We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Nearby Hotels
US$96
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$274
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little River Inn(Little River)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage House Resort(Little River)(Great Value!)
US$203
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast Inn & Spa(Fort Bragg)
US$111
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shoreline Cottages(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Motel and Gardens(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Dolphin Inn & Mini Golf(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Lodge Motel(Fort Bragg)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveller rating
364
87
24
13
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
87
24
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvegan restaurantbig riverravens restaurantindoor poolorganic gardenplant basedcooking classyoga classesspa servicesvegan breakfasteco resorthot tub and saunawood burning fireplacecanoe ridebike rentalstofuchocolate chip cookies
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 501 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Wow! What a place that exudes good and peaceful feelings... the setting is beautiful, the gardens are beautiful... The check in was smooth, the staff friendly and helpful. W had reserved the leaset expensive room, the Petite River Room, with a queen sized bed. (The bed could have been just a little bit more comfy, but it wasn't bad...). She walked us to our room to orient us to our room, including how to use the fireplace, and where things were. The room was spacious with a balcony that overlooked the gardens and a distant view of the sea. The gardens were beautiful, with walking areas between flower beds... A wonderful raised garden area supplies their vegetarian restaurant with food for the restaurant, Raven. It was all beautiful... And relaxing. We have a small dog that goes everywhere with us... Stanford Inn welcomes your dog, both to stay in the room, as well as to accompany you into a part of the dining area. Everyone seems to have brought their dogs, and it was amazingly peaceful. The only negative I can think of regarding this is if you don't like dogs, well... this may not be the place for you. Also, they do charge a $45 fee for the dog, which includes a vege chew stick, bowls, and protective sheets for the furniture, in the event the dog gets up on the bed. For my little dog, who weighs less than 7 lbs and didn't need any of that, this seemed a bit steep of a price. But, it's only money, right?
The room rate includes a cook to order vegetarian breakfast... The French toast was delicious with their homemade cinnamon bread. My husband enjoyed the cooked potatoes with veges... We had had dinner there the night before and it was also surprisingly good. We are not vegans, so it was fun to see all that they did with no meat, dairy, eggs, but just veggies!
We definitely will be back, maybe when we have time to take one of their ecotours, or kayak the Big River which is right there... This would also make a fun girls trip, as The little town of Mendicino is only a short ride away filled with fun shops and cafes.

Room Tip: The Petite River, lower level room is the one we booked and it was absolutely lovely! If traveling with someone, the room next door shared the balcony with a small divider between, making that an ideal arrangement. For us, the adjoining room was not occupied, so if worked out great.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klasical1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we are glad that you enjoyed everything overall. The room that you were in is also a favorite to most of our front desk staff, and is often requested by returning guests through-out the years. All our best to you, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

the Stanford Inn by the Sea in Mendocino is the most pet friendly inn we have ever visited.
I am a steak & potato man, but the organic vegetarian meals here are excellent, and i didn't miss the fatty foods at all.
The rooms are very nice and offer real wood burning fireplaces, wood paneling , and terrific views of the ocean, and their own gardens, from which they grow their own food.
The pets are treated like kings, you may even dine with them in a separate room, and they are offered organic treats also.
We have returned several times over the years, and we still find it reasonable(a breakfast is included in the room charge)and will continue to go back again & again

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you, Paul, for writing about your stay with us. We are so glad you had a great time, and we truly look forward to welcoming you again in the future! All our best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband and I were unable to get a room for the night there as there was no vacancy, but we arrived during happy hour, so we had appetizers and a margarita. The food was so good that we want to go back and try everything on the menu, and we aren't even vegans. The margarita was also as good as any we had ever had, and half price. Amazing happy hour deal and food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellenrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We lucked onto this place by just looking around but as soon as we got out of the car we fell in love, we were surprised at the restaurant being vegan but fell in love with 5 start cuisine made only form vegetables, worth the experience

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEOdiscoveries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent a long weekend at the Stanford Inn and really enjoyed ourselves. The service was good, friendly, welcoming but not intrusive. The rooms are a bit old, but they have done their best to add nice little touches that make you look past the age of the place (bathrobes, wood-burning fireplaces with fires prepared so all you have to do is light the match and keep adding wood, flat screen tvs with DVD players, CD players, iPod dock/stereo, etc). The hotel is quite a bit back from the water, but the grounds are gorgeous, peaceful and invite you to relax. And it is a short walk to the old highway where there is a nice view of the little village of Mendocino. They are very dog friendly -special sheets left in room to cover bed/furniture if you allow your dog on the furniture, special treat left in the room for the dog each day, dog food and water bowls in the room, poop bag dispensers throughout the grounds, and the dogs are allowed everywhere on the grounds, even the restaurant. The restaurant is vegan (meaning no meat, fish, eggs, dairy), we did not have dinner there but the breakfasts were tasty, but you need to be adventurous as the menu descriptions could be scary if you are not. They also serve an afternoon tea and dessert to hotel guests, and we had a nice (healthy) treat each afternoon. We did not take advantage of the pool or hot tub, but they looked good. We did enjoy the Catch A Canoe two hour tour that went up the big river (on a custom made outrigger canoe that is solar and sail powered- which was handy when we headed back and the wind and tide were coming in). We did not take our dog on the tour but we could have rented a canoe and taken her out on our own. I would highly recommend the hotel to friends traveling with their dogs (or those who wish they were traveling with their dogs-there were a bunch to say hello to at the Inn) or are vegan.

Room Tip: The door to the rooms are not that sound proof, you can hear people on the walk/hall, I would recommend a room at the end of the building if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews