We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
132
37
7
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
37
7
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews raku house lemon bars scones the main house porch suite memorable visit free cookies private walkway local sausage edible flowers easy access to town ground coffee full bath juice and coffee garden cottage wood burning stove breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My husband and I refuse to stay anywhere else when visiting mendo! We love love love it! Shane and Lorraine Miller

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had the Fireplace 2 room suite reserved, but when we arrived decided to upgrade to one of the rooms on the ocean side of the inn. Our room had a nice deck overlooking the mouth of the river as it enters the ocean and the gardens of the inn.
The room was clean and cozy with a gas fired stove, the bed was comfortable. We enjoyed have a coffee maker with a nice supply of fresh ground coffee and a little fridge and mircowave.

Room Tip: The kitchen are downstairs in the main house of Alegria. In the morning we woke up from the noise. Next time we'll stay in a cottage.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelprofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Alegria for two nights and experienced a wonderful, peaceful and comfortable stay. We booked the Cottage Cove- the most expensive room they have, but the location was so well worth the extra expense. It was private (w/private deck overlooking where the Big River empties into the Pacific. Stunning views), comfortable and quiet. The room was clean. Furniture is a little dated, but nothing broken. The bed mattress was heaven-one of the best night rests we've had. After inquiry with the inn-keeper, found that they invested in organic latex mattresses for their rooms. What a great sleep experience it was, and says how much they care about their guest's sleeping comfort! The room came equipped with a small flat screen tv, a small fridge, wine glasses, bottle opener, a picnic board, coffee, tea, coffe maker, etc. The coffee was local and fresh, tea bags were a good, organic source. The bathroom had a shower, nice clean tiles, bath towels, etc. The breakfasts were outstanding: fresh-made chocolate waffles, organic meat sausage, fresh fruit, tea, apple juice, egg, cheese and veggie fritatas. They serve breakfast a little later at 9 am but am certain they could accomodate a request if you want to get out earlier. The innkeepers were friendly, accomodating and gave good info about where to eat in town, etc. The inn's location is great- right in town within walking distance to everything, but also right along the coastal cliffs. They have a private walk path that takes you down to the beach. All in all, a wonderful experience and we would certainly recommend this room and the inn to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed three nights in the Cove and absolutely loved it! Beautiful view. Cozy accommodations. Lush gardens. The breakfasts were fantastic. The people were very nice. What more can I say! if in Mendocino, this is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lv2TravelDelafield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We arrived in Mendocino without reservations. The receptionist at the Alegria offered us a choice of two rooms and let us look at both before deciding. We chose the Fireplace suite in a building just across the street from the main inn. We had a front porch with a bench and a great view of the water, a living room with a wood-burning fireplace (they leave the wood and kindling and paper ready to be lit -- nice touch), a bedroom with a queen bed, and one full bathroom and one half bathroom - for a very reasonable rate! The included breakfast was delivered to our door in a basket at exactly the time they said it would be -- warm scones, coffee, tea, and juice - very nice. We were surprised at how tiny the town is and the many empty storefronts. Harvest Market is a wonderful grocery store, and we ended up buying a rotisserie chicken and several side dishes for dinner as there were very few restaurants open. We priced rooms in other inns in town, and Alegria was a great deal. Our only complaint is that the mattress was not comfortable. Still, though, we would recommend this inn for a sweet getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEPHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews