We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diner quality food at fine dining prices”

The 955 Ukiah Street Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 22 Restaurants in Mendocino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Diner quality food at fine dining prices”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The duck won tons had descent flavor but the pasta shell was under cooked and the filing had a chalky texture. The lamb stew had very little flavor and the lamb was way over cooked. We had high hopes for this place but were sadly disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    54
    25
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mendocino, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrid”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My mother and I dined here for NYE 2012. Again, another restaurant that doesn't cook with salt. I don't understand this concept because nothing tastes good. They did not have a special menu for the night, which was disappointing. I had duck, mom had the pork, but we both had the same sides: plain penne pasta and plain rice, MIXED TOGETHER. Neither cooked with salt. ??? It was truly bizarre with no thought about creating a dish that is cohesive. Not going back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrison, Colorado
Level Contributor
188 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Lovely venue, good service, but meal disappointed”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I dined at 955 Ukiah at the recommendation of our B&B host. What we encountered was a smallish, beautiful venue with large windows overlooking an untamed garden, and excellent service. We thought we had it "made".

My wife excitedly ordered the calamari, and I the seafood menagerie. The quality of ingredients was first-rate. Clearly the chef had some interesting ideas. B-u-t ... both dishes were absolutely flat, completely lacking of character. So many things done really right, but in the end a great restaurant needs to serve great food.

Bottom line ... a lovely place to eat, but we would only go for appetizers and dessert just to enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cigano-Gitano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Come for the food.”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had an excellent late dinner. The wine was good but the bread, flat steak and lamb stew were terrific. Well worth the drive. It is a good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RodneyandPatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Couldn't remember the number of the name--but I will next time!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Best lamb stew I ever ate. Husband said his pork chop was the best prepared he can remember. Tiramasu was to die for. The wine, of course, held center stage.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The 955 Ukiah Street Restaurant also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to The 955 Ukiah Street Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing