We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Ranked #6 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I think this is my new favorite place to stay. I am a vegan about 70% of the time- vegetarian the rest. The restaurant was fabulous- so nice to look on the menu and not have to narrow it down to a few choices... The grounds were beautiful- llamas, gardens, pond, indoor swimming pool. Our room had a cozy wood burning fireplace and a selection of reading material that included Architectural Digest and Art News. We also saw the 4th of July parade in Mendocino which was great fun.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Burbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed your holiday weekend in Mendocino, and we hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Can't say enough good things about this space. We could only stay one night (they usually require 2, but I called a few days before we arrived and they had one room for one night). On arrival (3:00pm) there's tea and cobbler in the lounge area. Plenty of space in the room overlooking the organic garden that you should walk about in. There's a covered saltwater pool, hot tub, and spa open 8:00-10:00pm. Raven's restaurant is vegetarian/Vegan with some raw dishes, what we tried for dinner and breakfast was very tasty. Dogs welcome anywhere including the restaurant, although we don't have one. The room has a fireplace with wood and kindling already set up, there's a seating area outside and fridge and coffee maker in the room. It's a short drive (3 min) to the headlands shops by the see, great walk.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks for the great review, Paul, it sounds like you had a great time. We love to hear that! Also, wonderful pictures - thank you for sharing. Hope to see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a lovely inn-- rustic charm with woodburning fireplaces (already laid for a fire), decks overlooking the ocean, sumptuous plants everywhere and the kind of attention to detail that makes you glad you landed here (like homemade cookies in your room every night). We thoroughly enjoyed strolling the gardens, the proximity to terrific hiking, and the pool was very well done. Dogs are welcome here, and they are in abundance. Service was friendly and efficient. The only downside for us was the food. The menu is vegan-- great for those who want a vegan menu or require a gluten-free diet, but some items, like the spicy scrambled tofu, are just awful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for the kind and honest review. It sounds like you had a great time at the Inn! We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal at The Ravens'. I am not sure what dish you tried, as I don't recognize the name from our menu. If you would like to email us directly we are happy to look into this. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience, and we hope to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We chose to stay here for a romantic get-away, and were not disappointed. Everything: the service (wonderful staff), the view, the comfy (very large) room, the food--was amazing. Can't wait to come back, but I'd want to stay longer to enjoy all there is to offer.

If you're looking for a luxurious place, look no further. Stay here!

Room Tip: Any room has a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1JuliP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

What beautiful photos you have captured! Thank you for sharing, and we will pass on the kind words to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and our dogs have stayed here several times over the last 15 years. Most recently for his birthday in April. We are always welcomed like old friends. The property sits off the highway so there are lovely ocean and territorial views. We usually get the larger suite at the far end of the property which is a bit pricier but perfect for special occasions. All rooms have balconies, TVs, Mini frig, sound system and fresh baked cookies each day for humans and canines. The organic gardens on the property are wonderful to stroll and there is also an indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. Massage, yoga and other activities are offered for additional cost.
Ravens, the vegan restaurant on the property is a destination for everyone on the coast, not just guests of the Stanford. We aren't vegans but have always enjoyed the innovative and delicious food served here. Guests with dogs can sit in a special dining room and feel the comraderrie with other dog lovers. There is a lovely grand piano which we have been fortunate to hear a guest play each time we stayed. The canoe and bike rental facility is a brief walk from the Inn and you can spend the day paddling up the River. The Inn is also only a 5 minute drive from the village of Mendocino. We have been staying at fantastic places in Mendocino for decades and the Stanford Inn is our hands down favorite.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mosinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We look forward to welcoming you back, and appreciate you taking the time to write about us. Until next time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Spacious, lovely room with a deck overlooking the garden made this a wonderful 2 night stay in peaceful Mendocino. Had planned only 1 night but enjoyed it so much we extended. A bit pricey, but still cheaper than the other nicer rooms in the area, and much nicer than most. Really enjoyed the fireplace since evenings were chilly. Room was very well appointed and inviting.

Vegan breakfast may not appeal to all, but we enjoyed the opportunity to taste this fare.

Staff was very gracious, especially Serena, who helped us choose our specific room. Would loved to have stayed here longer but schedule required us to move on.

Room Tip: Get a balcony overlooking the beautiful garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanandMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write, and we are so glad you enjoyed your time at our Inn. We will pass your kind words on to Serena, and hope to see you again in the future! All our best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We just spent 3 wonderful nights at The Stanford Inn By The Sea. This was our third visit to the Inn and, again, we had the best time. The grounds are spectacular with beautiful views of the sea and gardens. Each room has a wood burning fireplace, that is cleaned and re-set daily, a Keurig coffee maker, iron and ironing board and lovely soaps, hand lotion and shampoos. The rooms are very spacious and beautifully decorated. There is a large indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi. It is an animal friendly property but the pet owners seemed to be very watchful of their pets and none were bothersome. The Inn is conveniently located just minutes from the center of Mendocino, close to the state parks and just an hour away from the Anderson Valley wineries. There are several excellent dining choices nearby. There are exercise and Yoga classes available and a small but well equiped fitness room. They have a really nice Happy Hour and offer tea or coffee and a delicous dessert every afternoon. There is a full breakfast included but the menu is totally vegan so you need to be open to the non dairy/meat choices. You can be adventurous and try one of the vegan dishes or order the oatmeal, granola or fruit plate and the best scones ever. All the staff is very accommodating and friendly. The innkeepers are very nice and do a great job in making their guests feel comfortable and welcome. If you are looking for a romantic getaway or place to spend time with friends, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms in the Big River Building have fantastic views of the gardens and sea. We st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurbankTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you so much, this was so wonderful to read! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, and wish you the very best. Until next time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.6 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
641 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,190 reviews
1.2 mi away
Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Agate Cove Inn Hotel
#5 of 25 in Mendocino
434 reviews
4.1 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Inn by the Sea

Address: Highway 1 & Comptche Ukiah Road, PO Box 487, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: £254 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Inn by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside, the exquisite Stanford Inn sits atop a meadow overlooking Mendocino Bay. Embodying the best of the rugged Mendocino Coast, the Inn is a haven. The rambling lobby, guest rooms, and suites are paneled in pine and redwood. Every detail is attended to, from wood-burning fireplaces set and ready to light to the sumptuous organic breakfasts. Inspired by the Stanford's Certified Organic gardens, The Ravens' restaurant is outstanding and nationally acclaimed for its vegetarian cuisine. Guests are indulged at the Inn's Massage in the Forest and private yoga sessions. Canoeing and kayaking on Big River, California's new State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stanford Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Inn By The Sea Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing