baked in the oven! WHY? I had to spit it out! Why so sweet? The yogurt and blueberries looked like a good option, however is was a super sweet vanilla flavor..The eggs and mushrooms were ok, but highly spiced with red peppers.

We chose to forfeit our second night's stay and head home. I noticed on other reviews that the Innkeeper responded to many reviews with "you only paid $60 bucks for the room". Not a very good attitude. If you are not interested in providing an excellent experience for your guests, no matter what they pay, then don't put your rooms on Living Social! Don't think you can treat people poorly because they paid less than full price.

And by the way, the typos on your informational card in the room are embarrassing for you. NAMESTE is not a word. Neither is Tabbacco.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank e4lizerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
URG! Not another one of these - I love TripAdvisor but it really sucks when Rude, Uptight people use it in a vindictive way-

#1 our amenities; We have switched to travel size bottles of Herbal Essence Shampoo. Other Inns and hotels do not use these because they cost about $1.00 per bottle. The ones they use at Fancy branded places cost about .25 cents each and are cheap! Our soap is a great Honey-Oat soap we buy in Blocks and cut it into bars here. It's not cheap. You did have a bar in your bathroom, I snaked it out of your toilet. (they are kept decoratively in the washcloth along with the shampoo, I think you didn't notice and it fell in you toilet).

#2 Cleanliness; Our place is very clean!

#3 Breakfast; People love it!

#4 The Plunger; I was walking my dogs with no leash next to a busy street. I was in NO WAY rude to you but explained that Marissa was in the kitchen and could give you one. I let my dogs do there bizz and went in to check on the situation, Marissa told me you refused a plunger because you were to embarrassed to walk it to your room. I brought it up. At breakfast I asked if it worked out ok and you told me no and I said I would go snake it. I did. Whats Your Complaint????

#5 Nameste; Namaste is a word I just don't think it's in your vocabulary.

Finally if you read my last bad reviews, What part of "Uptight, pretentious people please stay somewhere else" don't you understand?

Loving-Kindness

Charlles
@ Didjeridoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.2 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 24 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#15 of 24 in Mendocino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn

Property: Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
Address: 44860 Main Street, Mendocino, CA 95460 (Formerly Mendocino Village Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Food, Art, Music and Vibes await you at Didjeridoo. Set just across the road from the ocean bluffs and the oldest Presbyterian church in California our spot in the village is cool. Walk to great eateries and all the local shops or relax and meditate in our beautiful gardens and historic lobby. See local art displayed in our relaxed lobby, break bread with us at our open pot-lucks & drink wine with us :) If you play bring your instruments, music happens here. Didjeridoo is perfect for weddings, reunions, small private parties and any other happenings that need to be in a place of love and beauty. Our rooms are great too! They range from quaint to fancy, some Victorian some simple and zen, all beautiful. We are Mendo people and want your visit to our village to be special and cherished. Peace Please note Didjeridoo is not a place that uptight conservative people will enjoy, in fact they will write bad reviews and hate it like they hate many things in life. Didjeridoo is most enjoyed by cool people looking for a nice stay in a beautiful place in an extremely friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn And Meditation Center
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn & Meditation Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing