We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location; comfortable room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nicholson House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nicholson House Inn
Ranked #22 of 24 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Glen Ellen, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location; comfortable room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed in Mendocino recently and decided to stay at the Nicholson inn because of it's excellent location and favorable rates. We were not disappointed - it is less than a block away from the heart of the town with it's charming restaurants and quaint boutiques. The room was small but very comfortable with an outstanding feather mattress. Breakfast is served in a small living room which does not seat too many so be ready to take breakfast back to your room on a tray. The " house" itself is old and historic - needing a touch of fresh paint - but totally acceptable . For the price and location it is great value - we will go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachlife57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    33
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
14
55
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Reasonable price for B&B right in Mendocino, which is generally expensive. Tiny room, no space for table, just one chair, but fabulously comfortable bed. Nice furnishings, friendly owner. Breakfast was better than basic continental with fresh baked goods, cold meats and cheeses, usual cereals, fruit etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed two nights at this inn, in one of their most affordable rooms. The location is great, the breakfast is huge, including home made scones and coffee cake, cereal and fresh fruit, breads and meat and cheese -- pretty much anything you could want for breakfast. It's served up in a small common room that doesn't seat everyone who's eating, but it seems to work out OK with people taking trays to their rooms and milling about. Our room was very nicely decorated without being overly fussy (a hard thing to find in Mendocino); it was small, but not bad for the price. The owner is extremely accomodating; he let us put our bikes in an unused room so we wouldn't have to worry about them being locked up outside. A very good value for pricey Mendocino.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I have probably spent some 1500 nights at hotels all over this globe the past 20 years.
This place comes in my top 10 stays that I remember.
Make sure to get the Admiral's Deck!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sredna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed two nights at Nicholson House. The rooms in the house are decorated to a very high standard and everything is clean. The breakfast is unrivalled as to its wide range and excellent quality. It is served in a hospitality room, which is quite small and guests are encouraged to collect their breakfasts and take them upstairs. However, such is the family atmosphere in this house, that there is no awkwardness or preciousness about the breakfast experience and the small space actually contributes to the cosiness of the shared breakfast experience.

The family atmosphere has only one drawback. This is a converted family home. My wife and I slept on our first night along from a family of a mother with her two small children and we were separated only by a locked door. We could hear their every whisper and they could hear us.

It is the closest I have come to sleeping in a dormitory since I went to school over four decades ago and my wife and I agreed that it would not be suitable for a honeymoon couple. You do have to keep very quiet, if you do not want your room neighbours - who seem to be in the next bed - to hear your every move and every breath.

Apart from that this is a brilliant place to stay. It does fit in with the character of Mendocino as a whole and I can recommend it wholeheartedly - unless you are a courting couple.

Our visit was blemished by one small incident at the very end, which was that the toilet became blocked on the morning we left. No 'unnatural' strains were placed on the plumbing by us and I can well imagine the embarrassment and inconvenience this might have caused to room occupants if the blockage had occurred in the middle of the night.

A small irritant is that the wifi was temperamental and we could not get it most of the time, although this was supposed to be available and a device to extend the signal had only just been installed.

All that aside, the overall message has to be that Mendocino has character and that Nicholson House undoubtedly has character and makes a good base from which to explore the environs. No place you stay in will be cleaner and no place you stay in will offer better breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is a very cosy little B&B with beautiful decorated rooms, great beds too. The quality of the breakfast is oustanding, made to order by the inn keeper. But there is no proper breakfast room. We decided to take our breakfast to our room to eat it there, on the bed. But we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Clean room and bathroom. Decor was charming and in character with the era the house was built in without being fusty. We stayed one night and it was a pleasant stay. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DancingMercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.2 mi away
Joshua Grindle Inn
Joshua Grindle Inn
#7 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 24 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 24 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicholson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicholson House Inn

Property: Nicholson House Inn
Address: 951 Ukiah St., Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nicholson House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nicholson House Inn and Spa now under Sweetwater Properties management now brings the perfect combination of bed and breakfast and spa experience. Located close to shops and beach trails in the Mendocino village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Nicholson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicholson House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing