We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay at the Nicholson House Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nicholson House Inn
Ranked #23 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed for a weekend at the Nicholson House. We booked Grandma's room. The room is cute, clean, and small with a private bathroom. However the bed is very tall and we had to use the stepper to get in and out of it.
Breakfast is good, and it is served by the owner between 8:30AM and 9:30AM in the living room which is a small area. The location is in town, and we walked everywhere. The price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BayAreaTra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

We recently had a very nice experience at the Nicholson House B&B in Mendocino. Brent, our host, was a helpful as can be regarding restaurant and activity recommendations. He also did a good job on the breakfast, which is held in the first floor common area of the main building. This is not an upscale, "fancy," retreat, but very comfortable and ample and at a good price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneElizabeth19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed one night the room was fairly small but comfortable and clean not having a tv is unsual nowadys but we really didnt miss it.
The breakfast area was very small but the food on offer was very good and the service was good and friendly. All in all a great stay at very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnat1178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We were only here one night, arriving around 7pm and leaving at 7am the next day, and we didn't really get to see much that the town had to offer, but we couldn't have afforded many other lodging options there (I think there are tons!). So that being said, we were perfectly happy with our stay at Nicholson. I didn't feel that the guy who checked us in was all that warm, but he was probably about to give up on us showing up so it's fine. We had the Russian Rose Room. It is quite "cozy" and if we'd stayed more than 1 night, might have been a little frustrated for space, but we don't spend much time in our room regardless. The bathroom was nice and large. The bed was comfortable enough, not super comfortable. We found out the next morning that you could see the ocean a bit behind the B&B, pretty awesome, and I believe it was just up and around the corner to drive or walk to an unobstructed view. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We really wanted the Overlook I room and just missed out on it. Would try for that one next time. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amc1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed in Mendocino recently and decided to stay at the Nicholson inn because of it's excellent location and favorable rates. We were not disappointed - it is less than a block away from the heart of the town with it's charming restaurants and quaint boutiques. The room was small but very comfortable with an outstanding feather mattress. Breakfast is served in a small living room which does not seat too many so be ready to take breakfast back to your room on a tray. The " house" itself is old and historic - needing a touch of fresh paint - but totally acceptable . For the price and location it is great value - we will go back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachlife57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Reasonable price for B&B right in Mendocino, which is generally expensive. Tiny room, no space for table, just one chair, but fabulously comfortable bed. Nice furnishings, friendly owner. Breakfast was better than basic continental with fresh baked goods, cold meats and cheeses, usual cereals, fruit etc.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed two nights at this inn, in one of their most affordable rooms. The location is great, the breakfast is huge, including home made scones and coffee cake, cereal and fresh fruit, breads and meat and cheese -- pretty much anything you could want for breakfast. It's served up in a small common room that doesn't seat everyone who's eating, but it seems to work out OK with people taking trays to their rooms and milling about. Our room was very nicely decorated without being overly fussy (a hard thing to find in Mendocino); it was small, but not bad for the price. The owner is extremely accomodating; he let us put our bikes in an unused room so we wouldn't have to worry about them being locked up outside. A very good value for pricey Mendocino.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Mendocino
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
156 reviews
0 mi away
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
#12 of 25 in Mendocino
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#18 of 25 in Mendocino
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicholson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicholson House Inn

Address: 951 Ukiah St., Mendocino, CA 94560
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: £94 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nicholson House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nicholson House Inn and Spa now under Sweetwater Properties management now brings the perfect combination of bed and breakfast and spa experience. Located close to shops and beach trails in the Mendocino village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Nicholson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicholson House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing