We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informal, but very good food”
Review of A Cultured Affair

A Cultured Affair
Ranked #17 of 22 Restaurants in Mendocino
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Informal, but very good food”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We came well after lunch time and almost had the small place to ourselves. It is reached either from Main Street via a winding and climbing route or from a back street to the north that it borders.

The palce is small and unpretentious. A slightly eclectic/hippie vibe made it fun.

The food was better than one might have expected from the atmosphere. My wife had pasta and split pea soup and loved both, though expensive. My special tuna sandwich was good, too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GPnorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
285 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very casual”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The place oozes 60's hippy/save the planet but we were amazed when we were served soup, and not a generous serving, was in a paper bowl and the cutlery was plastic. Food was nice but there should have been a bit more generous in its serving.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mini_d51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Un-cultured and Too expensive.”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I know that in many restaurants, you can't escape from the establishment without paying $10 for lunch. This one takes the cake though. The sandwich - turkey, jack cheese, lettuce, tomato and mayo on wheat bread - was just a few cents shy of that threshold. There were no chips or fountain beverage to add value, however illusory, to my lunch.

The sign on the door said "dog friendly to friendly dogs", but when I confirmed that with the owner, he stopped to think aloud about when the health department was due to stop by. There was no place to safely tether my dog outside while I went in to order, or when I had to go back inside to get my sandwich (no delivery to my table), or when I had to take my tray back inside (you have to bus your own tables, too).

If I hadn't been desperate for food, I wouldn't have eaten here, and I definitely won't go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AVC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cafe casual, order at the counter, great food”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Tomato bisque soup was delicious. It is rare to find a gluten-free bread option, but they offer a good sandwich selection. Not much for a vegan other than salad bar (which was short on supplies). I didn't like paper bowl for the soup and plastic spoon. They have water shortage in the area so only order what you will drink. They have a pitcher for the plants for the left over. Small patio seating outdoors.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go Above and Beyond”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Hard to find but go there every time we are in Mendo: they let us bring our dog to eat on their porch, they gave us dog treats-free with a bowl of water. I had gluten free needs-they had gf bread. Love this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dollie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Cultured Affair also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to A Cultured Affair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing