We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent Mendocino Visitors”
Review of Brewery Gulch Inn

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brewery Gulch Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vacaville, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Frequent Mendocino Visitors”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We visit Mendocino/Gualala frequently. Since this trip was special (35th anniversary), we chose Brewery Gulch for it's beautiful architecture and history. We were treated with professionalism and courtesy from the time of booking to the follow-up note after we arrived back home. The building was lovely with simple, clean lines and furnishings. Our room, The Raven, was large with a balcony overlooking the cove and ocean. The fireplace was very nice too. The breakfast and dinner were more than ample and as wonderful as any other restaurant you could choose. Brewery Gulch will be our Mendocino Home from now on because we were completely spoiled during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    82
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
85
836
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We reached the inn under the rain.
The wooden building was already dark as the night was falling
A large fireplace welcome us.
The interior is elegant with high ceilings and beautiful artwork.
A huge collection of DVD is available and you can take 2 to your room at any time.
The room is comfy with a gas fireplace.
Wifi is available anywhere in the building
Cold and hot water, cookies and coffee is available anytime.
At 5:30pm a light dinner is served with a sample of local wines
Light and tasty:
Beef flank with baby potatoes
Cold Brussels sprout and mushroms in truffle oil seasoning
Quiet night and delicious breakfast
Completely recommended

Th

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Our stay at the Brewery Gulch Inn was absolutely everything we could have hoped for and then some. We stayed in the lovely Pine Room, and were not at all disappointed that it was on the first floor. The views were just spectacular, there is no bad seat in the house. We enjoyed the morning sit down breakfast, and the dinner wine hour with light buffet. There were fresh baked pastries after dinner and out all night, with coffee and teas to enjoy at any hour of day. Our trip was spectacular, and each night we couldn't wait to return to Inn to wind down and relax. There is no question, the Inn is an excellent choice; one you'll be talking about long after you're gone.

Room Tip: The Pine room is equipped with a very large jet tub for soaking. It is fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a wonderful stay! The staff, chef and service were superb. Great place to go get away and relax and enjoy the Mendecino coast & redwoods. The breakfast to order and light dinner were delicious. The scones & desserts were outstanding. Great beers and wines offered and included with the light dinner. The rooms were beautiful and clean. We can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Pelican Room - beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had a great experience at this wonderful B&B. The rooms were nicely appointed and comfortable. The food was very good - both breakfast and dinner. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. True, there is a bit of road noise from Hwy 1 and the walls between the rooms are a bit thin, but everything quiets down by bed time. We would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pismo Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Lovely room with gorgeous view. The staff are very helpful and go out of their way to accommodate and make your stay pleasant. Wonderful cooked to order breakfast, and when we were there, scones, coffee, tea, hot chocolate throughout the day with a great light supper, wine or beer and super dessert in the evenings. Good base for drives along 1; exploring the stores in Mendocino; outdoor activities; or if so inclined, the Inn has a large movie collection (featuring a lot of films filmed in Mendocino) books, or games.

Room Tip: The "Smuggler" has a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This cozy inn has very nice accommodations and offers excellent, friendly service. The chef is top notch; the breakfast and light dinner with wine and beer (all inclusive) were excellent. Although very close to town (Medocino) and right off of HYW 1, it is a lilltle difficult to find because of its secluded location. Most rooms have an ocean view.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.9 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#5 of 25 in Mendocino
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
618 reviews
1.5 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
699 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Brewery Gulch Inn

Property: Brewery Gulch Inn
Address: 9401 N Highway 1, Mendocino, CA 95460-9529
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brewery Gulch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel + Leisure and Conde Nast magazines as one of the top 100 hotels in the world, our Arts & Crafts-style inn is perched on a bluff top on the east side of Highway 1 and commands sweeping views of Smuggler's Cove and the Pacific Ocean. Built of eco-salvaged redwood pulled from the nearby Big River in 2001 and updated continuously since, Brewery Gulch features 10 ocean-view rooms with decks, gas fireplaces, DVD-equipped flat-panel televisions, recharging stations and Bluetooth speakers. Included with each guest's stay are both a cooked-to-order breakfast AND a delicious light dinner buffet featuring area wines and local craft beers, all prepared by the Inn's acclaimed in-house chef. Come see why TripAdvisor ranked the Brewery Gulch Inn as one of the "Top 10 Bed and Breakfasts and Inns To-Die-For" worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brewery Gulch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewery Gulch Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing