We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hill House Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$96
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$274
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little River Inn(Little River)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage House Resort(Little River)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast Inn & Spa(Fort Bragg)
US$111
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shoreline Cottages(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Motel and Gardens(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Dolphin Inn & Mini Golf(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Lodge Motel(Fort Bragg)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveller rating
102
154
111
56
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
154
111
56
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstv showcabot covein townsliding glass doormendocino hotelhard boiled eggssister propertyroom was largebit datedvictorian styleview of the oceanyogurtfort bragggas fireplaceroad tripmurdercoast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 446 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Romantic get-aways? Not hardly. I was terribly disappointed. My husband and I chose this place for our 45th anniversary. Mistake. Room was not at all what i expect from an "Inn" in Mendocino. Beds were old and sagging, linens, carpet and decor dated around mid 80's, wallpaper peeling, television from the 90's, furniture was scratched, dented and paint peeling. No elevators or offer to assist with luggage.

Continental breakfast? Not really. Plastic wrapped bagels, hard boiled rubber eggs, waffle maker left the waffles tasting like the non-stick coating, syrup was individual servings in pre-packaged containers, no milk, orange juice and sour apples. No other food available on site.

No refrigerator, mini-bar or microwave.

It was clean and had space.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marsha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hill House this weekend with a deal we found through living social. We were disappointed in our stay for numerous reasons. Here are the things we did not love about the hotel:

1. Decor of rooms is very dated and worn out. I felt like I was staying at my great-grandmother's house. The multiple clashing floral patterns on the walls, floor and bedspread were very unappealing. The wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling and the bathrooms obviously have not been updated since the '80s.
2. Continental breakfast was very meager - plastic-wrapped bagels, hard boiled eggs, do-it-yourself waffles, and a few pieces of whole fruit (apples, oranges). I had expected to find pastries and sliced fruit such as melon, strawberries, or grapes.
3. No ocean view from our room.
4. No onsite restaurant or bar.
5. Feather pillows on the bed - I hate how they flatten out throughout the night.
6. No soap dish in the bathroom.
7. Bath products provided in the bathroom were very low quality. For a hotel in this price bracket, I would have expected high end products.

Things we did enjoy about the hotel:
1. Perfect location, a short walk into the main part of town.
2. Outside appearance of the hotel is charming.
3. Front desk staff was helpful and cleaning lady was very nice.
4. Room was spacious and clean.

Overall, we were not impressed by the Hill House and we will not be coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenCJenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My friend had her wedding reception here, as well as her bridal suite. It is a very cute, quaint hotel. And the food at her reception was the best wedding food I have ever had, especially since I'm vegetarian!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank medgirl2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas K, General Manager at Hill House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Weddings are our specialty here at the Hill House Inn. Whatever your taste in food our chef can accommodate, whether it is cultural dishes, vegan, vegetarian or your great grandmother's recipes we can make it happen for your special day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We did the Romantic Getaway package they advertise with an extra night - they were nice enough to make sure we were in one room for all three nights, but they forgot the champagne & strawberries that was supposed to be in our room waiting for us. When we called about it they said oh yeah you got that package. Needless to say we had to keep asking about then finally go down on our final night and wait for the champagne and strawberries. But it was not Champagne but sparkling wine which was very bitter and the strawberries had a thick homemade bitter chocolate over the slices. The room was worn down (actually it was a room under the eaves) felt like a closet. Several receptions were going on that weekend so the noise level was up, and the room was passably clean. Dust & dirt in places it shouldn't be, like the rim of the sink. We will not be back to the Hill House Inn, unless it is bought and renovated with new management & staff. Oh I did forget to say that there is a big 'For Sale' sign currently on the property. That may be why it has this neglected feel and whatever attitude by the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kbrat25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed overnight at the Inn on our way up the coastline. We found this place to be charmingly historic and unique. The staff was very helpful and it was a breath of fresh air from the chain hotel stays we have experienced. Loved the historic feel and it is also close to town. Breakfast was good, standard continental food and plenty of it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonKel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas K, General Manager at Hill House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Mendocino definitely is a break from "chain" anything as we have a very strict historical review board that allows us to keep our village pristine. The guest's experience here in our village is peaceful and the relaxation that they get is so worth the drive. Our staff is always glad to hear that their friendly and courteous service is appreciated and we strive to make all of our guests feel welcome. Hope to see these guests back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews