We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem”
Review of Blue Door Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Door Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A True Gem”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

It's difficult to fully explain the uniqueness of this place. It combines elegance, class, warmth, comfort and beauty in one place. Nan (the inn's manager) should write a book on hospitality. I have been fortunate to travel to many beautiful properties throughout the world, and this place is right up there (if not above) the rest of them. If you want a special trip, visit Mendecino County and stay at the Blue Door Inn. I know I will do so again. Nan, thanks for a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidckramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    22
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
122
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fulton, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I just returned from a two-night stay at the Blue Door Inn in Mendocino, CA. What a wonderful experience. The town itself is a delight! Quiet and casual, with, spectacular scenery right on the Mendocino Headlands. And the Blue Door Inn was just perfect. Nan, the innkeeper is a wealth of knowledge on all things Mendocino. She especially suggested a number of wineries to visit in the nearby Anderson Valley. We stopped at two, and they were outstanding!

Breakfast is served each morning around a large dining room table where guests can get to know one another and talk about whatever interests them. We met some very nice people, including a couple from the Liverpool, UK region, and they ware the nicest folks you'd want to know. The breakfasts themselves were ideal--frittatas or banana stuffed french toast were served on the mornings we were there. There is also a fruit dish, as well as great coffee, tea and orange juice.

Our room on the first floor was immaculate. Very comfortable bed, large HDTV and a beautifully appointed bathroom with stall shower. We were so impressed, we are already thinking of coming back and staying here again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you might have trouble with stairs, request a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccsuwxman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I love staying at B&Bs. This inn is unique in that it clearly has been updated and has a more sophisticated contemporary decor which appealed to me a lot as part of my selection process. Again Tripadvisor ratings are accurate.

We arrived late and an envelope was left for us with instructions and keys for our room. Very accommodating. The breakfast was delicious. It is served at a large dining table with the other guests with 2 seating options. It is always so neat to meet the other guests and learn where they are from in such a relaxed environment. The host, Nan, is sweet and very helpful. The inn in located right in the middle of town so it's an easy walk to shopping and dining. Plenty of street parking. We had the bottom front room (Balmoral), which I thought could have had some unwanted street noise or noise from guests in the parlor/entry, but this was not a problem at all. I think this is primarily due to guests drawn to these establishments are mature and respectful- none the less, the room was delightful and comfy and clean. There is WiFi access, which is an added perk.

I highly recommend staying at this property and experiencing it's wonderful service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kearz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, WA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We only spent one night at the Blue Door Inn, but we really enjoyed our stay. We had a very nice room on the main floor and the room was decorated very tastefully with plush bedding, a very comfortable bed and good pillows. The owners/staff were very pleasant and helpful, but still gave us plenty of privacy. The breakfast was also fabulous! There isn't really any kind of view from anywhere in the house that we saw, but it's located very close to the Main Street through town so it's a short walk to anywhere in town you may want to go. We weren't really thrilled with Mendocino itself, but the Blue Door Inn was a very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

All the things stated in the previous reviews. First off, the innkeeper, Nan, is great...warm and welcoming from the minute we arrived. Her hosting was comfortable, like an old friend. She gave us great tips on local hikes, great restaurants and a great sunset spot. The room was spacious and impeccably clean. Street noise is minimal. Breakfasts were gourmet and hearty. Late afternoon snacks and wine were a really nice pre-dinner compliment to the stay. You can tell she loves what she does. A perfect stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runskeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Blue Door Inn is the best place to stay in Mendocino. We live in San Francisco and go to Mendocino at least twice a year, so we have a good basis for comparison.

The property itself is lovely and is perfectly decorated - modern but warm and comfortable. The living room is comfortable and inviting, and there is a deck with outdoor furniture so that you can enjoy the beautiful garden. There is wine and appetizers offered every evening, and it was a nice way to mingle with the other guests.

We stayed in the Kensington and have not a single complaint. From the 2 windows in the bedroom and the 1 window in the bathroom you get a beautiful ocean view, which I loved. The room and bathroom were immaculate, and the bed felt like a cloud. It gets great sunlight but has heavy curtains if you need to block it out to sleep in. There are hardwood floors, a tv with dvd player, a gas fireplace, and free wifi. Everything was absolutely perfect!

I don't think you should expect perfect silence when staying at a bed and breakfast, but The Blue Door Inn came pretty close. We stayed upstairs and did not hear any disruptive noise.

Breakfast was delicious and was served at 9 and 9:30 - not too early but not too late, and coffee and tea are available as early as 7:30. There are a ton of thoughtful details, such as small vases of flowers along the dining room table, that make staying at The Blue Door Inn a great experience.

Last but not least, Nan was great! She is warm, welcoming, helpful, cooks a delicious breakfast, and knows pretty much everything about Mendocino and the surrounding areas.

We will definitely be returning to The Blue Door Inn for our next stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahart415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the Inn for two nights and loved it. The charm of this Inn matches the charm of Mendocino. Quiet, calm, relaxing....

Nan was wonderful and breakfast each day was wonderful and tasty and filling. And was served at a decent time (9 or 9:30) which is perfect for vacation & sleeping in a bit!

We were able to sleep with no problem - you could not hear anything in the house. The interior is decorated beautifully with Restoration Hardware style and furnishings - beautiful! We enjoyed our fireplace while sipping wine and enjoying snacks.

The only thing I would change is make a booking earlier so we could be in the upstairs room with a water view. We were in the other suite that overlooked the street with just a tiny bit of water view.

From walking around the town - this looked to be the best place - very happy we made this choice!!!

Room Tip: The Buckingham room is wonderful, but does not have a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingirlfrompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
620 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#5 of 25 in Mendocino
474 reviews
0.0 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Door Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Door Inn

Property: Blue Door Inn
Address: 10481 Howard Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mendocino's luxury inn group comprised of three distinctive inns within a block of each other! Luxurious, comfortable contemporary design. All rooms appointed with all new flat screen TV/DVD, Frette bathroom linens, luxury bed linens on Simmons Beautyrest mattresses. New jetted tubs some rooms with double showers. Curated small plates breakfast and a rotating wine hour in the evening lets you see all three of our inn buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Door Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing