We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food!”
Review of Hill House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hill House Inn
Ranked #18 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My friend had her wedding reception here, as well as her bridal suite. It is a very cute, quaint hotel. And the food at her reception was the best wedding food I have ever had, especially since I'm vegetarian!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank medgirl2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas K, General Manager at Hill House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Weddings are our specialty here at the Hill House Inn. Whatever your taste in food our chef can accommodate, whether it is cultural dishes, vegan, vegetarian or your great grandmother's recipes we can make it happen for your special day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Hill House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

We did the Romantic Getaway package they advertise with an extra night - they were nice enough to make sure we were in one room for all three nights, but they forgot the champagne & strawberries that was supposed to be in our room waiting for us. When we called about it they said oh yeah you got that package. Needless to say we had to keep asking about then finally go down on our final night and wait for the champagne and strawberries. But it was not Champagne but sparkling wine which was very bitter and the strawberries had a thick homemade bitter chocolate over the slices. The room was worn down (actually it was a room under the eaves) felt like a closet. Several receptions were going on that weekend so the noise level was up, and the room was passably clean. Dust & dirt in places it shouldn't be, like the rim of the sink. We will not be back to the Hill House Inn, unless it is bought and renovated with new management & staff. Oh I did forget to say that there is a big 'For Sale' sign currently on the property. That may be why it has this neglected feel and whatever attitude by the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kbrat25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed overnight at the Inn on our way up the coastline. We found this place to be charmingly historic and unique. The staff was very helpful and it was a breath of fresh air from the chain hotel stays we have experienced. Loved the historic feel and it is also close to town. Breakfast was good, standard continental food and plenty of it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonKel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas K, General Manager at Hill House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Mendocino definitely is a break from "chain" anything as we have a very strict historical review board that allows us to keep our village pristine. The guest's experience here in our village is peaceful and the relaxation that they get is so worth the drive. Our staff is always glad to hear that their friendly and courteous service is appreciated and we strive to make all of our guests feel welcome. Hope to see these guests back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hill House Inn for 2 days. Our room had a balcony with a view of the ocean. It was very pleasant and peaceful. The room was spacious and comfortable. I enjoyed the "retro" feel of the place. The breakfast was basic, but good enough to get you going. The breakfast room had a great view. You walked up a beautiful curved staircase to the breakfast room. I thoroughly enjoyed the lobby area with the celebrity photos and antiques. We would recommend this place as well as stay there again.

Room Tip: upstairs for balcony and great view, downstairs if stairs are a problem for you.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We made an impromptu visit to Mendocino midweek and got a good rate at the Hill Haven Inn. The decor was okay, a little worn, but clean. There was a coffee maker, but no other amenities. If you wanted a refrigerator they wanted to charge you another $20. If you lost your key it was another $50. Staff was nice, but detached.
Breakfast was okay...boiled eggs, bagles and belgium waffles if you wanted to make them. Fresh coffee, tea and orange juice. The dining room was excrutiatingly quiet you could hear your neighbors chewing! Put on some background music!!
The location is good....the dining room had an amazing view, but some of their double paned windows have failed and made the view a little hard to see. It was a very short walk to downtown and a easy loop walk around the headlands was close. We would recommend the pub with reasonable priced meals and $5 on tap ales.
All in all the discounted rate we paid was reasonable, but I would have been disappointed if I paid the $200+ regular rate!

Room Tip: Probably be worth getting an ocean view....the garden view was not very impressive.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorcalTami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Decided to take Travelzoo up on a two-for-one weekday offer. The room was quaint and a visual experience. The carpet, wallpaper, couch, chairs and bedspread were all different patterns. The room was clean and quiet with a large porch facing the Pacific to the north. The commode was an experience. It was a pneumatic type in which the bowl water tended to rise over time. If you weren't careful when you sat down, you could have a wet surprise. Breakfast was fine and included fruit, boiled eggs, bagels with many toppings and bake your own waffles. The Inn is located on a hilltop just a few blocks for the main part of town. Great getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmunix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

First, a couple caveats: 1. We traveled to Mendocino last week and stayed at the Inn on a Wednesday and Thursday evening and before any holiday traffic, and 2. We stayed at Hill House Inn with a Living Social voucher that reduced the cost of the stay considerably.

Both my husband and I normally have difficulty sleeping the first night out and among unfamiliar surroundings. At Hill House Inn, we slept like babies both nights. The room was so lovely and the beds so comfortable.

I don't know how the noise level would be if the property was filled. On Friday morning, the only thing that woke us was the sound of car doors closing. Our room was on the 2nd floor and near the entrance of the Inn and there was a meeting being held that morning in one of the meeting areas.

This Inn is a superior choice as the property overlooks the ocean in the distance and is not too near other properties which allows for the quiet enjoyment of a stay there. It is only a 10 minute walk to the main part of town, shops and other venues, including the picturesque and vast landscape that has been carved over the centuries by the ocean.

Hill House Inn is famous for having hosted the first six seasons of the hit TV series "Murder, She Wrote" starring Angela Lansbury and no doubt prospered greatly from this popular exposure.

The property is well cared for and run by some of the most helpful staff we have ever encountered. Each room is wonderfully appointed with a New England flavor. Fireplaces are in some rooms.

One disappointment was that they no longer offer a restaurant on the premises and their breakfast, included in the price, is the atypical continental breakfast offered with the do-it-yourself waffle iron, toaster and only bagels (no loaves of bread). There was fruit, juice and coffee, however, and this is certainly good enough to get the day started.

We had a delightful stay and thoroughly enjoyed our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.4 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.3 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
627 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
#11 of 25 in Mendocino
322 reviews
2.7 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Inn

Address: 10701 Palette Dr, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: £80 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hill House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Inn is a premier hotel located in the historic village of Mendocino, California, with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The Inn is situated in lush Victorian gardens, open fields with native vegetation, towering rustic redwood water towers and magnificent cypress trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hill House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill House Hotel Mendocino
Hill Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing