We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family friendly Mexican Diner”

Lulu's on the Alameda
Ranked #71 of 123 Restaurants in Menlo Park
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Surrey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family friendly Mexican Diner”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Coming from the UK to visit family in Menlo Park, this was our introduction to Mexican food in California. Lulu's is a favourite with the grandchildren and if they are happy we all enjoy ourselves. Relaxed atmosphere and great fajitas.



Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    15
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
422 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Really tasty, and they get Gluten-Free!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Among the best restaurants we've been to, in terms of GF awareness, prep, handling, etc. Had brunch - chips and quacamole, and fish tacos. Fish was done perfectly, very fresh taste. Guac was pretty basic, but the chips were very good, and the wait staff assured us that they were GF and prepared to avoid cross contamination. Bonus!

Will be back for more!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
127 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good but expensive taqueria”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Lulu's is located in west Menlo Park, an affluent suburban community and the food is priced accordingly. That said, if you are in the neighborhood and looking for lunch/dinner, the food is very good. House made salsas and lots of authentic dishes you won't find in a typical taqueria. The posole, chicken tortilla, and chicken with brown rice soups are great on a cold day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The fish taco on a soft flour tortilla was awesome. A bit expensive for the size of the portion is the only drawback. All our meals were quite good and everything was very fresh. I was still hungry when I left, but didn't want to order more since that seemed a bit pricey. Will definitely go back though. Was bummed they charged wouldn't let us switch out the guac for sour cream in my son's burrito without an extra charge for the sour cream? That's kind of low.....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank solarmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Menlo park moms and expensive burritos”
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

Located on the alameda, it caters to a wide variety of clients from middle school students , to businessmen, to menlo park moms. As far as local Mexican food is concerned, it's a bit pricey. However, very tasty. They also offer many vegetarian options. I'd recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lulu's on the Alameda also viewed

 
Menlo Park, CA
 
Menlo Park, CA
 

Been to Lulu's on the Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing