We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but CuteQ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nicholson House Inn
Ranked #23 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quirky but CuteQ”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed one night the room was fairly small but comfortable and clean not having a tv is unsual nowadys but we really didnt miss it.
The breakfast area was very small but the food on offer was very good and the service was good and friendly. All in all a great stay at very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnat1178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    33
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
14
55
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We were only here one night, arriving around 7pm and leaving at 7am the next day, and we didn't really get to see much that the town had to offer, but we couldn't have afforded many other lodging options there (I think there are tons!). So that being said, we were perfectly happy with our stay at Nicholson. I didn't feel that the guy who checked us in was all that warm, but he was probably about to give up on us showing up so it's fine. We had the Russian Rose Room. It is quite "cozy" and if we'd stayed more than 1 night, might have been a little frustrated for space, but we don't spend much time in our room regardless. The bathroom was nice and large. The bed was comfortable enough, not super comfortable. We found out the next morning that you could see the ocean a bit behind the B&B, pretty awesome, and I believe it was just up and around the corner to drive or walk to an unobstructed view. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We really wanted the Overlook I room and just missed out on it. Would try for that one next time. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amc1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellen, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed in Mendocino recently and decided to stay at the Nicholson inn because of it's excellent location and favorable rates. We were not disappointed - it is less than a block away from the heart of the town with it's charming restaurants and quaint boutiques. The room was small but very comfortable with an outstanding feather mattress. Breakfast is served in a small living room which does not seat too many so be ready to take breakfast back to your room on a tray. The " house" itself is old and historic - needing a touch of fresh paint - but totally acceptable . For the price and location it is great value - we will go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachlife57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Reasonable price for B&B right in Mendocino, which is generally expensive. Tiny room, no space for table, just one chair, but fabulously comfortable bed. Nice furnishings, friendly owner. Breakfast was better than basic continental with fresh baked goods, cold meats and cheeses, usual cereals, fruit etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed two nights at this inn, in one of their most affordable rooms. The location is great, the breakfast is huge, including home made scones and coffee cake, cereal and fresh fruit, breads and meat and cheese -- pretty much anything you could want for breakfast. It's served up in a small common room that doesn't seat everyone who's eating, but it seems to work out OK with people taking trays to their rooms and milling about. Our room was very nicely decorated without being overly fussy (a hard thing to find in Mendocino); it was small, but not bad for the price. The owner is extremely accomodating; he let us put our bikes in an unused room so we wouldn't have to worry about them being locked up outside. A very good value for pricey Mendocino.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
130 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I have probably spent some 1500 nights at hotels all over this globe the past 20 years.
This place comes in my top 10 stays that I remember.
Make sure to get the Admiral's Deck!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sredna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed two nights at Nicholson House. The rooms in the house are decorated to a very high standard and everything is clean. The breakfast is unrivalled as to its wide range and excellent quality. It is served in a hospitality room, which is quite small and guests are encouraged to collect their breakfasts and take them upstairs. However, such is the family atmosphere in this house, that there is no awkwardness or preciousness about the breakfast experience and the small space actually contributes to the cosiness of the shared breakfast experience.

The family atmosphere has only one drawback. This is a converted family home. My wife and I slept on our first night along from a family of a mother with her two small children and we were separated only by a locked door. We could hear their every whisper and they could hear us.

It is the closest I have come to sleeping in a dormitory since I went to school over four decades ago and my wife and I agreed that it would not be suitable for a honeymoon couple. You do have to keep very quiet, if you do not want your room neighbours - who seem to be in the next bed - to hear your every move and every breath.

Apart from that this is a brilliant place to stay. It does fit in with the character of Mendocino as a whole and I can recommend it wholeheartedly - unless you are a courting couple.

Our visit was blemished by one small incident at the very end, which was that the toilet became blocked on the morning we left. No 'unnatural' strains were placed on the plumbing by us and I can well imagine the embarrassment and inconvenience this might have caused to room occupants if the blockage had occurred in the middle of the night.

A small irritant is that the wifi was temperamental and we could not get it most of the time, although this was supposed to be available and a device to extend the signal had only just been installed.

All that aside, the overall message has to be that Mendocino has character and that Nicholson House undoubtedly has character and makes a good base from which to explore the environs. No place you stay in will be cleaner and no place you stay in will offer better breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#15 of 25 in Mendocino
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Mendocino
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
#11 of 25 in Mendocino
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicholson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicholson House Inn

Property: Nicholson House Inn
Address: 951 Ukiah St., Mendocino, CA 94560
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nicholson House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nicholson House Inn and Spa now under Sweetwater Properties management now brings the perfect combination of bed and breakfast and spa experience. Located close to shops and beach trails in the Mendocino village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Nicholson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicholson House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing