We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Family Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Ranked #6 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Family Stay”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Stanford Inn is a great Eco-Resort that offers outstanding hospitality paired with comfort and delicious food. We are not Vegans, but our stay afforded us a rich opportunity to experience another dietary culture. Our entire family of six enjoyed the Inn and all the wonderful adventures the area offers. Our granddaughters thoroughly enjoyed the pool, animals, and gardens. Joan and Jeff Stanford are great hosts and literally deck the halls for the Yule time holidays!

Room Tip: The Barn Suite was a great choice for our family. While only one bath, the suite is spacious and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank park516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
We are so glad that you and your family were able to join us for the holidays! The Barn Suite is a great choice, and we are thrilled to hear that it worked well for everyone. We wish all of you well in the New Year, and hope to welcome you back again. All our best to you & family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    80
    24
    12
    12
See reviews for
105
257
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
210 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

First stayed at this hotel about 25 years ago--it was nice then, and has now added a lot of rooms and a lobby restaurant.

The rooms have views of a large farm/corral area, complete with signature lamas. A peek of ocean is also there.

At Christmas, the whole place is beautifully decorated, even the rooms. Excellent gift shop/bookstore in the lobby. VERY dog-friendly!

A bit pricey, but worth it. A major up-or-downside is the 100% vegan restaurant. Creative, but boring after a few days. Try the sea-palm dinner--local tidepool plants much different from kelp!

Room Tip: Corner view room 214 is quiet and high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harold b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you so much for the nice write-up, and thank you for returning to the Inn for all of these years. We wish you the very best in the New Year, and hope to welcome you again soon. Again, we thank you and appreciate your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband and I are not vegas but the food at the hotel was surprisingly good! We have stayed twice, one for a weekend getaway and previously for our babymoon. Our dog came both times and loved the grounds.

They offer spa treatments on site, which we both had. My service was good but was a little unique (almost like a Thai massage where they used their feet). I felt amazing after and very relaxed.

The hotel feels like a cabin but with the luxuries of a nice hotel. Definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMarieSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
So glad to hear to you had a great experience with us! The Thai Massage has always been a unique favorite, and yes, very relaxing. We hope the New Year is treating you and your family well, and wish to welcome you back someday - with the new addition(congratulations!)! All our best to you & family, and thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stanford Inn & Raven Restaurant in Mendocino, CA
My wife and I stayed at the Stanford Inn over the Christmas holiday 2013. They had a Christmas dinner with a fixed menu at a high price of $65 per person. The service at the restaurant Raven was bad as we had hard time getting our waitress's attention to come over to our table to talk about the problems with our food. They didn’t come over to see how our food was after serving us. The starter of Red and green ravioli stuffed with squash, served with a beurre blac sauce which sounded good, but lacking much flavor. The entrée we had was the Encrusted Tofu, which was very dry without much flavor.

Our room Forest Executive had a broken chair next to our bed and very large air gaps from the porch door, which made our room cold at night. We had a very hard time booking the Inn during Christmas for two nights because they said the have a three night minimum, but on their website you can book the inn for two nights for the Christmas holiday, but you have to wait till later in the year to do so. They seem to make such a big deal about booking three nights only even though for two years we’ve been able to book two nights during the Christmas holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gregorymayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Mr. Mayfield,

We are very sorry to hear about your experience at Ravens on Christmas. Our hope is that guests feel very well treated not the opposite. We are an organic restaurant, and our food costs are extremely high. We received excellent reviews on our dinner, but understand that taste is obviously highly subjective. We do appreciate your feedback regarding our service and will address this immediately.

There is no excuse for the chair in your room. Very disturbing that we didn't catch that.

In regards to your frustration with booking your reservation, again we extend our apologies. We have always held to a 3 night minimum for Christmas time, releasing rooms as necessary closer to the date. None the less, when you attempted to re-book at check-out as a happy returning guest, we mishandled this. We very much appreciate our "returners", and are sadly disappointed to hear that we may have lost one here.

We wish you the best in the new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Everything about the place was excellent. The staff, the rooms, the wood burning fireplaces, the land and of course the food! Fabulous. I am not a vegan, but if I could eat like this everyday I would reconsider. And Mendocino is a beautiful place to visit. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you, George, for the kind review. We are glad to know that you had such a wonderful stay...can't wait to welcome you back! All the best in the New Year to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Yes, the Stanford Inn is expensive, but you get your money's worth. One of the best doggie friendly hotels, your dogs get sweet potato chips every night and fresh dog sheets. Water and food bowls are in the room. Doggie walker bags and trash cans are spread throughout their beautiful property which includes llamas, donkeys and ducks. The Ravens vegan restaurant allows dogs in the outer dining area so when you make a reservation, mention that you pups will be dining with you. Yeah, the dogs are well taken care of, but what about me? You get cookies in your room every night, access to one of the best vegan restaurants around (open breakfast/lunch/dinner), a comfortable/peaceful room and the hotel is near outdoor activities. Right next to the hotel is a place to rent bikes or an outrigger canoe. Highly recommend the outrigger canoe and paddle up the river. We saw 2 sets of river otters, seals and blue heron all within an hour of paddling. Massage therapists are hit-and-miss - Ask the front desk for their recommendation on who to get. The hot tub is great! Nice and hot with pounding jets! One note about the restaurant, Ravens - I'm not vegan and I still loved the food. Excellently prepared, not a bad meal, ever.

Stanford Inn is my #1 choice to stay in Mendocino. Well worth it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful stay, both you and the pups!
Though Ravens' isn't open for lunch (just breakfast/dinner), we're glad to know you so enjoyed.
We hope to see you again soon, and wish you a wonderful Christmas and all good things to come in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The West
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We were so delighted with our first night at Stanford Inn we chose to add another day to enjoy all of the wonderful hospitality, beautiful grounds and fabulous food for another evening. We also gave a gift certificate to another couple so they could enjoy this little piece of heaven ,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austrianpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and thank you once more for choosing us as a gift to your friends. We look forward to seeing them here, and hope to welcome you back as well! Merry Christmas to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.6 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
680 reviews
4.1 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Inn by the Sea

Property: Stanford Inn by the Sea
Address: Highway 1 & Comptche Ukiah Road, PO Box 487, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Inn by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside, the exquisite Stanford Inn sits atop a meadow overlooking Mendocino Bay. Embodying the best of the rugged Mendocino Coast, the Inn is a haven. The rambling lobby, guest rooms, and suites are paneled in pine and redwood. Every detail is attended to, from wood-burning fireplaces set and ready to light to the sumptuous organic breakfasts. Inspired by the Stanford's Certified Organic gardens, The Ravens' restaurant is outstanding and nationally acclaimed for its vegetarian cuisine. Guests are indulged at the Inn's Massage in the Forest and private yoga sessions. Canoeing and kayaking on Big River, California's new State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Stanford Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Inn By The Sea Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing