We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Mendocino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Ranked #6 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mendocino”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Lovely clean tasteful property. Excellent food, if vegan cooking is your preference. Extremely helpful friendly staff. Very clean salt pool and spa. We enjoyed walking through the magnificent flower and vegetable gardens. A real wood burning fireplace was a treat. And most important dogs are welcome everywhere, except the pool area. We look forward to returning and experiencing winter in Mendocino.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susitaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you for your review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    81
    24
    12
    12
See reviews for
107
263
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Great "high end" resort type accommodation that welcomes your traveling pet...pet fee is slightly higher at $45 than many hotels (although, less than some snooty hotels.) Rooms are lovely with decks all facing the sea, which is in the distance, and every room has a wood burning fireplace.
The restaurant serves vegan dishes....FABULOUS food. A feast for a vegetarian and a pleasant surprise, but even my "must eat meat everyday" husband totally enjoyed the meat free dinner and breakfast. If in the area (especially with your pet) this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Two rooms on either side of the laundry area may be a bit more noisy than other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you for your review! We hope to welcome you back to the Inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We love the Stanford property -- it is lovely to walk around, the greenhouse covered pool is terrific (since you rarely find a pool in Mendocino) and it’s a short walk to the river//ocean. The rooms are well-maintained -- the bathrooms are clean but not luxurious. We are, however, not vegans so we always end up going off-property for most meals. The owners seem to be very nice people and like many people over the years they have grown more ardent in their personal views (or they are just sharing more). Either way, and while they may ultimately be right, I don't necessary want to ponder if eating eggs is cruel to chickens when trying to spend a romantic day on the coast. If you don't read the newsletter/blog they offer, you can blissfully go on your way (but don't expect bacon or any meat for breakfast). If the mere presence of such literature bothers you, you probably should skip the entire county. The town of Mendocino is close -- about a 5 minute drive (not a great walk since it’s a busy bridge/road to cross). This property is also wonderfully dog friendly. We will go again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxNomadTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you for your review! We enjoyed having you here and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

While it seems a bit extravagant, the amenities at the Standford Inn in Mendocino make the nightly cost extremely affordable. Amenities include: indoor pool and jacuzzi on site inside of a beautiful greenhouse with tropical plants and no strong chlorine smell, yoga, bikes, coffee/tea and desert every afternoon, and breakfast every morning. The restaurant serves gourmet vegan cuisine. There are also canoe/kayak rentals next to the property for a paddle up the Big River (also next to the property). Dogs are welcome and the organic garden is just beautiful. Just two days at the Standford Inn and I am rejuvenated!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that you felt rejuvenated at the Inn - it's what we strive to accomplish. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willits, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

We live inland from the coast about 30 miles. Once in awhile the ocean calls. Last night was one of those nights. We hear the ads for the Raven restaurant on the radio all the time. I am a vegetarian, but not a vegan and I had my fears. We went with open minds and I have to say it was by far one of if not the best dinning experiences of my life. First, the food was great. It was so much fun being able to order anything on the menu, not having to find things without meat. Second, the setting was beautiful. The view of the ocean was amazing and the sunset was to die for. Third, the service was great. Young wait staff that was professional and funny,with a smile at all requests. Our waiter was attentive without being intrusive. When asked what his favorite dinner is he had no problem telling us and knew the menu very well. When ordering dessert do not pass up the pecan torte,it was the best dessert I have ever had. Patrick in Willits

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're so happy that you enjoyed your dinner at the Ravens! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I've stayed at the Stanford Inn many times over the past 12 or so years. It is my #1 place to go when I need to tune out the world and relax. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and you cannot beat sitting on the balcony in the evening with a glass of wine, a fire in the fireplace and a view of the grounds and ocean (weather permitting). The breakfast in the morning is excellent. The indoor pool is wonderful, massage services great . The Stanfords encourage a organic and green living lifestyle and that's nice to see. The staff are always very nice and dogs are welcome. I bring my 2 border collies with me and we visit the Llamas on the property, explore the town and go for a swim in the river in the afternoons or head up to the Botanical Gardens where dogs are welcome and take a nice walk out to the cliffs.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor if you can for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljgracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you for your kind words! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The Stanford Inn is the place to stay in Mendocino. It has beautiful rooms, including suites, each with decks with a view of the Pacific, as well as a fireplace. Situated next to the Big River, it has free use of canoes and other boats, as well as bicycles, which can be used on the trails in the state park immediately across the Big River. It has an interesting organic garden in front, as well as horses and llamas. It also has a large indoor swimming pool, an exercise room, and a massage studio. The price of a room includes breakfast at the first class Ravens Restaurant, which is vegetarian (actually vegan). We have stayed here three times and have enjoyed each stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
We’re very happy to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn. We very much appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon! - Joan Stanford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.6 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
616 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
692 reviews
4.1 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
609 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Inn by the Sea

Property: Stanford Inn by the Sea
Address: Highway 1 & Comptche Ukiah Road, PO Box 487, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Inn by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside, the exquisite Stanford Inn sits atop a meadow overlooking Mendocino Bay. Embodying the best of the rugged Mendocino Coast, the Inn is a haven. The rambling lobby, guest rooms, and suites are paneled in pine and redwood. Every detail is attended to, from wood-burning fireplaces set and ready to light to the sumptuous organic breakfasts. Inspired by the Stanford's Certified Organic gardens, The Ravens' restaurant is outstanding and nationally acclaimed for its vegetarian cuisine. Guests are indulged at the Inn's Massage in the Forest and private yoga sessions. Canoeing and kayaking on Big River, California's new State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stanford Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Inn By The Sea Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing