We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sadly only one night”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Packard House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Packard House
Ranked #12 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sadly only one night”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Business pleasure trip only allowed for a one night stay but it was all worthwhile. Fantastic inn keepers, a wonderful wine greeting and a fabulous breakfast basket. We enjoyed our brief stay and plan on a longer return visit. I could say more but I would just be repeating all the wonderful things other guests have enjoyed here as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    25
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
99
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We returned to the Packard House after 11 years for an Anniversary stay and were delighted to find our stay even better than the first time. Same room but different inn keepers and we were lucky to have the owners (Damien and Andrew) taking great care of us and cooking two of the best breakfasts we have ever eaten in a B&B.
Our room was beautiful and spotless....nice view of the Pacific Ocean....comfortable bed and great shower. Nothing bad to say and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidPSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at Packard House for a couple of nights as part of our honeymoon.

We met a few different innkeepers here but all were very friendly and helpful. The room was fantastic - very comfortable, great toiletries and stylishly modern (the last point may make it almost unique in Mendocino according to our Internet research). Breakfast was a friendly affair with really lovely food and a choice of lots of different teas (or coffee).

It's a couple of roads back from the main street but Mendocino is so compact that that really doesn't matter - the location is good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Packard House for our 10 year anniversary trip. This was our first Bed and Breakfast experience and it was amazing. We stayed in the Kasten Cottage and the room was beautiful. We were greeted with a bottle of local wine to kick off our celebration. The breakfast basket is delivered at 9:00 each morning and is filled with freshly baked goods, yogurt, coffee/tea, fresh orange juice and fruit. From 4:00-5:00 during the wine hour, they have local white and red wines as well as olives and crackers. The house is located in the village and very close to the coast so we were able to walk everywhere. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephTimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Traveling a lot for business i tend to steer clear of any place too up scale for leisure, largely because i find them a little too formal/stand offish. Packard House was not in this category.
Jen, who looked after us for most of our stay was there when we needed her, a great breakfast chef and judging by her cooking (she was doing for other B&Bs) a great chef overall.
Mendocino was beautiful and Packhard House a modern day twist within a house from the 1800's. The linens, bathroom products and towels were of an excellent quality. Having Voss water complimentary in our room and wine and nibbles around 4.00 each day was a wonderful surprise.
The areas in Packhard House to relax and unwind were comfortable yet chic and equippped with beautiful books, games and brochures.
We loved it here.

Room Tip: We had the Pacific Room which was sea facing - nice view of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazzaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We thought this place was the best in town after touring about 4 other B&B's. It was clean, updated and modern, yet cozy and comfortable. Steve greeted us warmly by phone and then in person and met all of our needs with a smile. The bathrobes were super comfy and a nice touch and the jetted bathtub for 2 was amazing! They have a wine happy hour in the early evening which was really nice and breakfast was elegant. We highly recommend this place looking for a NICE place to stay in Mendocino, near everything too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
union city
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The bed and breakfast is different from the usual as it is modern and simple. No frilly things, everything from furniture, decor, to bedding are modern and warm at the same time. We wish our home would look like this. The room is very romantic, yet simplistic. Loved their pure white bedding, the toiletry they provided (Kiehl's!) and the best of all, their breakfast! Both the continental breakfast in the basket and the sit-down offerings were phenomenal. My husband did not want to leave the dining table because he wanted more of their delicious breakfast. It was like a gourmet restaurant experience.

We asked if we could borrow the thermal pot for our kayak trip, and they were happy to lend it to us. It kept my inside warm throughout the windy day.

The front garden was beautifully kept, after a walk around the coast, we would come back and sit at the porch to enjoy the garden. Everything was done and kept impeccably.
We would definitely return if we visit Mendacino again.

Room Tip: Gourmet sit-down breakfast! Don't miss it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.2 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Packard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Packard House

Property: Packard House
Address: 45170 Little Lake St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering sophisticated luxury in a casual coastal environment, the Packard House is a Mendocino bed and breakfast (one of the three Mendocino sister inns that make up Blue Door Group - Inns of Mendocino) is located in the heart of Mendocino Village. Downtown shops, beaches, trails, headlands, and fine dining are all within walking distance. Biking, kayaking and fishing are all nearby, and the fabulous wineries of Anderson Valley are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Packard House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing