We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique and Matchless”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Point Cabrillo Light Station
Ranked #18 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Unique and Matchless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

\We stayed for two nights and three days in the West cottage. I almost never give five stars but I do for this place. If you read the older reviews, you’ll hear about an innkeeper, but that was from 2007 - 2009. Now It is run by an excellent vacation rental company, so you pick up your keys in Mendocino.

Having been refurbished around 2006, all of the electrical, plumbing and construction is new. Many places on the coast are older, which means they can be drafty, pipes creak and bang, some with musty smell, etc. None of that here. While modern, they have done an excellent job renovating and furnishing this place in the Edwardian/Craftsman style that befits the architecture and the period when the light station buildings were built.

The cottages are one large room with a queen bed, two chairs, several tables and unit in the corner with a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The west cottage is perfectly suited for someone in a wheelchair or with other mobility issues that can’t easily navigate stairs and still perfectly comfortable for folks who can. In fact both cottages and the first floor of both houses have ramps so they are wheelchair accessible.

If you travel with your pet, the West Cottage is pet friendly. Our dog loved the whole place and there was plenty of room for the crate. We brought extra towels to wipe off wet muddy feet and recommend that, as the seacoast is often humid making for wet grass and patches of mud. There are lots of nice trails to hike on leash and in Fort Bragg a few minutes north there is an off-leash dog beach, Noyo, which we loved.

If you look at the pictures you won’t see a traditional heater. This concerned us as we visited in December. The heat is radiant heat that comes up from the floor. We found it to make the room very comfortable, without the drying effects the heaters that blow hot air can have. The building is also well insulated which helps keep it comfortable. It reacts slower to changes but it worked perfectly.

Another reason I give this five stars are the little details that make it worth the price for me. The bedsheets and towels are high quality and wonderfully soft. The room was immaculately clean - the chrome in the bathroom shined, no signs of cobwebs, spiders or dust mites that seem common in other area accommodations. Even the toilet tissue is high quality, not the one-step-removed-from-sandpaper you often find in hotels that are trying to pinch pennies. Just saying.

The only minor criticism I can muster - and I’m stretching here - is that the fridge is slightly noisy (no more than any other mini-fridge). If such minor things bother you, either ear plugs or simply unplugging the fridge if you don’t want to use it solves the problem.

I will also echo the praise for Terry at the rental office in Mendocino. So very helpful and accommodating, just what you want in someone you rent from.

If you looking for an amazing getaway in the Mendocino area, want something less touristy than staying in the town itself, consider rooms at the lighthouse. Stunning location with the property to yourself form 4pm - 11am everyday. A walk around the lighthouse at night with the lens glimmering like a diamond and casting it’s beams through the mist is as wonderful as it sounds. Unique and matchless.

Room Tip: A line of trees mostly blocks the light beams to the cottages and the main keepers house, but the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mid Atlantic
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Point Cabrillo Lightkeeper's House

This large and comfortable home offers a great alternative to the standard vacation rental or BnB--particularly for a large family or several couples. Each of the four bedrooms has its own modern bath with shower. Books and new magazines everywhere. New flat screen television and stereo system are available with the multitudes of loaner DVDs--but who has time to be distracted from the view? Fully equipped kitchen with everything you need and more. (No food provided). Furnishings are period but not fussy and the home is light-filled and spacious. Very limited cell coverage--a plus for our family! It is a very unique spot with great history and location minutes from town.

For the most part, you are in total isolation; however, during park hours, visitors walk in front of the home (handicapped and bus parking was only yards away from front door). Understand that some curious visitors may attempt to peek in the windows. (This could be better managed if there was an "occupied" sign that could be posted in the windows.)

Nights are phenomenal for stargazing and deer are the only visitors who wandered anywhere close to the house during those hours. All in all--we had a lovely lovely stay. The hosts couldn't have been nicer and our family (with three boys ages 10-13) had a most memorable time!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Momma23boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We booked the West Cottage and had a delightful evening there. The cottages appear tiny from the outside but were actually very spacious inside. There was a fridge and microwave so we did not need to go into town for dinner or breakfast. We took both sunset and sunrise hikes and the views were spectacular. What a truly delightful place to spend a peaceful overnight.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anameineed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

I booked the West Cottage for a romantic anniversary getaway for later this year. Although I haven't enjoyed my stay yet, I had such a great experience with Terry at the Mendocino Coast Reservations property management that I just had to post a compliment.
She was very knowledgeable about the property and had a lot of good tips for a nice stay. She was upbeat and courteous and made it very easy to book my reservation.

Good job and thank you very much!

Room Tip: The west cottage is located furthest from the main inn and reports to be a bit more private.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

An absolutely top notch place to stay, relax and enjoy all that nature on the North Coast of California has to offer. Great food, drink and shop-hopping in the town of Mendocino = art colony and wine mecca. Nearby walking trails and interesting beaches and a nice wreck dive is also available for the water hounds.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

This is a truly unique location. Away from the town of Mendocino, in an isolated spot next to the lighthouse of Mendocino. Deer are walking around freely and at night it is just you, the lighthouse, the sea and the quietness. It is als a nice area to go for short walks or an early morning run.

I would definitely advise this B&B to others, however just beware if you ask for an exception. As we had decided to get married on the grounds of the property in a private ceremony with just us and the minister, we asked the caretaker if we could check in a bit earlier (around 1-2 pm instead of 3 pm) since we were arriving on the day of our wedding and wanted to refresh ourselves. However, the caretaker was rather uncooperative and formal when we contacted him before we arrived and told us we couldn't check in before 3 pm even after we explained our situation. We arrived early anyway and managed to check in early with another person who was there, so everything turned out all right. But this formal response did surprise me, especially considering the price you're paying for a stay.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cosmos_Estrela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosamond
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

I stayed at the Point Cabrillo Lighthouse Inn in July of 2009. The inn is located on an oceanside bluff on a nature preserve with miles of ocean trails and wildlife. The lighthouse is located several hundred yards down the road. The inn is beautifully restored and maintained. The inn has an enclosed porch in the front, a sitting room with a fireplace, a dining room, and upstairs are four lovely bedrooms, each with their own bathroom. This is a very pleasant and quiet place to stay. Jim, the innkeeper, and also the lighthouse keeper is very friendly and knowledgeable about the lighthouse and the history of the area. He is also very concerned that you have a pleasant stay here. The
inn serves 5-course gourmet breakfasts each morning, and I must say the food is most excellent and fulfilling. Jim also gives a complimentary tour of the lighthouse after the breakfast. This is an isolated and peaceful location, yet the town is only a few miles away. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosamondRosamondguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
3.3 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
4.7 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
3.3 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
4.2 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
5.7 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Cabrillo Light Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Cabrillo Light Station

Property: Point Cabrillo Light Station
Address: 45300 Litehouse Rd, Mendocino, CA 95460-9736 (Formerly Lighthouse Inn at Point Cabrillo)
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on the Mendocino coast in one of our vacation rental homes. We have two of the original Lightkeepers' houses and two cottages available for overnight stays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Inn At Point Cabrillo Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing