We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and charming”
Review of Brewery Gulch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brewery Gulch Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I just came back from a 10 day adventure to Northern California, including the Mendocino Coast. Our home away from home for a couple of days was the Brewery Gulch Inn. The Inn does an excellent job attending to their guests and we were delighted with the overall experience. Excellent dinners and breakfasts are included as well as regional wines and craft beers. We loved the great room, decorated in a mountain modern style, high ceilings and a beautiful view of Smugglers Cove. Our room was lovely and included everything needed for a relaxing stay. Direct tv, a video library, books, games, magazines, newspapers and even a binoculars are at your disposal. The staff is very helpful and accommodating and will provide you with suggestions on places to visit in the area. Don't be disappointed however, by the front of the Inn, as it does not have much curb appeal, the inside however, is a Inn lovers wonderland. There will also be a little road noise as the Inn sits a little back from Highway 1. We found however, that this was a small price to pay for such a wonderful experience. Will highly recommend to all.

Room Tip: A room away from the road will not provide the view of Smugglers Cove, so choose accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loves2Travel723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

whenever we need a warm, welcoming retreat we always come here. Service is beyond compare,
ambience is perfect, and the food scrumptious. Here I can truly relax into the comfort of their main room.
Guy(the owner) is always gracious and helpful which is very appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Had an amazing stay, we can't wait to return to the Brewery Gultch Inn. Friendly staff, perfect location and great food. If your looking to relax and take in breathtaking views, this is your spot! Spend the day at the inn or take a 2 min drive to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmdavis09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed in the Smuggler's Cove room, It was AMAZING. This is a place you read about in travel magazines. Staff is great, FOOD is INCREDIBLE! Best breakfast ever! Bottom line for the money it worth every penny!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Baird_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at The Brewery Gulch Inn for one night as part of our Honeymoon and our only sadness was that we had to leave. A really special place. We were given a warm welcome at reception and lots of helpful information about the area before being shown to our room and finding the nice surprise of a bottle of champagne to help us celebrate our honeymoon. The room was immaculate, very comfortable and with the most beautiful view over Smugglers Cove and down to the gardens below. The gardens, with a lovely decked area, are a perfect spot to sit with a glass of wine or, like me, to spend hours watching the birds, squirrels and chipmunks feeding from the bird feeder. The lounge area is beautifully and cosily laid out and has a good selection of books for browsing, games or DVDs to borrow if you wish. The evening meal was a real treat and very different to what we had experienced elsewhere. We started off with a complimentary wine tasting where we were able to try a selection of local wines and then we enjoyed a buffet style meal which was just amazing - so fresh and all prepared beautifully. Best peach cobbler I have ever had too! Food service in the morning was equally brilliant. All in all, this place is really something special. We could very easily have stayed for longer and been very happy just hanging out at the hotel all day. If you can, make a visit, it's so worth it.

Room Tip: Smugglers Cove has the best views over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kirsty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I went back here after two years and once again marvelled at the experience. Showed up to a bottle of champagne in our room with a nice card from the owner referencing our last visit there. This is part of why this place is so successful…the staff genuinely seem to care that your experience is exemplary. I noticed little things this visit..the perfectly chosen mellow acoustic Neil Young playing in the main lodge area, the dimmers on the lights in the bathroom, the iPad used to search for your favourite movie should you want to watch one. Mendocino is a cool town but this place is particularly special. The food was again terrific and we didn't feel the need to go into town after for any dinner..as others have mentioned the bacon is out of this world and the breakfasts in general are some of the best I've ever eaten.

Room Tip: The corner room, Manzanita, is really great. The tub is the size of my kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CalgaryJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

just go here! You will be over the moon with happiness.

I have never felt more comfortable! Guy really creates the home away from home. We honeymooned in the raven room and had breakfast in bed two out of three mornings. The tub is amazing! So is the view.

The food here is awesome and totally organic. The wine and beer hour with light dinner buffet is generous, and the perfect touch after a day outdoors.

Guy goes out of his way to make sure your trip, not just your stay, is enjoyable. He checked on the tides for our canoe trip, the hours for our brewery and wine day, and he even helped us booked in room massages!

You can really tell that the staff and Guy really love what they do. Best place we ever stayed.

Room Tip: corner king rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.9 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
632 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
730 reviews
3.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
665 reviews
0.9 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewery Gulch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewery Gulch Inn

Address: 9401 N Highway 1, Mendocino, CA 95460-9529
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: £251 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brewery Gulch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel + Leisure and Conde Nast magazines as one of the top 100 hotels in the world, our Arts & Crafts-style inn is perched on a bluff top on the east side of Highway 1 and commands sweeping views of Smuggler's Cove and the Pacific Ocean. Built of eco-salvaged redwood pulled from the nearby Big River in 2001 and updated continuously since, Brewery Gulch features 10 ocean-view rooms with decks, gas fireplaces, DVD-equipped flat-panel televisions, recharging stations and Bluetooth speakers. Included with each guest's stay are both a cooked-to-order breakfast AND a delicious light dinner buffet featuring area wines and local craft beers, all prepared by the Inn's acclaimed in-house chef. Come see why TripAdvisor ranked the Brewery Gulch Inn as one of the "Top 10 Bed and Breakfasts and Inns To-Die-For" worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Brewery Gulch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewery Gulch Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing