We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B in Mendocino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
Ranked #11 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Ukiah, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B in Mendocino”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed here with and elderly couple that we were hosting for two nights in September '13, so we needed two rooms. This place has a lot of charm and local history. We were able to change rooms when we arrived, and felt very welcomed by the staff, who were extremely friendly and accommodating. Charles made a fantastic breakfast, and was able to accommodate our various dietary restrictions and food allergies (vegan and gluten-free). This B&B is the perfect place to use as a base in Mendocino. You can walk to all the restaurants, stores, galleries and hiking trails from Didjeridoo. The vibe is laid back and mellow, which is exactly what we were looking for. They feature local artists in their lobby/dining area, which is another plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimG45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Awwwww. Love your review.

Thanks for staying and you Kind words

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    61
    25
    24
    33
See reviews for
41
185
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I recently stayed at the Didjeridoo with my husband and two small children. I was welcomed by Charles the owner, who was very friendly, and funny. We stayed in a charming beautiful room, with wonderful antiques and very clean. We loved the warmness off the staff. You can feel the history of the place. The inn is located right across from the beach which is nice. The breakfast was delicious, and fresh! My children loved running around the gardens in front of the inn. We wandered around Mendocino, which is within walking distance, and such a charming town. We loved our stay and will be coming back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesrayRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi!

Thanks for staying again..... You guys have the 2 cutest kids :)

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We bought a two night stay thru Travelzoo.com. When we arrived, as I was walking up the walkway, I noticed the yard was unkept. As I entered, I was greeted by a friendly staff person (the entire staff was very friendly and this was a plus). She took us to our room which was probably the smallest room I have ever stayed in at a hotel or B & B. The room had so much furniture in it and absolutely no place to sit. It was not the cleanest room I had ever been in but I thought I would make the best of it. We upgraded the next night to a room that was in the front of the Inn that was much larger and also had a jetted tub.

I never had breakfast as every time I went to the area for breakfast there was no room to sit.

The Inn is just ok but a little on the shabby side. A little cleaning, some landscaping and maybe some furniture upgrades would make this a little more presentable. I must say that first impressions are important and with these few tweaks this could be an ok place.

Room Tip: The front two rooms are large and probably the best in the inn. The upstairs rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BrodieElkGrove_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
First of all let me say I wish there was a site called "guestreview.com". If there was I would give you a lousy review. You don't no how to act like a guest..... You pick a small room to save money then complain about how small the room is??? By the way, you saved $30.00!!! You don't know how to eat with a group of people so you skip the meals??? By the way the Breakfast are the thing people really go away remembering from here, and not just the food but the experence of eating with people enjoying themselves from all over the world. Our yard is not unkept it just mostly dead from no water but it is maintained and gone thru. OUR ROOMS ARE AS CLEAN AS ANY I HAVE EVER STAYED IN. I truly get so upset by the bad reviews that UPTIGHT people leave that at times I think is it worth doing this? But about 95% of the folks who come here love it, I suggest to anyone whos read your stupid baseless review to read some of the good ones.

And yep,

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo

Ps. Loving-Kindness dosent mean I feel it's ok that you are a bad guest giving a baseless bad review it just means I love you as a human anyways, But please don't come back (you ruined my night).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingletown, California, Usa
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had stayed here once before a while back, but I did not do a review as we missed out on Charles' renowned breakfast, and therefore I didn't feel it was fair to the establishment to do a review without it. We are certainly glad we came back - the breakfast is really excellent. We really enjoyed the pecan and brown sugar bacon and the orange bread French toast, as well as the caramel infused waffles the following morning. I especially loved the yogurt. I forgot to ask Charles what he puts in it. The scrambled eggs are also very good - he adds ingredients to the eggs that bump them up to something much better than the typical. There was plenty of food, served buffet style. Charles himself is a very gregarious host and gave us tips on the best beach and whale watching areas.

Both times we stayed in upper floor rooms. They were very clean, nicely decorated, and quiet; one was on the small side so you better be traveling lightly. Room 66 was our favorite. There is adequate heating, although both rooms had additional heat - a gas fireplace in one (I think it was gas) and a wood burning fireplace in the other, which we used. There were TVs - the older type. There were also small refrigerators in both rooms. The bedding and beds were very comfortable, and there was plenty of hot water. The rooms are small upstairs so if you have a lot of baggage or you just need more space, you might prefer the lower floor front rooms, which I got a peek at as we were checking out, and they are quite large and beautifully decorated.

This is an old house, which gives it a tremendous amount of charm and history, but of course there will some minor issues, such as slightly misaligned floors or doors, etc. I have no problem with this kind of thing, and expect it. I love old houses.

The breakfast area serves two purposes - lounge/living area and dining area. And as such, it makes it slightly difficult to accommodate dining seating when there is a full house. They really need an extra room. Unfortunately, I don't see any realistic way to achieve that. There are small tables and trays you can set your drinks on, etc., but basically you are eating your breakfast in your lap. We didn't mind, but I could see how people might. In any case, the quality of the food supersedes any seating arrangements.

The inn is very conveniently located on Main Street in the Mendocino village, with lots of shops and restaurants close by and easily walked to. There is a trail down to the Big River beach directly across from the inn.

It was a very enjoyable stay, and we look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are quieter - Room 66 is especially nice and has a pretty view. The lower floor fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkateSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Hi!

You guys were GREAT Guest!!! Thanks for staying again and really thanks for the great words about breakfast. See you folks next time (for Abalone potluck)

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Sheets had holes. room not real clean and woke up to the strong smell of pot. If you want a dog friendly and marijuana friendly place... this is it. If not, go elsewhere.

Coffee was there around 9 am and room is not cleaned on 2nd day unless requested, so even the sheets were not pulled up and waste baskets were not emptied.

Room Tip: The most expensive rooms were in the downstairs front and were the noisiness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank llamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at Didjeridoo late December and really enjoyed ourselves a lot.
Charles really put his foot into the breakfasts (this is actually the highest compliment that can be paid where I come from). They were just absolutely delicious. We also had the famous brown sugar/pecan/pepper flaked bacon that was to die for. Also the orange bread french toast was fabulous. You can tell that Charles really puts his heart into the kitchen. Our room was very nice with a wood burning stove and the largest bathroom that we have ever stayed in a B&B. Can't wait to go back and stay again. Thanks Charles and Nancy for the sublime hospitality.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 65 which has an outside entrance and is literally just around the corner from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
:)

BREAKFAST!!!!!!

Come stay again.

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We got a good deal at $90 per night for a two-night anniversary trip to Mendocino. That's a great price (from Travelzoo.com, the regular rate is $105), so everything that follows must be measured against it. This B&B is in a old Victorian on the main street of Mendocino, within walking distance to everything (but most of the lodging in Mendocino is). We got Room 62, which is actually to the side of the main house with its own entrance and the only one with a king bed. The fireplace is gas and heats the room really fast. The old tube TV is in an armoire, watchable from the bed or from the sofa placed at the foot of the bed. There is a jets tub in the room with a double sink, and the shower stall and toilet are in a separate room. There is a small refrigerator and microwave. The mattress has seen better days. It has two depressions and a hump in the middle. But it was serviceable. Some odd things: The sofa has no coffee table or end tables so if you are sitting on it there is no place to put your wine glass or coffee cup. Also, the back wall of the armoire was mirrored so you were watching yourself watching TV, which was weird. We shoved a blanket into the space to block the mirror. There was one small round soap to share at two sinks and the shower. There is one small shampoo tube, no conditioner, no lotion or other common amenities. The breakfast, staggered among the guests (we were told to come at 9:10 a.m.) was ice cold and there was no table to sit at. You had to hold your breakfast in your lap on dining chairs around the room.

Room Tip: Room 62 has the only king bed. All others are queens. The queen bed rooms in the house itself looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chat89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hi!

Seems like you were on the fence about the Didj. A couple things, our price sign out front does say rooms from $105., thats for 1 person walk in Sunday thru Thursday, in one of our cheaper rooms - No tub or Fireplace. Your room, 62, has a jetted tub, gas fireplace, its large and very nice. You mentioned no side tables next to the sleeper sofa..... Where would they fit? Next, Breakfast. We don't stager the breakfast and I don't know where you got the idea we do? It's served Fresh and Hot at 9:10, we tell people 9 but the food actually is on the table at 9:10 every morning and always hot. If we run low we cook more until the guest have all been satisfied and most are. Infact if you read our reviews and then read the reviews from ANY other inn in our county you will find by far our breakfast is the most aclaimed. OUR BREAKFAST ROCKS!

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.2 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#15 of 25 in Mendocino
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Mendocino
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn

Property: Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
Address: 44860 Main Street, Mendocino, CA 95460 (Formerly Mendocino Village Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Food, Art, Music and Vibes await you at Didjeridoo. Set just across the road from the ocean bluffs and the oldest Presbyterian church in California our spot in the village is cool. Walk to great eateries and all the local shops or relax and meditate in our beautiful gardens and historic lobby. See local art displayed in our relaxed lobby, break bread with us at our open pot-lucks & drink wine with us :) If you play bring your instruments, music happens here. Didjeridoo is perfect for weddings, reunions, small private parties and any other happenings that need to be in a place of love and beauty. Our rooms are great too! They range from quaint to fancy, some Victorian some simple and zen, all beautiful. We are Mendo people and want your visit to our village to be special and cherished. Peace Please note Didjeridoo is not a place that uptight conservative people will enjoy, in fact they will write bad reviews and hate it like they hate many things in life. Didjeridoo is most enjoyed by cool people looking for a nice stay in a beautiful place in an extremely friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn And Meditation Center
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn & Meditation Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing