We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but with room to improve”
Review of Rosewood Sand Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rosewood Sand Hill
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Menlo Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2009

My fiance and I stayed at the Rosewood Sand Hill for one night on a great spa getaway package that included 2 - 60 minute treatments and free breakfast. We live locally but really enjoyed the serenity of the resort. Much of that might have been due to the fact that occupancy was WAY low for a holiday weekend but we had a lovely time. Despite there not being many overnight guests the bar and restaurant were fairly full that evening.
All of the employees strive to be friendly and helpful and admitted when they were new and didn't have an answer to our questions. Room was huge and we were upgraded which was nice. Comfortable bed, great shower and I loved the walk in closet. They also let us check in at noon (again probably due to the low occupancy). We both had spa treatments which were great and the locker rooms and lounges were very comfortable and large. Loved the decor of the rooms and the public spaces including the restaurant and bar areas. Overall the resort has been designed well and the employees have been trained to exceed your expectations (think Ritz/Four Seasons).
Some glitches throughout our stay marred the experience a bit. There was a manager who seemed to pop up everywhere we went and kept talking to us every time we saw him. I was also unable to get out of my spa treatment room when it was over and the therapist had left until I started banging on the door. Someone finally walked by and let me out. The breakfast dishes were hit or miss...my oatmeal was extremely watery to the point of being inedible but other items were great. Lastly, when I originally called I had just wanted to make day spa treatments and sit by the pool but was told that only hotel guests could sit by the pool. I think if you are at 10% occupancy you might want to be a little more lenient on that policy to get visitors to the spa in there who might someday become guests.
Overall I think they are on there way to making it a wonderful resort if they can get enough guests to keep it open.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChestnutSeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2009

We have visited many lovely places, but the Rosewood experience was memorable,unique and zen-like in its tranquility. Every member of the staff was courteous, friendly, anticipating what I might need (these "land" employees were as accommodating as cruise ship staff). My stay exceeded expectations. From a guest perspective, all details were thought out; I cannot think of one thing that I would change. For me, the highlight of my cottage was the elegant bathroom-large, well-lit, a shower "room" with a rain showerhead and handshower wand; a toilet with a self-closing lid, a tub with a waterfall faucet. Adjacent to the bath was the dressing room with safe, mirror, open shelving, robe, slippers, and then, the bedroom--a bed with a wonderfully firm mattress and lots of pillows, little spotlight reading lamps, flat screen tv. Then, into the living room, with desk, sofa, tables and another flat screen tv. Did I mention that the tv remotes also control the lighting and wake-up alarms? Fun! Oh, and in the foyer, the espresso maker, cups and saucers. Newspapers, shoe shines, turn down service, patio. A short walk on pathways to the spa-also a tranquil, beautifully appointed space. Lounge and locker room area is spacious, also offers private changing rooms, sauna, steam room, whirlpool plus couples treatment rooms and lounges. Ask for a tour.
Walk to the pool...Large,perfectly maintained, heated and well-attended by bartender-waiters. A pitcher of water was delivered when I sat down; melon pops came the next afternoon! Walk up to the Madera Restaurant. Food is beautifully prepared and presented by a well-trained staff. Newspapers are available at breakfast. Enjoy the landscaping, flowers and fountains. Property is owned by Stanford.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripInsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

We and another couple stayed here May 27 - June 1 for a nearby wedding. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful -- The Concierge desk actually arranged for a guided serious bird walk for us at a nearby Stanford-owned reserve closed to the public.

The location is terrific, right off the freeway with easy access to Palo Alto, Menlo Park, Woodside, etc. Our king bed room was very comfortable and looked up over the pool at the main building. When occupancy really gets going, a room with a less active view would be quieter.

However, it's clear that they're just getting started -- Contractors working on stuff outdoors; VERY low occupancy (but busy evening functions); the fancy TV occasionally goes into reset mode; gotta have ice delivered because it's not available near the 'cottages'; massages, nails and pedicures available at the onsite spa, but not hair yet -- Serious woes like that, but they'll surely be ironed out.

Oh, and what this place is REALLY about: The gift store features Stanford items almost exclusively. We hear that Rosewood has a ground lease from the University but the whole deal is a money-making venture for the U. Maybe that will be less blatant in the future.

Finally, don't believe the views on the website -- Especially that really misleading mountainside on the home page! This place is NOT "Nestled amid 16 pristine acres in Silicon Valley", unless "pristine" means completely bulldozed and artificially landscaped. The Santa Cruz Mountains are there, but they're across the freeway and farther away than the pictures show.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Garlic82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

I stayed here one night and loved it. Wish it could have been longer. The staff is very nice, food wonderful in the restaurant and rooms are very large. The pool is very nice and the spa has all the amenities. Some of the rooms overlook the hills. There is a freeway next door,but you can't really hear it and it makes it easy for getting around.
The bar has an indoor/outdoor area. The restaurant has a great selection and everything is very fresh. the pictures below are a jr suite room.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christy2064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabor V, Manager at Rosewood Sand Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016

Dear christy2064,

Thank you for your kind and candid feedback and for the opportunity to improve our service. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Rosewood Sand Hill to better showcase our true level of service.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

The property is new and very nice. I have never stayed at a Rosewood before. The service was wonderful. The rooms large and comfortable. The weather was very windy while we were there so walking out side to the room was brisk and kept us from using the pool. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golfmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabor V, Manager at Rosewood Sand Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016

Dear golfmom,

Thank you for your kind and candid feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Rosewood Sand Hill.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Stayed here during the weekend. Standard room includes huge flat screen TV (with DVD player built in), Nespresso machine, very comfortable ottoman (at least in rooms with king bed), lights that are operated with the TV remote control, great walk-in closet, comfy sandals & robes, patio with 2 armchairs, and bamboo-scented toiletries. Spa is very impressive (the co-ed lounge has very comfortable lounging chairs/beds-for-2, and separate women's/men's locker areas each have a sauna, steam room, hot tub, and relaxation area). Infinity pool was perfect with plenty of lounging areas and 2 cabanas. For now, service can be hit-or-miss. On the plus side, the staff are extremely accommodating (when I asked for a late check-out, they actually moved the person who was scheduled to stay in our room to another room to allow us to stay a couple of hours later -- an unexpected & welcome surprise!). The problem is that they haven't quite figured out the ideal staffing distribution. As a result, in some areas of the resort (like the gym), there are several staff standing around with nothing to do. But, in other areas of the resort (e.g., front desk, pool), you can end up waiting quite a while to get some help. As for room service, they bring a basket directly to your room (instead of using a room-service cart), which is a very personal touch. But, they also twice forgot items when we ordered room service, probably because they had limited room in the basket. Hopefully this will all be sorted out in time. Also, make sure to check your bill when you leave, especially if you're staying on a special package (front desk seemed to be confused about what was included in each package, which caused problems at checkout). Overall, a very nice place to stay that will only improve with time (it felt much more like a resort than the ultra-business-y Four Seasons East Palo Alto).

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SFTravellers415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabor V, Manager at Rosewood Sand Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016

Dear SFTravellers415,

Thank you for your kind and candid feedback and for the opportunity to improve our service. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Rosewood Sand Hill to better showcase our true level of service.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Victor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabor V, Manager at Rosewood Sand Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
2.9 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Menlo Park
950 reviews
4.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Silicon Valley at East Palo Alto
3.2 mi away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
410 reviews
4.3 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
5.1 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Sand Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Sand Hill

Address: 2825 Sand Hill Rd, Menlo Park, CA 94025-7022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Menlo Park
#2 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
Price Range: £407 - £664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Sand Hill 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amid 16 pristine acres in Silicon Valley, Rosewood Sand Hill® melds the rich heritage of relaxed California Ranch architecture with fragrant gardens and stunning Bay Area views of the Santa Cruz Mountains. The hotel appeals to an array of guest experiences with resort-like amenities, lush courtyard gardens and local charm. Whether relaxing in the largest guestrooms on the peninsula, indulging at Sense® spa or delighting in the freshest of fare at the Michelin-starred restaurant, Madera, guests enjoy unparalleled attention to detail and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rosewood Sand Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Sand Hill Hotel Menlo Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing