We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”
Review of Packard House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Packard House
Ranked #12 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice B&B”
Reviewed 21 May 2006

We had a comfortable enjoyable weekend at the Packard House. The breakfast and hospitality were good. The room was comfortable and the house was nicely updated. Some old B&B's can lack modern comforts, but this one seems pretty well upgraded. The views are ok but not spectacular.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bdh1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    26
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
101
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 April 2006

I recently spent two nights in the Pacific View room of the Packard House. It's easily the most stylish B&B I've ever stayed in, and feels like you're living in the Restoration Hardware catalog. The breakfast was delicious and equally stylish. Each afternoon the hosts set up wine and snacks in a sitting room downstairs. The staff was friendly and professional. Unfortunately I feel that the view of the "Pacific View" room is oversold; yes, there is a distant view of the ocean through the one small window, which you'll enjoy on the way to the bathroom, but that's about the only time. I actually think this borders on false advertising. The fireplace did not work, but I'm willing to accept that was a fluke given the very high level of attention paid to the property in general. The upside to being a few blocks off Main Street is that it's really quiet.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2005

We loved the Packard House! We stayed here for threee nights of our honeymoon, in the Pacific View room, and we fell in love. It's only a short walk to the Headlands State Park, where bluffs, cliffs and beaches are plentiful. The B&B provides a wonderful breakfast in the morning; we had artichoke suffle and seared pears.

The artwork and design of the house are impressive and tasteful. The house was built in the 1800s, but it looks very modern inside. The front lawn was very gardenesque and made for a pretty picture.

The service was great, although there is not someone there 24 hours. They loan DVDs to the guests and provide cable television. Damien was especially helpful and friendly. They will even set up a picnic for the guests, blanket included.

The bathtub was huge and very relaxing, though we did have a problem with the drain on our last evening. The complimentary bath products were excellent and suitable for either gender.

My only complaint is that there was only one trash can--in the toilet room. There was no place to dispose of waste in the bedroom or bath area. We had to make do with paper bags from the market.

The best part of the stay: the bed! It was so comfy and topped with down pillows. One of the most comfortable beds in which I've ever slept.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StephanieMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2005

My husband and I recently stayed at Packard House in the Pacific View room. The inn was wonderful-I was initially concerned since the inn is small (only four rooms) and we do not usually stay at b&b style inns. Packard House was wonderful! From the service to the comfortable beds, deluxe bathrooms and breakfast basket delivered to your door...all was outstanding! We highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mojitogirlChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 October 2005

The Packard House is by far the best place to stay in Mendocino. The design, breakfast and staff are flawless. It is not your normal B&B (which we dont really seem to like...yucky lace). It is modern and fresh and CLEAN. They also respect your privacy which for us is a HUGE plus. We will only stay at the Packard House on our visits to Mendocino.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Packard House last November. I chose this B&B because it seemed to offer a nice alternative to the stuffy Victorian decor offered by most of the other places I looked into. We weren't let down. The entire place was modern and exhibited good taste. They played great music too, soft jazz. We stayed in the village view room, but had a chance to see all of the rooms the next morning. Our room was wonderful. It had high ceilings and was everything you could expect from the pictures. I will say that it was significantly larger than the other 3 rooms. I think this was because it was the only room located on the first floor. It also offered a jetted bath tub, which was exceptional.

Breakfast was wonderful as well. We were served a flaky pear pastry followed by a delicious egg souffle. I usually don't like eggs and I feared when I found out what was to be served the next morning, but to my surprise it was super tasty. This was the first time my boyfriend and I had stayed a B&B and overall we had a great experience staying at the Packard House.

As for the reviewer who complained about the Pacific view room-
In their defense there isn't much of an ocean view, but it's a beautiful room and everything else about it makes up for that.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mshday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 September 2003

The Packard House was a wonderful place to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Maria and Dan, the proprietors, were friendly and so very helpful. Maria is an excellent cook, so the breakfasts were scrumptious. Our room, The Pacific View Room, was lovely. It was exactly as we had expected from the photo on their website. The king bed was luxurious, and the whirlpool tub was made for two! We meet some wonderful people there and felt at home. We recommend it to anyone who plans a visit to Mendocino. The trip up Rt.1 along the California Coast is breathtaking. It should be one of the seven wonders of the World.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.2 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#5 of 25 in Mendocino
474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Joshua Grindle Inn
Joshua Grindle Inn
#7 of 25 in Mendocino
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Packard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Packard House

Property: Packard House
Address: 45170 Little Lake St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering sophisticated luxury in a casual coastal environment, the Packard House is a Mendocino bed and breakfast (one of the three Mendocino sister inns that make up Blue Door Group - Inns of Mendocino) is located in the heart of Mendocino Village. Downtown shops, beaches, trails, headlands, and fine dining are all within walking distance. Biking, kayaking and fishing are all nearby, and the fabulous wineries of Anderson Valley are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Packard House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing