We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nicholson House Inn
Ranked #23 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 15 July 2008

First off, I am not a fan of bed and breakfasts although my wife finds them quaint and quite enjoys them.

However, we both enjoyed our experience at Abigail's. After leaving San Francisco later than anticipated, we got to the B&B around 8pm but they had left our key for us at the Whitegate Inn with detailed instruction even though no one was technically "on-duty" any longer.

We stayed in the 'Drawing Room', which for $99/night has to be the best deal in Mendocino. It is located adjacent to the breakfast room but since we have an infant, being woken up early is just a fact of life now so it was not a concern. The room was a good size and had a nice bathroom.

We were invited to eat breakfast in the Whitegate Inn with the other guests since there were only two families including ours staying at Abigail's. The breakfast was delicious and the staff (family?) was very friendly although we had limited contact with them.

I really like their idea of having a separate, more moderately priced, residence for families. While we don't apologize for taking our infant anywhere, it does create a more enjoyable environment for everyone when we do not have to worry if she cries out or babbles away when others may want quiet and we try to respect that.

Overall, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MUhrblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    33
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
14
55
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

Our two dogs stayed at Abigail's with us over July 4 weekend. The room was smallish but cute with a nice sized bathroom. There were at least 5 other people/families/dogs staying there, but overall it was very quiet. Breakfast was yummy with lots of baked treats, breads, cereals, and fresh fruit. We also had wine and cheese every day at the Whitegate Inn just a couple doors down. The location was very convenient with plenty of parking. Although we didn't interact with the owners much, everyone was pleasant, especially Gretchen, our morning breakfast server. Our only complaint was the TV was pretty small and there was no DVD player for nighttime entertainment. Other than that, really enjoyed it. It was a great value and we will stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — TV size
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MimiFOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napa
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2007

Not only is the price affordable but the location couldn't be better.
We parked the car & were able to walk to everything we wanted to see & do. The room had every amenity we could ask for, the breakfast was served cheerfully by Gretchen every morning, lots of home baked goodies. We were even included in the social hour of wine & snacks at The Whitegate Inn, just half a block away & owned by the same couple, every afternoon at 5:00.
Everyone was so gracious we really felt like we were home.
Can't wait to go back. Mendocino is beautiful. Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank napavalleysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berthoud, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2007

Berthoud, Colorado

Just returned from Abigails Bed and Breakfast in Mendocino. Had a fabulous time, Richard and Susan are the best inkeepers.
The rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable (bed was great). With daily maid service and fresh baked coffee cake and muffins each morning. Coffee was tasty and the service was always welcoming. I'd love to stay there again.

Shirley

  • Liked — The owners and staff
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing
Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Seis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cailfornia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2007

My wife and daughter and our 2 dogs and I all stayed the night at Abigail's. It was wondferful. We were so well taken care of, and the place is fantastic. The town is adorable and the staff is excellent. We loved our accomodations and the trip was a blast. Thank you, Abigail's!

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CailforniaJud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Shasta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2006

My wife and I enjoyed a comfortable stay at Abigail's with our dog for two nights. We had never been to Mendocino before and wanted to bring our dog along to enjoy the quaint town we had heard so much about.

Abigail's did not dissapoint! It was a pleasure to have such a pet friendly place to stay. The proprietors and staff were so very friendly and welcoming. We were invited to enjoy a lovely breakfast at Whitegate Inn -- the elegant yet comfortable Victorian B&B that we thought would be perfect for our next anniversary trip (without the dog). They really made us feel at home and even gave a lot of attention to our sweet german shepherd.

The Whitegate had wine and cheese every day and again, we felt quite welcome and comfortable being there. We had heard about their "endless" chocolate chip cookies. They were delicious! And we even met the artful innkeepers making them in the kitchen.

All in all, our stay at Abigail's was well above our expectations in terms of how friendly the people are and how comfortable we felt, even with our dog along for the visit!

And Mendocino is just as charming as we had heard. A big thanks to Richard and Susan from Whitegate Inn for making us feel so at home at Abigail's! We hope to see them again.

  • Liked — Comfortable accomodations and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Difficult to get to from Northern CA (six hour drive from Mount Shasta).
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at Abigail's for kid/pet friendly or at the Whitegate Inn for elegance and pampering.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jaxxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2006

My wife and I recently stayed several days (June 2006) at this charming little B&B in Mendocino, CA. It's associated with the "Whitegate Inn," which is practically next door. Our room was "Abigail's Drawing Room" (or "Room #1)." The room was very airy, bright, and comfortable, and very spacious for a B&B. The bathroom was also very spacious, and included a full bath and shower. The room had a nice large closet, a TV, and one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in. I have to say, that by far, we got tremendous "value" for our money at this B&B. It included a daily continental breakfast, but because of low midweek occupancy, we were invited to join the other guests at the Whitegate Inn and partake of the complete hot breakfast. We couldn't have asked for a better time. Richard and Susan Strom are also the ultimate B&B "hosts;" very nice and caring people.

Helpful?
9 Thank TheBrasilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.3 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#15 of 25 in Mendocino
403 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Mendocino
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
#11 of 25 in Mendocino
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicholson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicholson House Inn

Property: Nicholson House Inn
Address: 951 Ukiah St., Mendocino, CA 94560
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nicholson House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nicholson House Inn and Spa now under Sweetwater Properties management now brings the perfect combination of bed and breakfast and spa experience. Located close to shops and beach trails in the Mendocino village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Nicholson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicholson House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing