We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raku House: quirky, but we liked it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alegria Oceanfront Inn and Cottages
Ranked #10 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We enjoyed our two-night stay at the Raku House which is part of the larger Alegria Oceanfront Inn across the street. We booked practically at the last minute and felt lucky to have found affordable accommodation over a Friday night in Mendocino. Although we were somewhat skeptical since it was still available when not much else was, there was no need to have worried. Situated in a well-kept garden, the Raku House is a charming craftsman bungalow that has been renovated into four guestrooms. Our room was comfortable, super clean and somewhat quirky (huge bathroom with clawfoot tub/shower shared with microwave and kitchen things.) The innkeepers are delightful people who personally toured us around the entire property: one of the few properties in Mendocino that has direct access to a large white sand beach. Breakfast, delivered to our door, was warm homemade muffins and scones with juice and coffee and there is a nice outdoor sitting area should you choose it. (The breakfast was tasty, but we felt that it could have easily been improved by including some California fruit.) Everything in Mendocino is an easy walk away and we never had to use our car. We'd stay here again but next time we’d book ahead for the room with the front porch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tad02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Alegria Oceanfront Inn and Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

We spent 3 nights in Driftwood Cottage, an very nicely designed space, cozy and very comfortable for the three of us. The bed in the loft was extremely comfortable. Breakfasts were fantastic, the hosts and other employees were extremely helpful, and the property really beautiful - nice views of the estuary from a hummingbird-filled garden. This is a great location from which to explore the vineyards along Route 128. It's also a short trip to the Mendocino Coast Botanical Garden in Fort Bragg, well-worth a half-day visit. Alegria also has a nice hot tub and an endless supply of homemade cookies and lemon bars.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlaserTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is a very nice location in Mendocino, with a path down to the beach, and walkable to everything in this small town. The main house is very pretty, and the staff and owners are very friendly and helpful. We're giving this only 3 stars because we didn't stay in the B&B proper, but rather the Village Farm Retreat, an apartment in an old house a few blocks away. The setting of the apartment is very nice, with a porch overlooking a quiet yard and garden. But the apartment is very musty, so much so that my wife's mold allergies were triggered. The apartment is also a bit worn, and you can hear the owners living next door (though that would be true for your average hotel room. It was very clean, and reasonably priced for Mendocino. But we wouldn't stay in this apartment again. I assume the actual B&B rooms are nicer.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I was generally impressed by Alegria - a great affordable option in Mendocino, which tends towards very pricy. The innkeepers are lovely and helpful, and the location of the main house - a restored victorian - is beautiful. Raku house, across the street where we stayed, is simpler and less fussy, which is actually to my taste.

We stayed in the Aloft room in Raku house. It is simple and incredibly spacious, with a lovely reading nook with a partial ocean view. There are aspects of the room that are a little funky (no drawers to unpack in, the closet is a nook with a curtain next to the main bed), but it is clean, airy, and roomy. We would stay there again but for one major issue: the beds. The room has a queen and two twins. The queen is a cheap, older mattress where you can feel the bedspring framing as you lie on it. One twin was saggy like a hammock and basically unusable. The other twin was acceptable but also sagged considerably. This might not be a big issue for some travelers but I have back problems and could not get a decent night's sleep on any of the beds.

Mendocino is incredibly pricy and this room might be a great bargain for the right folks if you don't mind a little quirkiness and older beds.

Room Tip: each room in this inn is different so look at their website carefully.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed in the Tree House room that is above a storage area. It is spacious and has nice views. It Also is very well appointed, if you were going to stay for a few days.

The breakfast was the best thought-out B&B breakfast we have ever had. Not the most lavish, but the most perfect. Excellent fruit, a lovely ramekin-full of eggs, cheese and some other stuff that tasted great, and maybe the best scone ever--with cardamom. We are tea drinkers and the selection of teas was excellent and they know how to make tea.

The owners are lovely people as well, and the grounds are pleasant. It is a long walk down to the beach, so i think many people will not make use of that amenity. But it is not far to walk the headlands, which we enjoyed.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the Tree House, which we liked very much.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chescat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We booked the "2 bedroom suite" in the raku house and couldn't have been more disappointed. Most significantly, the west room has no dresser or shelves. Literally. We asked and were told that there was a stand in the closet to make it easier to live out of our suit case. I subsequently talked to the owners who told me no one had ever mentioned it before. He then said he'd think about the problem for the future but the room was really too small for a dresser. Well, I think that would have been worth mentioning when I booked.
The rooms are billed as simple but they're actually barren and very worn. The full bath for the fireplace room is in the living room, another design flaw that wasn't mentioned.
The continental breakfast is a lovely idea and when we checked in we were asked how we liked our coffee; sadly, what we asked for wasn't supplied. It was readily available at the main house but that doesn't exactly count as breakfast delivered to your door. The owners had a vague interest in how things had gone wrong but didn't seem to actually think they needed to address it in terms of our stay.
Positives: the main building is lovely and the location is both beautiful and convenient. We would definitely not return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eleanor174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I recently enjoyed a short and relaxing stay at the Raku House East. The rooms was comfortable, clean and well appointed. The beds were great, and I had no problem sleeping despite the occasional noise from the upstairs neighbors (something to consider if you're a light sleeper). The staff are very pleasant, and owners knowledgeable offering good suggestions on places to eat and attractions to check out. I stayed midweek, when prices are a little more reasonable which is something to consider. I would stay here again, and I would be happy to recommend Alegria to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SM_burghound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.3 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.2 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
628 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegria Oceanfront Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria Oceanfront Inn and Cottages

Address: 44781 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: £99 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Alegria Oceanfront Inn And Cottages Hotel Mendocino
Oceanfront Inn Mendocino
Alegria Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing