We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hub 4 family exploring Mendo”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Point Cabrillo Light Station
Ranked #16 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Mid Atlantic
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great hub 4 family exploring Mendo”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Point Cabrillo Lightkeeper's House

This large and comfortable home offers a great alternative to the standard vacation rental or BnB--particularly for a large family or several couples. Each of the four bedrooms has its own modern bath with shower. Books and new magazines everywhere. New flat screen television and stereo system are available with the multitudes of loaner DVDs--but who has time to be distracted from the view? Fully equipped kitchen with everything you need and more. (No food provided). Furnishings are period but not fussy and the home is light-filled and spacious. Very limited cell coverage--a plus for our family! It is a very unique spot with great history and location minutes from town.

For the most part, you are in total isolation; however, during park hours, visitors walk in front of the home (handicapped and bus parking was only yards away from front door). Understand that some curious visitors may attempt to peek in the windows. (This could be better managed if there was an "occupied" sign that could be posted in the windows.)

Nights are phenomenal for stargazing and deer are the only visitors who wandered anywhere close to the house during those hours. All in all--we had a lovely lovely stay. The hosts couldn't have been nicer and our family (with three boys ages 10-13) had a most memorable time!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Momma23boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We booked the West Cottage and had a delightful evening there. The cottages appear tiny from the outside but were actually very spacious inside. There was a fridge and microwave so we did not need to go into town for dinner or breakfast. We took both sunset and sunrise hikes and the views were spectacular. What a truly delightful place to spend a peaceful overnight.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anameineed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I booked the West Cottage for a romantic anniversary getaway for later this year. Although I haven't enjoyed my stay yet, I had such a great experience with Terry at the Mendocino Coast Reservations property management that I just had to post a compliment.
She was very knowledgeable about the property and had a lot of good tips for a nice stay. She was upbeat and courteous and made it very easy to book my reservation.

Good job and thank you very much!

Room Tip: The west cottage is located furthest from the main inn and reports to be a bit more private.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

An absolutely top notch place to stay, relax and enjoy all that nature on the North Coast of California has to offer. Great food, drink and shop-hopping in the town of Mendocino = art colony and wine mecca. Nearby walking trails and interesting beaches and a nice wreck dive is also available for the water hounds.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

This is a truly unique location. Away from the town of Mendocino, in an isolated spot next to the lighthouse of Mendocino. Deer are walking around freely and at night it is just you, the lighthouse, the sea and the quietness. It is als a nice area to go for short walks or an early morning run.

I would definitely advise this B&B to others, however just beware if you ask for an exception. As we had decided to get married on the grounds of the property in a private ceremony with just us and the minister, we asked the caretaker if we could check in a bit earlier (around 1-2 pm instead of 3 pm) since we were arriving on the day of our wedding and wanted to refresh ourselves. However, the caretaker was rather uncooperative and formal when we contacted him before we arrived and told us we couldn't check in before 3 pm even after we explained our situation. We arrived early anyway and managed to check in early with another person who was there, so everything turned out all right. But this formal response did surprise me, especially considering the price you're paying for a stay.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cosmos_Estrela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosamond
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

I stayed at the Point Cabrillo Lighthouse Inn in July of 2009. The inn is located on an oceanside bluff on a nature preserve with miles of ocean trails and wildlife. The lighthouse is located several hundred yards down the road. The inn is beautifully restored and maintained. The inn has an enclosed porch in the front, a sitting room with a fireplace, a dining room, and upstairs are four lovely bedrooms, each with their own bathroom. This is a very pleasant and quiet place to stay. Jim, the innkeeper, and also the lighthouse keeper is very friendly and knowledgeable about the lighthouse and the history of the area. He is also very concerned that you have a pleasant stay here. The
inn serves 5-course gourmet breakfasts each morning, and I must say the food is most excellent and fulfilling. Jim also gives a complimentary tour of the lighthouse after the breakfast. This is an isolated and peaceful location, yet the town is only a few miles away. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosamondRosamondguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porterville, CA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We stayed at the Lighthouse Inn for two nights, and we will definitely return. The inn itself is an example of authentic restoration done with great attention to detail. Restoration enthusiasts will appreciate the work that has gone into it, historians will appreciate the innkeeper's tour of the lighthouse, and guests just wanting to relax will love the serenity and beauty of the site. The village of Mendocino is close by and is charming, but the Lighthouse Inn is a destination in itself.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avocadolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
3.3 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
4.7 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
476 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
476 reviews
5.7 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
707 reviews
4.2 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Cabrillo Light Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Cabrillo Light Station

Property: Point Cabrillo Light Station
Address: 45300 Litehouse Rd, Mendocino, CA 95460-9736 (Formerly Lighthouse Inn at Point Cabrillo)
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on the Mendocino coast in one of our vacation rental homes. We have two of the original Lightkeepers' houses and two cottages available for overnight stays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Inn At Point Cabrillo Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing