We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value Mexican in the mid-Peninsula”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Del Sol

Cafe Del Sol
Ranked #18 of 122 Restaurants in Menlo Park
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best value Mexican in the mid-Peninsula”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Cafe del Sol is small and crowded but wonderful. Very tasty Mexican food at a reasonable price. The mojo de ajo (garlic sauteed shrimp) is particularly good. The Sangria is good too. We live in Redwood City but come here regularly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LjWrwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“underrated, good sit down mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

With the great mexican taqueries and casual places in this area, there are few solid sit down mexican places. The other two are Reposado in Palo Alto, and Taqueria Del Sol (not to be confused). Cafe Del Sol is a little cramped - multiple small rooms - but the tastes are bright and clean. The wine list and sangria is basic but tasty - this isn't a place to drink. (Reposado has a full bar, Del Sol is known for tequila and margeritas). This is a homey place with very solid food. That being said, I don't come here that often, because for an every day restaurant I prefer the taquerias, and for business I prefer glitzy places like Reposado.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbulkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“small restaurant, big flavors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

This is our go to restaurant for lunch- The food is good ( Dinner is even better with a larger menu). Service is friendly, sometimes a little overwhelmed and the noise level can be a little high. My favorite items- any kind of burrito and Chicken Mole ( only available at dinner). Their tortilla chips are freshly made and delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherton, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Menlo Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Forget any of the French restaurants on Santa Cruz Ave., Del Sol is the best restaurant in town. Every dish is outstanding, and the biggest problem is deciding what to get. Luckily, many of the ingredients are the same no matter what you get, including the tasty rice, beans, and salsa fresca. The enchiladas de mariscos are my favorite, with shrimp and fish in a great creamy sauce. Also a favorite are the fish tacos and burrito...I could keep going on and on. Everything is fresh, authentic, and delicious. I can't say enough about Del Sol; it's a must-try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Charming place with tasty sangria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

The staff is friendly and the food is authentic. Had a lovely meal here last week. Strongly suggest the chicken mole.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Del Sol also viewed

 
Menlo Park, CA
 

Been to Cafe Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing