We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple elegance”

Sunset Magazine Headquarters and Gardens
Attraction details
California
Level Contributor
202 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Simple elegance”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Large wooden doors entrance to the spacious reception area lead into an expanse of green lush lawn.
This is a small garden with an ongoing test garden in the back with changing flowers and vegetables being grown and tested. Some of these display you will see in the Sunset Magazine.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank drKSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The gardens are open during the week at no charge. I will be redoing my back yard and this was a great place to see plants and select the ones to include in my design. And love the serenity of the environment.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
382 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Nice to visit as it is like a little park”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Fun to visit and see all the plants. Very peaceful and quiet. There really isn't much more to see here other than the plants and be able to be in peace.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“free small arboretum”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

If you've ever picked up Sunset Magazine, you will enjoy visiting their garden. It is a small loop, easy walk to see the various trees and shrubs of different zones in California. The trees are gorgeous! You can also visit the test gardens they photograph for the magazine. Staff was minimal when I was there. I would have done some shopping had they had a gift shop or book shop. No merchandise for sale there however.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Brown_Buffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
179 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My cousin took me on an unguided & unreserved tour of the gardens surrounding this beautiful facility, the model for western suburban living and gardening. The walk is divided by regions and plants are mostly well-marked. The kitchens were not available for tour that day; I believe this part must be arranged in advance. Worth a look.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidNolanCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunset Magazine Headquarters and Gardens also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing