We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great & relaxing B&B!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great & relaxing B&B!!!”
Reviewed 14 May 2009

My wife and I went to Mendocino for the 1st time to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary. We did not really know where to stay, but decided upon the Seagull Inn based on its location and reviews- what a GREAT decision! We stayed in the Abalone room, and although it is a little cramped, it is very cozy and homey. The hosts were very friendly and helpful- they recommended some really great hikes! And breakfast each morning was VERY tasty and filling! We had an excellent stay and I would definetly recommend this B&B to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crammly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    85
    27
    2
    3
See reviews for
54
212
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2009

The Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast is located within walking distance of the ocean and in the heart of beautiful Mendocino. The cozy room was beautiful and comfortable.Each morning, a delicious breakfast was served to us while still in bed! This is the perfect girls weekend in rain or shine!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e_kathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2009

If you are looking for a typical B&B experience, the Sea Gull Inn may not be for you. But if you're looking for a quiet and comfortable place to relax after a day of hiking or sightseeing in Mendocino, you're going to like this place. The Inn is more than 150 years old, and features rooms of various sizes. My wife and I spent two nights in the Driftwood room and it was more than adequate for us. Hosts Jim and Ayla were warm and welcoming. The unique aspect of this B&B is that there is not a central dining room for meals. Instead, breakfast is delivered to your door (by Jim) for enjoyment in your room. I admit that this seemed a bit awkward at first, but by the second morning I came to enjoy the near "breakfast in bed" quality to the practice. Sunday morning's hot oatmeal scones were excellent! The Sea Gull Inn is well located, within a 5 minute walk to about every shop or restaurant in town. Access to the Big River beach is also close by. This was my first trip to Mendocino, and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsflaherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Really enjoyed our stay at the Seagull! Perfect little inn with lovely gardens, nice breakfast and warm hospitality. Felt like a mix of English style and California earthiness. Location right in the town made it easy to walk everywhere and owners were very accomodating and helpful. Definitely will stay next time we're through!

Holly from Canada

Helpful?
1 Thank paragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbayhills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2009

The service by both inkeepers and staff was cordial and responsive to our needs.
Breakfast was really nice with the fresh juice, fruit and muffins. The garden area was greatly appreciated as we had a vey warm weekend and the enclosed natural canopy area provided a good respite from the heat. The room,Abalone, was a little cramped as the bed was againt the wall - we, however, managed. What do you expect from an old farmhouse! We will be back!

Al and Barbara

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlKroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

We have been visiting the Sea Gull for over 24 years. We've tried others, but always come back. We love to just park our car right in front and never have to drive again till it's time to go home. We knew the previous owner and now are getting to know Ayla and Jim, the nice folks who have run SGI for the past two years. It's such a charming old farm house... you feel like you are staying at Grandmas. Ayla's muffins & scones are yummy, and organic. Pick up some cheese, crunchy bread and a bottle of wine from Mendosa's and enjoy the serenity of the intimate little shaded garden in back.... Pure pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorCalGirl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastBay
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Excellent service, great hospitality, thoughtful breakfast, rooms were clean, weather couldn't be better. A "must do again."

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanMaeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
616 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#15 of 25 in Mendocino
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 44960 Albion Street, PO Box 317, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mendocino CA and Sea Gull Inn, one of the original B&B Inns on the scenic Northern California Coast. The house was built in 1878. A giant Holly tree shades the front porch. The private garden has several secluded sitting areas. Meticulously maintained, the inn and its grounds are very much a part of Mendocino's charm. All bed and breakfast lodging guest rooms have private baths and some have views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing