We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again, amazing”
Review of Brewery Gulch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brewery Gulch Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Again, amazing”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I went back here after two years and once again marvelled at the experience. Showed up to a bottle of champagne in our room with a nice card from the owner referencing our last visit there. This is part of why this place is so successful…the staff genuinely seem to care that your experience is exemplary. I noticed little things this visit..the perfectly chosen mellow acoustic Neil Young playing in the main lodge area, the dimmers on the lights in the bathroom, the iPad used to search for your favourite movie should you want to watch one. Mendocino is a cool town but this place is particularly special. The food was again terrific and we didn't feel the need to go into town after for any dinner..as others have mentioned the bacon is out of this world and the breakfasts in general are some of the best I've ever eaten.

Room Tip: The corner room, Manzanita, is really great. The tub is the size of my kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    84
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
87
849
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

just go here! You will be over the moon with happiness.

I have never felt more comfortable! Guy really creates the home away from home. We honeymooned in the raven room and had breakfast in bed two out of three mornings. The tub is amazing! So is the view.

The food here is awesome and totally organic. The wine and beer hour with light dinner buffet is generous, and the perfect touch after a day outdoors.

Guy goes out of his way to make sure your trip, not just your stay, is enjoyable. He checked on the tides for our canoe trip, the hours for our brewery and wine day, and he even helped us booked in room massages!

You can really tell that the staff and Guy really love what they do. Best place we ever stayed.

Room Tip: corner king rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here two nights for the beginning part of our honeymoon. The woman who greeted us was extremely friendly, and all the staff is friendly and professional. Upon check-in you are shown around and explained everything they offer/what is available to you. Then, you're taken to your room. Because it was our honeymoon, we were "greeted" in the room by an ice bucket with champagne, and a nicely written card from the owners of Brewery Gulch. This was a nice personal touch. We stayed in the Raven Room, which had a fireplace, a huge soaking tub, as well as views of Smuggler's Cove and the back meadow. Our private balcony was in the front, which is what overlooked Smuggler's Cove. Everything in the room was pristine. Breakfast is included. It is a sit down, full-service meal served from 8-10, and the food is delicious. Additionally, a light dinner buffet with wine tasting is provided each evening from 5-6. This food was rather tasty too! My husband and I even went up for seconds. I'd love to go back and stay for a longer period of time in our future. Maybe to celebrate an anniversary?! I should probably add here that it takes A LOT for me to give any place 5 stars. I rarely will rate a place perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JoLaGuay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

WOW ! Where do we begin ? What a wonderful place to stay. From day 1 when I booked the reservations I was so impressed with all the personalized e-mails preparing us for our trip.
All the BGI employees were wonderful & all the attention & detail that everyone provided was remarkable. BGI definitely knows how to make you feel welcome & like family. I would highly recommend staying here if you're planning a trip to Mendocino. Thanks again Guy & all the BGI staff for a wonderful trip.

Room Tip: Upstairs probably has a better view but really can't complain because we had a bird show & f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tammy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Loved everything about the BGI. Our Meadowview suite was perfect for a family of four, top-quality furnishings and amenities. The lounge was lovely both for the light pre-dinner and the breakfast. The area is beautiful and serene. Really special place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Real_FoodieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Brewery Gulch Inn was a pleasant surprise. It's Pacific northwest style is not overly designed nor does it boast overt sophistication, however, little hints showed that owners are discerning and well travelled through simple touches and attention to detail that made the inn special in an understated way. While located in quiet Mendocino, the discreet inn has a powerhouse chef Peg Davis that prepares light buffet suppers with authentic international flare. Thai chicken salad one evening or delicious pulled pork the next. Coupled with tastings of wines and beers from local wineries and microbreweries Breakfasts are an incredible feast. The Thanksgiving brand coffee is a ready gift for anyone to take home after enjoying it throughout one's stay. The centre of the inn is a bright living room warmed by a fire place, with the always awaiting snacks and drinks that welcomes guests as one would find if staying at a friends home. A game of chess, huge collections of DVD's, international magazines local newspapers and books; a tiny gift shop thats there for you to browse through. Meals are also taken here. The atmosphere is cosy, peaceful, and begs to be revisited.

Take your breakfast on the deck or an afternoon drink as you gaze towards the distant scene of the shoreline. A bird feeder welcomes humming birds, robins and blue jays. The inn is shielded from the road below by trees and shrubbery and it is quiet. You may spy a family of deer by the parking lot in the evenings or at night.

Rooms are simple, comfortable, well appointed and very very clean. The bed is comfortable and sheets are good quality. Perfect for a good night's rest. The bathroom is generous, with heating for chilly days, towels are fluffy and all amenities provided for. High quality soaps and shampoos from the UK.

Who needs a holiday hideaway when Brewery Gulch Inn can be your retreat?

Room Tip: You can hear your neighbours upstairs if you stay at a downstairs room. So choose an upstairs room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wings852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa Bay area
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Book the Meadowview Suite enjoy the drinks and tasty food in the evening and the outstanding breakfast in the morning. Try the Millionaire Bacon.
Steven and the staff here are great. I wish we'd have been able to stay longer but next time we know.
It's a special place that should be experienced to understand.
Mendocino is out of the way but that's why its cool.
Thanks BGI! The family absolutely loved the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonestar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.9 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
632 reviews
1.5 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
707 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
#1 of 7 in Little River
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewery Gulch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewery Gulch Inn

Property: Brewery Gulch Inn
Address: 9401 N Highway 1, Mendocino, CA 95460-9529
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brewery Gulch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel + Leisure and Conde Nast magazines as one of the top 100 hotels in the world, our Arts & Crafts-style inn is perched on a bluff top on the east side of Highway 1 and commands sweeping views of Smuggler's Cove and the Pacific Ocean. Built of eco-salvaged redwood pulled from the nearby Big River in 2001 and updated continuously since, Brewery Gulch features 10 ocean-view rooms with decks, gas fireplaces, DVD-equipped flat-panel televisions, recharging stations and Bluetooth speakers. Included with each guest's stay are both a cooked-to-order breakfast AND a delicious light dinner buffet featuring area wines and local craft beers, all prepared by the Inn's acclaimed in-house chef. Come see why TripAdvisor ranked the Brewery Gulch Inn as one of the "Top 10 Bed and Breakfasts and Inns To-Die-For" worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Brewery Gulch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewery Gulch Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing