We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A piece of paradise”
Welcome to The Larkin Cottage!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Larkin Cottage!
Plenty of off-street parking. Your stay awaits you.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Welcome to The Larkin Cottage!
Plenty of off-street parking.
Your stay awaits you.
The entrance to the private yard.
Private yard.
Private hot tub is on the right.
Hot tub off the deck
Living room with fireplace.
Vintage pine cabinet holds TV and media equipment.
Dining area.  Comfortable chairs perfect for reading & watching TV by the fire.
Fully equipped kitchen overlooking the yard.
Bedroom featuring a queen-size Sleep Number bed with luxurious linens.
Bathroom with tub/shower.  Plush robes are provided for your enjoyment.
Porch overlooking the yard and hot tub.
View from the yard.
The gazebo in the gardens, perfect for a small wedding!
Swing in The Larkin Cottage garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mendocino, Mendocino County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Athena M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A piece of paradise”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
6
people found this review helpful

We decided to travel to Mendocino county for our wedding anniversary because we heard a lot about the beautiful nature but didn't expect the cottage to be the best part of our trip. The cottage itself has many beautiful views of garden and jungle and very beautiful flowers even in winter. The hot tub has view of the jungle, although it's placed in very private corner of the yard. Even the furniture is picked very carefully. This place is the best place I've ever travelled in lifetime and it has nothing less than a dream.

The landlady, Linda, is very kind and lovely (although I never met her in person). She welcomed us with a very beautiful and carefully selected card to congratulate us on our wedding anniversary. Also asks everyone to write in her journal of the cottage which is also very cute and means how much she cares.

Wanted to add some comments about the ratings below:
Kitchen & utensils: were better than great. I decided to bake a red velvet cake for our anniversary and tried to take my baking tools with me but was surprised when I saw the cottage was equipped with anything I needed.
Was the property as advertised? No, it was far better than what you see in the photos.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Our trip could be more relaxing if there was a dishwasher in the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2015
I am so happy you had a wonderful anniversary weekend at the cottage. And, I am glad you were able to find all the baking items you needed. I look forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne G
Petaluma, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning, nurturing and cozy!”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We loved all the creative touches - beautiful garden, a basket of goodies on the dining room table, local artwork everywhere, a fully stocked though small kitchen, hot tub, and deliciously comfortable bed! Forgot to mention wild ocean close by, and wonderful restaurants and shops in downtown Mendocino a few minutes away, but these are already legend...

Thank you for a perfect anniversary weekend :)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMoss13
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Cost and comfortable cottage three blocks from town.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Small but adequate kitchen, beautiful gardens and accommodating owner. Yadda, yadda, yadda. Nice closet in the bedroom.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMMSebast...
Sebastopol, California
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We had such a lovely stay in the Larkin Cottage, we wish we could have stayed a week. It was one of the most relaxing stays I can remember. Between watching movies, reading next to the fire, sitting on the porch and relaxing in the hot tub, it was just wonderful. It's very close to Mendocino Village (probably a mile or so), but we only left briefly to eat and wander a little in the shops. Other than that we just relaxed in the cottage. Linda had so many nice touches--fresh wildflowers on the table, coffee and jam, wonderful bath products, a full kitchen, even a tv, dvd player and stereo system. We will be happy to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cozy feel
Liked least: we were a little paranoid about getting locked out, but that wasn't really an issue
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Larkin Cottage. It was so nice to meet both of you and I look forward to your return visit. ~ Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing