We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of JD House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
JD House
Ranked #13 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had an enjoyable stay in J.D. House. The breakfastsoo were delicious and plentiful, the room was spotless and the bed was very comf delicious breakfasts, luxurious bath products, spotlessly clean room, fast and reliable wifi, helpful and pleasant staff. A great Northern California experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    35
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
97
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
louisville, ky
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The check in was very easy, friendly, organized. They had tea and brownies (buffet style) waiting for us when we checked in. The room was really clean and fresh. We stayed in the Water Tower on the side of the B & B. Just beautiful and romantic. I just loved the old Water Tower built in 1867. It was the best night sleep. In the morning, breakfast was ready, hot, and hearty (buffet style). The cook was just like Mom. The scones she made was so delicious!! I never had cheesy grits, but, the way she made them was sooo good! Me and my husband had a really beautiful and memorable time there. I highly recommend this place for a romance.

Room Tip: Water Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank directedbyhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Beautiful house with great furniture and design. The rooms we had were Port and Starboard and they were good but with no view. The service was very poor, when asked out a breakfast box as we were leaving very early the last morning they refused and said that it wasn't available. Disappointed with the service but the house is nice

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabe1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Hard to believe they haven't met a vegan in their time of hosting travelers from all over the world. But that's the way Mary reacted when we said we didn't eat quiche. Could have nibbled on cold cereal and fruit I guess, but we preferred having full breakfast at Ravens, about a mile outside town. Aside from that unwelcoming welcome on our first day, we didn't see innkeeper Mary again. We trudged up the steep stairway to our spartan room -- $166.50 per night doesn't buy much in Mendo! -- enjoyed our two days in Touristville.

Room Tip: Gotta pay $300 a night to get anything decent there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevekey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwood, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We enjoy long weekends in Mendocino 3 or 4 times every year, finding our way to this inn as our favorite spots were occupied by a visiting movie film crew. If B&B's were judged by their breakfasts alone, this would be among the Top 10. Especially the fresh fruit and fresh-baked scones, warm from the kitchen and regularly refreshed by a cheerful Becky. Positives include nice appointments in bath and small sitting room, comfy mattress and lovely linens, and an efficient housecleaning staff. Online, it looks like the ideal inn -- centrally located and inviting. Once ensconced though, it falls short of the photos. "Cramped" is an understatement for our bedroom. A huge four-poster with chipped paint dominates the space, at the foot of which is a pine armoire, leaving mere inches to get past it, sideways. What could its owners be thinking, we wondered? So easy to fix this flaw by moving the armoire into the sitting room opposite the bathroom. We had requested the quietest room, offering the most privacy. Unfortunately there was nothing private or quiet about this downstairs unit. Poor plumbing insulation allowed every sound in the upstairs bathroom to be heard clearly; every flush and tub draining seemed like a cascade of water enveloping our bedroom. The stairway leading from the 2 second floor units runs right behind the head of the bed, so thumping up and down the stairs interrupted snoozing or relaxing with a book. The windows, which were described at booking as 'looking out on the garden,' also gave a view of guests passing by at all hours, canceling any thought of privacy while enjoying daylight. Crammed as we were between the water-y activities upstairs and being over the pump for the hot tubs, we propelled ourselves outside despite the rain. Not a bad thing at all since walks on The Headlands are always an invigorating highlight whatever the weather. Too bad cheap construction overrides the effect of a cozy room in an historic Mendocino building, to which we will not return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor and stay away from those below. All rooms at the back of the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonomaValleyWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

I cannot think of a more gracious welcome than that received last week from Becky, former chef at Cafe Beaujolais, and Nan, wine steward at Roederer's. Most B&b's in Mendocino seem to follow the late morning breakfast hour and JD House is no exception. But guests can enter the dining room at 8, pour coffee or tea, and read the morning's paper. As an alternative, one can head to Moody's on Lansing for latte, cappuccino, or mocha. But back in the inn, real magic begins. We found some of the best fresh fruit served along with the legendary scones and perfect jam (not too sweet). Although some kind of egg dish is featured each day, three types of cereals are available.

We like the rooms facing Albion Street, accessed through a private parking area. These are more modern and have great views, especially those on the upper floor. A beautiful private garden separates the two buildings. As has been pointed out, both hosts dispense lots of suggestions. Although we always include a visit to Cafe Beaujolais with its upscale and expensive fare, we also like to balance this with more reasonable tabs. Mendocino Cafe is very popular with locals, but the service was too erratic for our tastes (heavy sauce given when light sauce requested). Next time we will try once again the bar menu at the McCallum House, with fine residential views and fresh produce.

I hope more guests will discover the pleasures of the JD House. Certainly the hosts are far more flexible and amenable than that of the Headlands Inn. I do wish, however, that prices could be a bit softer and that the owner check plumbing in bathtub. Otherwise, we'll done!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M-man11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My husband and I are here for 3 nights. We are disappointed. Jacuzzi jets are almost non existent, no wifi in our room as advertised, and water in main house for tea is luke warm at best, and theres no microwave in sight. We come to Mendo every 4 months and have paid $112-$400/night. This is about in the middle for price, but the only thing it has going for it is cleanliness and location. I called and informed the staff that I wasnt able to access the internet, and would like to know if another room was available that may allow me wifi access, she was less than friendly. She rudely stated she would let me know at breakfast, as she was busy helping guests. At breakfast she never mentioned it?? We arent difficult people and only want what we paid for. Instead she made me feel like I was burdening her. Will never stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkmilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.1 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JD House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JD House

Property: JD House
Address: 571 Ukiah St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious country style with tremendous ocean views and gorgeous English gardens, this Mendocino bed and breakfast (one of the three Mendocino sister inns that make up Blue Door Group — Inns of Mendocino) is the epitome of seaside charm. Gaze at the rugged coastal cliffs as you linger over coffee on the spacious back veranda. Stroll through the stunning and fragrant vegetation. Pick the Queen Deluxe Water View room with a private 12′ x 14′ deck with 180 degree views. Or choose the quirky Watertower room or cozy Kit’s Cabin for a “very Mendocino” experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Dougherty House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing