We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best place to eat in Mendocino!”

The 955 Ukiah Street Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 22 Restaurants in Mendocino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lincoln, Ca.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“best place to eat in Mendocino!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We have followed the chef and his wife for years - they simply know how to prepare food and are so friendly. We love 955!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ursart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    53
    25
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very good food and atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Had a very good meal. The crispy duck was one of the best we've had. The fish we had was a bit "fishy," that is, could have been fresher (maybe because it was a Sunday ?)

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank capitanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

What a wonderful dining experience. The place is beautiful, surrounded by lush gardens. The interior is warm and inviting. The service was superior, and so was the food. I had the lamb stew, and it was one of the best meals during our three week vacation in the Northwest.
My wife's fish dish was also excellent. When I exclaimed to the waiter about the stew, he introduced us to the chef who explained to my wife (a trained chef) how he created the dish. This is a fabulous place

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fordco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A visit to Mendocino is not complete without a dinner at 955 Ukiah Street Restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Jamie has been cooking dinner for us for nearly thirty years, every time we visit our favorite coastline vacation spot. We have enjoyed everything from fine seafood to mouthwatering steaks to amazing pasta dishes, not to mention delicious soups and salads. Jamie uses local organic foods and his delicious offerings reflect what is currently available. Peggy has created a tranquil setting with local art, beautiful lighting from within and from the garden, and soft musical background. We always have a wonderful evening at 955 Ukiah Restaurant.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannethegardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
222 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Nothing great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

After reading all the reviews I expected more. We picked this restaurant because of the fish and seafood offered on the menu. The food was good but not exceptional. The service was not great either. Although the restaurant overlooked a garden, had high ceilings and wood beams it did not create a warm and cosy feel.
Unfortunately it is not a place that I would dream about going back to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzypumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The 955 Ukiah Street Restaurant also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to The 955 Ukiah Street Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing