We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An evening in Mendocino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We enjoyed our single night at the Sea Gull.
It was nicely done and we liked our location, most especially proximity to the ocean and to all the restaurants. Nice to just walk around and nice to walk to a restaurant.

Breakfast was on the porch with 2 rockers outside our room- that was a nice feature.
The room is somewhat small, but suited our needs just fine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

We spent the first week in July here. The hosts are lovely. You best chance ever possibly to meet a judge with a ponytail. The rooms are all individual with lots of quirky adornments. The two we had were relatively large with king sized really comfortable beds. Breakfast was enjoyable but some may want to organise an early morning escape plan if you prefer eggs and bacon. The town is quirky with a number of watering and dining opportunities. We particularly like Pattersons. The food and alcohol were good and by Mendocino,s standards cheap. Watching Joe the solo waiter in action is worth a visit in itself. Mccallams Grey Whale bar was fun and the bar snacks very good quality at a reasonable price.

However if you are addicted to CNN or even CSI remember no TV
If you want endless coffee in your room there is no kettle etc
No phone either.

But a very good spot to pass a few days in this ageing hippy sanctuary they call Mendocino

Room Tip: Take a walk along the logging track along the Big River. Try the beach to the west of the village...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I had a beautiful four night stay in May at the lovely, historic Sea Gull Inn, in the gorgeous Lookout #1 room. It is the most serene, peaceful, wonderful place and Jim and Ayla the kindest and loveliest hosts you could imagine! The home-cooked organic breakfasts were SO good - Jim and Ayla very kindly accommodated my gluten free diet by making me an array of delicious gf options - and the coffee was amazing! I loved having my breakfast in the mornings sitting outside on my porch, enjoying Ayla's beautiful garden, the sound of the birds, the ocean breeze and the big blue sky. Mendocino is simply one of the loveliest places in the world. I left the Sea Gull Inn sad to say goodbye to Jim and Ayla's wonderful hospitality, but completely refreshed and renewed in body and spirit!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The room is nice and comfortable, clean. The breakfast / baked goods were very good and the presentation was lovely. The location is great and convenient - safe and quiet. The Café next door is convenient as well as great food and friendly service. There is no TV, radio, clock, or phone, and that makes it all the more relaxing.

Room Tip: The upstairs area has multiple queen bed rooms. If travelling with a group, a nice way to stay clos...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Spent the night at Sea Gull and it was fantastic.Quite and relaxing.Cute room and I thought where is the TV.Well I entertained my wife by reading all the entries in the journal that persons wrote about their stay at Sea Gull and added our own and did not miss the TV.Breakfast in the morning was great.Coffee,muffins,fruit and yogurt.Thank you.

Bill and Linda Pisenti

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnlpisenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We just stayed at the Seagull Inn B&B last week and must say that I would definitely rate this a 2 out of 5 stars. We have stayed at 8 places in the past two weeks and this ranks the lowest of all the places we stayed but it was the highest priced. The room was very, very small with a double bed, a chair at a little dresser in a corner and a bathroom where you would have to use the floor, the sink or the top of the back of the stool to hold toiletries. Breakfast did come with the room (but so did all the other places) and the cup of tea, the ramekin filled w/fresh fruit and the muffin was served in the room. I used the chair to eat and my husband had to sit on the bed. We could have gone outside but it was quite chilly. I could never stay here again and will remember this experience for a long time.

Room Tip: Please read people's reviews and decide from several reviews.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redhead1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaGullManagement22, Owner at Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

We regret that Redhead1913 was unhappy with her accomodations. Though the room is our smallest, it is represented accurately in all of our photos and when we describe the room. We find most guests enjoy the coziness of the room as my wife and I did for our wedding anniversaries for 17 years prior to purchasing the Sea Gull Inn. Most guests thoroughly enjoy our organic breakfasts brought to their room and take advantage of the opportunity to have breakfast in bed. Others may utilize the folding table provided in the room and bring in additional seating available just outside the door. Though Mendocino rates may be higher than some other areas, the room the guest chose is not only our lowest standard room rate, it may be the lowest standard room rate in Mendocino. If this guest were to consider a return, we would love the opportunity to offer one of our larger rooms that may better accomodate their needs and desires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

we stayed on the ground floor room closest to the road. Large well furnished room, romantic, bathroom was not the greatest but no big deal. Wonderful friendly staff, great breakfast of yoghurt fresh fruit coffee and freshly baked muffin brought to our room. The gardens are wild and colorful. Next door is the mendocino cafe which is terrific.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelling55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
628 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 44960 Albion Street, PO Box 317, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: £85 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mendocino CA and Sea Gull Inn, one of the original B&B Inns on the scenic Northern California Coast. The house was built in 1878. A giant Holly tree shades the front porch. The private garden has several secluded sitting areas. Meticulously maintained, the inn and its grounds are very much a part of Mendocino's charm. All bed and breakfast lodging guest rooms have private baths and some have views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing