We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and modern”
Review of Packard House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Packard House
Ranked #12 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely and modern”
Reviewed 24 October 2005

My husband and I recently stayed at Packard House in the Pacific View room. The inn was wonderful-I was initially concerned since the inn is small (only four rooms) and we do not usually stay at b&b style inns. Packard House was wonderful! From the service to the comfortable beds, deluxe bathrooms and breakfast basket delivered to your door...all was outstanding! We highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mojitogirlChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    25
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
99
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 October 2005

The Packard House is by far the best place to stay in Mendocino. The design, breakfast and staff are flawless. It is not your normal B&B (which we dont really seem to like...yucky lace). It is modern and fresh and CLEAN. They also respect your privacy which for us is a HUGE plus. We will only stay at the Packard House on our visits to Mendocino.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Packard House last November. I chose this B&B because it seemed to offer a nice alternative to the stuffy Victorian decor offered by most of the other places I looked into. We weren't let down. The entire place was modern and exhibited good taste. They played great music too, soft jazz. We stayed in the village view room, but had a chance to see all of the rooms the next morning. Our room was wonderful. It had high ceilings and was everything you could expect from the pictures. I will say that it was significantly larger than the other 3 rooms. I think this was because it was the only room located on the first floor. It also offered a jetted bath tub, which was exceptional.

Breakfast was wonderful as well. We were served a flaky pear pastry followed by a delicious egg souffle. I usually don't like eggs and I feared when I found out what was to be served the next morning, but to my surprise it was super tasty. This was the first time my boyfriend and I had stayed a B&B and overall we had a great experience staying at the Packard House.

As for the reviewer who complained about the Pacific view room-
In their defense there isn't much of an ocean view, but it's a beautiful room and everything else about it makes up for that.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mshday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 September 2003

The Packard House was a wonderful place to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Maria and Dan, the proprietors, were friendly and so very helpful. Maria is an excellent cook, so the breakfasts were scrumptious. Our room, The Pacific View Room, was lovely. It was exactly as we had expected from the photo on their website. The king bed was luxurious, and the whirlpool tub was made for two! We meet some wonderful people there and felt at home. We recommend it to anyone who plans a visit to Mendocino. The trip up Rt.1 along the California Coast is breathtaking. It should be one of the seven wonders of the World.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 August 2003

I just ran across This review while for places to stay on my next vacation. I was shocked to read the review that was given to the C.O. Packard House B&B. We have stayed there every year now for the past four years and we particularly love the Pacific View Room . The "small heater" is a beatifully trimmed gas fireplace that really heats up the room,my guess is that these guests probably were unable to figure out how to operate it. The TV is hidden inside an elegent 1800's Armoire and yes when the doors are open they block the View window but then you are watching TV!. The Inn was built in the late 1800's and the Owners recently did a Major renevation including elegent Bathrooms with Marble and tile showers and large Jet Tubs elegent fine linens on King size beds .All these aminities make the Packard House my choice for a Bed and Breakfast stay
The Staff has always been attentive , looking after all our needs,reservations,Massages or anything we requested they have taken care of us. Maybe these particular Guests have never stayed at a B&B and do not realize that most Inns are operated and owned by one or two people a small staff .We personally like small B&B's the best, We like the personal service and contact with the owners.We have met the nicest people with similar interests,both over wine in the afternoon and Breakfast and ..oh yes,The Breakfast at the Packard House is the Best! We encourage everyone to stay there , We know you will enjoy it as we have.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 April 2003

We were really disappointed with this Bed and Breakfast Inn for the following reasons. The whole house was cold except for a small heater in our room. The room was small and poorly arranged. It was labled the Pacific View room which it did have a view of the Pacific Ocean which was about .5 miles from the window. If you wanted to watch TV you had to open a cabinet door to access the TV. Guess what. The cabinet door covered the only window which was supposed to view the ocean. The Toilet area was in a use-to-be clothes closet with a very low ceiling. The sink was partially plugged so you really could not let the water run for very long. And the real problem was the rudeness of the staff. We received an important phone call but the staff would not put it through to us because phone lines not set up to transfer to each room. We would not recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone especially at the high price they charge.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.2 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Packard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Packard House

Property: Packard House
Address: 45170 Little Lake St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering sophisticated luxury in a casual coastal environment, the Packard House is a Mendocino bed and breakfast (one of the three Mendocino sister inns that make up Blue Door Group - Inns of Mendocino) is located in the heart of Mendocino Village. Downtown shops, beaches, trails, headlands, and fine dining are all within walking distance. Biking, kayaking and fishing are all nearby, and the fabulous wineries of Anderson Valley are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Packard House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing